HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
Are you making a specialty food? Tell us about it
TELL US

Jello question

t
ThePrettypoodle Dec 21, 2013 05:42 PM

I need to use BLUE coloured jello to make particular recipe and I wanted to know if there are any forms of this that would be acceptable to most kosher eatters. I don't belive jello brand is broadly acceptable and it must be blue:(
Thanks:)

  1. m
    Moishefrompardes Dec 22, 2013 12:28 PM

    kolatin, you can probably get it mail order.

    1. a
      autumm Dec 21, 2013 07:39 PM

      Agar agar is a seaweed extract which is vegan. It's pretty powerful stuff, but a good tool to have in your gelling arsenal.

      2 Replies
      1. re: autumm
        z
        zsero Dec 22, 2013 09:36 AM

        Yes, that's what most of the kosher brands are. But it doesn't work nearly as well as real gelatin, which is why you can't make marshmallows with it. And that's why they make Kolatin, for those uses where the full strength of gelatin is needed.

        1. re: zsero
          a
          autumm Dec 23, 2013 10:03 PM

          Sorry for trying to help.

          Guess I'll go back to my kosher camp counselor mode and recommend "not hot s'mores" because kosher marshmallows don't toast well.

      2. h
        helou Dec 21, 2013 07:01 PM

        I find the Kolatin gelatins to be the best quality, and they gel up to be very firm. They don't have blue, but I'm guessing you could mix up the unflavored one with sugar and add some blue food coloring.
        They are OU certified, a very reliable hashgacha for most kosher eaters.

        http://www.koshergelatin.com/products/

        13 Replies
        1. re: helou
          z
          zsero Dec 21, 2013 07:04 PM

          Yes, Kolatin should gel just as well as the non-kosher varieties, since it's real beef gelatin, not agar-agar.

          1. re: zsero
            t
            ThePrettypoodle Dec 21, 2013 07:09 PM

            If I cant find this locally. might i find it in Lakewood or Baltimore? I'm in Philly.
            Oh yeah, one more question- would I be able to suspend an item in the firmed. cooled kosher gel just as I see in Jello ads?
            Thanks!

            1. re: ThePrettypoodle
              h
              helou Dec 21, 2013 09:09 PM

              Kolatin is based in Lakewood. I'm sure you can get it there, possible directly from them. On their website (see my previous post) they have a "Where to buy" section. Check before you go. Not every store that carries it has the unflavored kind.

              1. re: ThePrettypoodle
                f
                ferret Dec 22, 2013 08:03 AM

                The Kolatin is relatively expensive. If you can find the Lieber's gel or one of the other kosher brands they will work just fine if you reduce the liquid by 25% (use 1-1/2 cups instead of 2). If you want firmer still then drop down to 1 cup, but 25% less liquid should be very firm. You should be able to suspend fruit or other added items just like with non-kosher products.

                1. re: ferret
                  t
                  ThePrettypoodle Dec 22, 2013 10:51 PM

                  woo hoo! Thanks:) I want to make a fish bowl, blue jell and sweedish fish swimming in it:)

                  1. re: ThePrettypoodle
                    s
                    SoCal Mother Dec 23, 2013 04:30 AM

                    just a suggestion: I did Noah centerpieces for a bar mitzvah with an ark birdhouse sitting on a mirror and candy fish sprinkled on the mirror. Much easier than jello, no?

                    1. re: SoCal Mother
                      h
                      helou Dec 23, 2013 05:58 AM

                      I think the plan is that this centerpiece is meant to be edible. Otherwise there's no need for the jello to be kosher.

                      1. re: helou
                        c
                        CloggieGirl Dec 27, 2013 05:31 AM

                        Even if the centerpiece didn't need to be edible, cooking with non-kosher ingredients would probably make things more complicated than kosher ones.

                    2. re: ThePrettypoodle
                      h
                      helou Dec 23, 2013 05:56 AM

                      What a very cool idea. I love it.

                      1. re: ThePrettypoodle
                        c
                        cheesecake17 Dec 23, 2013 07:18 AM

                        So I have a friend who did something similar. She basically made it in layers so the fish wouldn't sink.
                        She did a layer of jello with fish, put it in the fridge, did another layer, put it in the fridge and so on.
                        Have no idea how it turned out...but it's worth a try

                        1. re: cheesecake17
                          b
                          Bashful3 Dec 26, 2013 07:27 PM

                          Making half, chilling it to firm, placing the fish on top, whilst
                          adding a second round of gelatin (partly chilled with ice cubes) is definitely how it gets suspended in the middle.
                          Don't try pushing the fish down into a full container of unsolidified gelatin.

                          1. re: Bashful3
                            c
                            cheesecake17 Dec 27, 2013 08:45 AM

                            Thanks for the clarifications

                2. re: helou
                  t
                  ThePrettypoodle Dec 21, 2013 07:07 PM

                  Thanks for the colouring suggestion- my husband came up with a way to use a differant colour, which is what I will do:)

                3. s
                  SoCal Mother Dec 21, 2013 06:24 PM

                  Also, kosher jello doesn't gel like the non kosher kind does. It stays pretty soft and won't form blocks or make molds.

                  1 Reply
                  1. re: SoCal Mother
                    f
                    ferret Dec 21, 2013 07:17 PM

                    Use less liquid and it will get very firm.

                  2. b
                    Bashful3 Dec 21, 2013 06:17 PM

                    Interesting question, pp. Never heard of blue gelatin in natural form. Maybe, using Kosher unflavored gelatin you
                    could add OU approved blue food coloring?

                    Show Hidden Posts