Cross contaminated gluten free products? [moved from Quebec (inc. Montreal) board]
I know that products such as oat, buckwheat, millet ect... Are gluten free but can be cross contaminated with gluten products therefore having gluten but is it still a much less consecration. I do not have celiac but i want to be more gluten free, sometimes i find products like buckwheat but it doesn't say gluten free and sometimes it does. So can it be that its cross contaminated and contains gluten but is it a lot or jut has traces like when certain products say may contain nuts.
If you are trying to completely avoid products that might be cross contaminated with gluten then be prepared to spend a lot of time on the phone with the customer help lines for each product that you want to purchase. They will be able to tell you if the product is gluten free and if it is produced in a facility that also produces gluten (i.e. cross contamination).