Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Florida >
Sep 17, 2013 10:30 AM

Want to make homemade mozzarella cheese

Anyone know where to buy rennet tablets and citric acid in southeast florida

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. 1. You can buy cheese making stuff on line.
    2. Here in Tampa, Southern Brewing, has what you need.
    3. Mozzarella uses vinegar as a coagulant not rennet

    7 Replies
    1. re: TampaPete

      Plus after you pick up your cheese making ingredients at Southern Brewing, you can enjoy a cold beer at the bar...

      1. re: TampaPete

        "3. Mozzarella uses vinegar as a coagulant not rennet"

        Is that only true of certain types of mozzarella? I have seen buffalo mozzarella in Italy that included rennet as an ingredient.

        1. re: punkin712

          You are correct that you can use rennet, if you do, then you also might want to add citric acid.
          I think the acid is what gives mozz that strechy thing.

          1. re: TampaPete

            I've been thinking about making my own mozzarella too but I'd actually rather not use rennet. I'm a strict vegetarian and it is always a let-down to see a type of cheese that looks good, but contains rennet! Do you have a recipe that you could recommend to a beginner?

            1. re: punkin712

              I watched a few videos about making fresh Mozz and many used vegetable 'vegetarian' rennet...


              1. re: punkin712

                I have not made any in a long time, I learned to do it from an old neighbor that was not literate and thought me how to do it by feel.
                There are lots of recipes out there that are good.
                The biggest problem is getting the feel for the cheese, to get it right, not soft and not rubbery.
                I will be surprised if you get what you really desire in the first or second try.
                If you are vegetarian use vegetable rennet, is made from thistle flowers.

                1. re: punkin712

                  Most Rennet these days is vegitarian. It come from nettles.

            1. I live in Orlando and you can normally find the citric acid where you get canning supplies (jars, lids, etc). Make sure it says "citric acid", which is not the same as "absorbic acid".

              I found it at my local Walmart Neighborhood Market and also at Ace Hardware (but I couldn't find it at the big box stores or grocery store). Both of them show their inventory online so you can look to see if the store actually has it in stock before heading there.

              The only place I've found rennet is online. Whole Foods used to carry it in the refrigerated section by the butter years ago but none of our local Whole Foods carry it anymore. :/ There's something called "Junk Rennet" in many grocery stores but others online have warned about the chemical make up and said it doesn't work for cheese. I haven't tried it so I don't know from experience.

              1 Reply
              1. re: JetLaggedChef

                Are you talking about Junket? It's a flavored, sweetened pudding mix that works by coagulation, not thickened starches, and no, it's not for cheesemaking. The Junket company makes plain rennet tablets that should work, although it does have ingredients you may prefer to avoid.

              2. By the way, it can be challenging to find milk that works. I've had really good luck with the Publix brand, but not with Target or TG Lee. (Just fyi since you're also here in FL).

                Sometimes the label says "pasteurized" when it was actually ultra-pasteurized because it isn't a requirement to change the label when it's been upped.