HOME > Chowhound > Site Talk >


Spam e-mail? "dave@maypurr.com - hello chowhounder"

The above appeared today in my inbox. I haven't yet done anything with it but am planning to report it as spam. Anyone else get/open it?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Posting Guidelines | FAQs | Feedback
  1. That's not what our emails look like, so it isn't from us. It could be spam, or could be another user trying to reach you if you've posted your contact info on the site.

    If you have a web-based email provider like gmail they usually prevent images from loading or weird stuff from executing when you open an email.

    1. Here's their food website


      15 Replies
      1. re: c oliver

        Thanks, C. I have not posted anything about brownies of late, but I DID recently sign up to receive the CHOW Recipe of the Day e-mail so I suspect the sender got access to that CHOW list. I will not open his e-mail before banishing it to the spam folder.

        1. re: greygarious

          Why wouldn't you open it? I'm sometimes surprised when an email address I don't recognize turns out to be someone I actually DO know. Now I don't click on links but don't worry about opening.

          1. re: c oliver

            Since I know so little about digital chicanery, I am wary of possibly exposing my computer to viruses, phishes, worms, etc. I figure anybody who legitimately wants to reach me will entitle their e-mail in a more specific way.

            1. re: greygarious

              I kinda thought he did but whatever works for you. The site is quite overwhelming with so many recipes and bloggers.

              1. re: greygarious

                greyg-smart. don't open. like I'd ever open that like posted here-you're possibly opening yourself up to a REAL problem. our computers have crashed here at home due to opening unfamiliar links. not worth chancing

                1. re: iL Divo

                  Not talking about links. Talking about emails.

                2. re: greygarious

                  You can open the email. Just don't click on any links.

                  1. re: linguafood

                    greyg, since you do have your e-mail in your profile in an encrypted format, it's possible someone just wants to talk to you (I sincerely doubt it has anything to do with the CHOW mailing list). It's also possible someone is targeting you for marketing, but I'm with those here who say go ahead and open the e-mail...just don't click on any links until you know what's going on.

                    1. re: Wahooty

                      Or, hell, forward it to me and *I'll* open it and forward back. The website is there, looks totally legit.

                      1. re: c oliver

                        Okay, I peeked. He wanted feedback on the usefullness of his blog/website.

                        1. re: greygarious

                          Good girl :) I should look at it again. It seemed rather 'busy' at first glance. But LOTS of stuff there. Is it kind of a blog for food blogs?

                          1. re: c oliver

                            Strikes me as kind of a cooking-specific Pinterest.

                            1. re: Wahooty

                              Ah. A site I've never visited.

                              1. re: c oliver

                                I have, and it's not for me. The common thread seems to be that it requires at least two clicks to get to the actual content every time you find something interesting. The first click gives you a bigger pic and a summary/intro...and it then requires at least one more click to get to the actual article, possibly more if it's a blog that makes you click more than once to get full content. Pinterest is wildly popular among those who like to collect and curate ideas and information...it's just clear that I'm not their target audience. :)

                                1. re: Wahooty

                                  I don't even "collect and curate" on CH :)

          2. thanks for heads up greyg-
            my email has been unposted for years since it/I got hacked using a computer in Venezuela to check my emails....note to self-never do that again