HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Hostess Coming Back in July- Any chance with a heckser?

seikoloco Jun 23, 2013 06:55 PM

Hostess Coming Back in July- Any chance with a heckser?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. f
    ferret RE: seikoloco Jun 25, 2013 09:39 AM

    Only the manufacturer knows. The press release said they were trying to tap into growth areas like gluten-free and low sodium, so maybe Kosher labeling will also appeal to buyers.

    10 Replies
    1. re: ferret
      jasonld RE: ferret Jun 27, 2013 11:49 AM

      They (before they stopped making them) were treif because beef fat has no trans fats, so the healthy route may keep it non-kosher. That is why twinkies went treif, because they replaced the vegetable shortening with beef fat to lower the trans fats.

      1. re: jasonld
        ferret RE: jasonld Jun 27, 2013 12:05 PM

        I believe Twinkies were always treif (lard).

        1. re: ferret
          jasonld RE: ferret Jun 27, 2013 12:56 PM

          No, twinkies were kosher until around 2006 when they changed the recipe to include beef fat, not lard (pig fat).

          Article from 2006:


          1. re: jasonld
            ferret RE: jasonld Jun 27, 2013 01:27 PM

            That was definitely not the case, certainly not in Chicago. Here are some links supporting my memory:



            Although I did run across an article that said they had Triangle K supervision at one point (must have been isolated regionally):


        2. re: jasonld
          seikoloco RE: jasonld Jun 27, 2013 12:17 PM

          Why would Twinkies be different then lets say the entire line of Drakes which I think all had the OU. Did they have trans fats, I don't recall 100%, but I don't believe they did. All the other "twinkie" type of cakes ... Mrs. Fresleys, Walmarts house brand, are supervised either OU or others, I don't see why Twinkies are inherently different.

          1. re: seikoloco
            ferret RE: seikoloco Jun 27, 2013 12:49 PM

            The "why" is for them to explain, but as far back as I can recall all Hostess products contained lard and we had to wait for relatives to bring Drake's to Chicago from the East Coast. They modified the recipe a while back but it still contained beef fat:


            Enriched wheat flour, sugar, corn syrup, niacin, water, high fructose corn syrup, vegetable shortening – containing one or more of the following: partially hydrogenated soybean oil, cottonseed oil, canola oil, and beef fat, dextrose, whole eggs, modified corn starch, cellulose gum, whey, leavenings (sodium acid pyrophosphate, baking soda, monocalcium phosphate), salt, cornstarch, corn flour, corn syrup solids, mono and diglycerides, soy lecithin, polysorbate 60, dextrin, calcium caseinate, sodium stearoyl lactylate, wheat gluten, calcium sulphate, natural and artificial flavors, caramel color, yellow No. 5, red #40"

            1. re: seikoloco
              queenscook RE: seikoloco Jun 27, 2013 01:23 PM

              Looks like my reply disappeared somewhere, and I can't remember exactly what I said, but one point to consider is that they may not consider it worthwhile to go kosher. It's an unknown quantity as to how much it will improve their sales, and they'd have to kasher all their equipment. That can be a considerable investment of time, effort, and money.

              As to the transfat issue, I don't think Drakes had them, but there are other ways to achieve the same effects. One is fully hydrogenated oil vs. partially.

              1. re: queenscook
                seikoloco RE: queenscook Jul 15, 2013 12:57 PM

                Saw a bunch of the "new" Hostess cakes at Walmart yesterday, not a one with a heckser, oh well...

                1. re: seikoloco
                  DeisCane RE: seikoloco Jul 15, 2013 02:18 PM

                  Good. No one should eat that tripe.

                  1. re: DeisCane
                    chazzer RE: DeisCane Jul 15, 2013 04:56 PM

                    Unless it's Beef Tripe

        3. f
          ferret RE: seikoloco Jun 25, 2013 10:08 AM

          And since Drake's Cakes are also coming back there's a better chance that they'll have a hechsher.

          1 Reply
          1. re: ferret
            DeisCane RE: ferret Jun 25, 2013 10:24 AM


          2. j
            joebenjamin RE: seikoloco Jul 22, 2013 09:47 AM

            No hashgacha---I saw bags of doughnuts @ brooklyn Shoprite

            Show Hidden Posts