HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Discussion

Creme Yvette/de violette kosher?

  • 9
  • Share

I bought creme de violette by rothman and winter, and then on advice from a liquor store, Creme Yvette (she said that there is no brandy in it).

However, someone told me that they still use grapes in both of these. My question is whether or not this is kosher (as it is not "wine," but still may be problematic.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
Posting Guidelines | FAQs | Feedback
Cancel
  1. As your local Rabbi.

    1 Reply
    1. re: avitrek

      Thanks for the answer, but I would like however either confirmation that they use grapes, or a brand that doesnt. That would be more helpful.

    2. According to what I've found online, Creme Yvette contains blackberry, wild strawberry, cassis, violet, and raspberry, but not grapes. This is from the official Creme Yvette site.

      5 Replies
      1. re: pinehurst

        That doesn't necessarily mean that it doesn't have a brandy base.

        1. re: CWY

          I was under the impression that only the impostors were brandy-based, until the recent revival of the original.

          To be super sure, one could always contact the manufacturer, no?

          1. re: pinehurst

            Or maybe the CRC. They seems to be a pretty reliable resource on alcoholic beverages.

            1. re: rockycat

              Gifford Creme Violette is listed as kosher/parve by the london beit din.

              http://www.theus.org.uk/jewish_living...

              1. re: avitrek

                Thanks!

      2. I emailed the Consistoire (Paris kosher), let's see if they respond.