Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Home Cooking >
Dec 30, 2013 09:55 AM

Thickening Coq au Vin without dairy or gluten

I'm planning on making coq au vin for New Year's Day dinner (making it the day before or the morning of and reheating at dinner). One of my guests cannot have gluten or bovine dairy. I usually thicken with a beurre manie, but with the butter and flour that option is off the table. Can anyone give me some guidance here? I have at my disposal gluten-free flour (Bob's Red Mill), tapioca starch, potato starch, and cornstarch and would prefer not to shop for additional ingredients.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. Cornstarch has a neutral flavor and will thicken the sauce, I also like using gelatin. How thick do you want the sauce, because you can always thicken it by cooking it down? Also, in sauces where the flavor makes sense, I like using an onion puree for some body.

    1 Reply
    1. re: Pookipichu

      you'd be amazed by how rich a sauce can taste with gelatin - it won't get gravy thick but it will have a really nice rich mouth feel that I think will work really well in coq au vin.. . .

    2. Can you not use margarine instead of the butter? It is used in Kosher cooking as a substitute for butter (dairy). Or why not just use olive oil and the gluten free flour.

      1. I'd do the cornstarch. Tapioca works okay but has some hold and reheat issues. You could use blood if you wanted to really get back to basics.

        1. I add lots of extra veggies (carrots, potatoes, celery in this case,) remove and puree some of them and add them back at the end to thicken.

          1 Reply
          1. If you use cornstarch (and I think arrowroot, too), just don't over boil/simmer to thicken. Once thickened, turn the heat down because the sauce may thin out on you.