HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Vegetarian Seder Entree, make ahead

Alex Halsey Mar 22, 2013 10:30 AM

Help, please! I have two vegetarians coming for seder (8 people total), and don't want to serve them just a bunch of side dishes. But I also don't want to be in the kitchen during the whole seder.

I'm considering a crustless leek pie that I bake in the morning and heat up during the seder. Any other ideas? (Following Sephardic tradition, rice is okay.)

Thanks for any guidance. The make-ahead part is what's tripping me up.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. s
    SoCal Mother RE: Alex Halsey Mar 22, 2013 10:43 AM

    I have takeout ordered and he is giving me 2 stuffed peppers for any vegetarians who might happen to show up. (yes, that can happen where I live since it's near a large university.)

    Not sure what it's stuffed with.

    13 Replies
    1. re: SoCal Mother
      Miri1 RE: SoCal Mother Mar 22, 2013 09:52 PM

      I'm making mock meat loaf from nuts. I don't use a recipe but there are many online. Are your guests vegan? If not, maybe fish?

      1. re: Miri1
        magiesmom RE: Miri1 Mar 23, 2013 06:44 AM

        It is not only vegans who don't eat fish. Vegetarians generally don't. people who eat fish and not other meat are pescatarians.

        1. re: magiesmom
          CloggieGirl RE: magiesmom Mar 24, 2013 07:09 PM

          I'm reaching through the internet to give you a "thank you" hug. I feel like a broken record having to repeat that over and over again.

          1. re: CloggieGirl
            magiesmom RE: CloggieGirl Mar 25, 2013 06:15 PM

            you are welcome, CloggieGirl.

      2. re: SoCal Mother
        cheesecake17 RE: SoCal Mother Mar 24, 2013 05:12 PM

        I've made stuffed peppers before filled with sautéed vegetables. Delicious, healthy, and filling. Peppers, eggplant, and 8ball squashes work well. Filling- onions, garlic, peppers, and whatever you scooped out from your "vessel"
        Sauté it all, mix in some cooked rice (if you eat it), or some matzah meal (if you eat it), egg (if not vegan), stuff, arrange in a pan, pour some marinara over (or not) and bake.

        1. re: cheesecake17
          Emme RE: cheesecake17 Mar 24, 2013 07:54 PM

          too late now i'm sure, and hope whatever you decided turned out well, but... if you stuff peppers, you can also add lentils and rice or buckwheat for some heartiness..

          1. re: Emme
            cheesecake17 RE: Emme Mar 25, 2013 05:30 AM

            Buckwheat is not kosher for Passover. Only certain people eat rice and lentils on Passover, so I purposely left it out.

            1. re: cheesecake17
              Emme RE: cheesecake17 Mar 25, 2013 03:05 PM

              i know that Ashkenazis don't eat buckwheat, but it was my understanding that many following Sephardic tradition do... live and learn.

              1. re: Emme
                zsero RE: Emme Mar 25, 2013 03:07 PM

                You were right. Buckwheat is in the same category as rice and corn; if you eat them you can eat buckwheat too (obviously after checking carefully to make sure there are no foreign grains).

              2. re: cheesecake17
                zsero RE: cheesecake17 Mar 25, 2013 03:08 PM

                That caught my attention too, but the original poster specified "(Following Sephardic tradition, rice is okay.)" By the same tradition buckwheat is also OK.

                1. re: zsero
                  cheesecake17 RE: zsero Mar 27, 2013 06:26 PM

                  I never realized buckwheat was kitniyot. We eat rice, but no other kitniyot.

            2. re: cheesecake17
              almond tree RE: cheesecake17 Mar 24, 2013 10:47 PM

              This idea is also nice using jumbo mushrooms - vegan main dish, tasty side dish for others.

              1. re: almond tree
                cheesecake17 RE: almond tree Mar 25, 2013 05:30 AM

                You reminded me- I've made stuffed mushrooms for Passover before. Came out delicious and not at all "Passover tasting"

          2. d
            DeisCane RE: Alex Halsey Mar 22, 2013 10:56 AM

            Lentils. Lots of vegetarians like them. And they are filling/full of protein.

            Show Hidden Posts