HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Where can I find kosher kefir grains? Or does kefir grains not need a certification?

brooklynyid Aug 23, 2013 12:18 PM

I am interested in making my own kefir drink. I'm in NYC if that helps. Thanks.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. z
    zsero RE: brooklynyid Aug 23, 2013 04:07 PM

    It does need certification, and I don't know where you can get it. However, here's a helpful hint: if someone takes any kefir grain and cultures milk with it, then takes the grain from that and cultures some more milk, then does this a third time, the grain from that 3rd culture will be kosher, and can be used to make kosher kefir. Note, however, that you can't deliberately do this; it's only good if it just so happened to have been done (e.g. by a friendly non-Jew).

    2 Replies
    1. re: zsero
      avitrek RE: zsero Aug 24, 2013 08:52 PM

      Given how kefir is made, wouldn't all kefir sold at this point have been through that process?

      1. re: avitrek
        zsero RE: avitrek Aug 25, 2013 05:25 AM

        Mostly it depends on whether you consider commercial milk to be chalav yisrael (i.e. kosher). If you don't, then you're starting with non-kosher and it won't be kosher until it's been "laundered" through three generations, and you can't do it yourself on purpose.

    2. c
      CloggieGirl RE: brooklynyid Aug 24, 2013 08:36 PM

      Perhaps you can use existing kefir as a starter for your own? This is possible with yoghurt, but I don't know if the two processes are similar enough to do it. There are certainly kosher kefirs on the market to work with.

      1. gotcholent RE: brooklynyid Aug 24, 2013 08:49 PM

        kalustyans on 28th and Lex

        Show Hidden Posts