HOME > Chowhound > Vegetarian & Vegan >

Vegetarian Chinese Appetizers

JolokiaJen Aug 12, 2012 02:45 PM

Are any of these things vegetarian on a chinese restaurant menu?

Fried or Pan Fried Wontons
Cheese Wontons
Fried or Steamed Dumplings

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. Bacardi1 RE: JolokiaJen Aug 12, 2012 02:47 PM

    Uh - not necessarily. You need to ask what's in them unless it's specified on the menu. All three can easily have meat &/or seafood items in them.

    You need to ASK.

    4 Replies
    1. re: Bacardi1
      JolokiaJen RE: Bacardi1 Aug 12, 2012 02:52 PM

      Thanks. I was hoping the cheese wontons were like cheese ravioli, usually vegetarian. I wonder if I can request them to be vegetarian, has anyone ever tried this or are they always premade?

      1. re: JolokiaJen
        Bacardi1 RE: JolokiaJen Aug 12, 2012 03:32 PM

        No, more often than not, the "Cheese Wontons" (aka "Rangoon") has crabmeat or fake crabmeat (aka Surimi) in it.

        1. re: Bacardi1
          MplsM ary RE: Bacardi1 Aug 13, 2012 10:33 AM

          Not true in Minnesota, at least in my experience. The cream cheese wonton is a particular favorite of mine and is ubiquitous on Minnesota Chinese, Vietnamese and even Thai menus. I've never ever been served anything with crab in it.

          As always though, best to ask if you are unsure.

          1. re: Bacardi1
            beachmouse RE: Bacardi1 Aug 26, 2012 03:33 PM

            Down here, the cheese wontons are often called that instead of 'Crab Rangoon' in order to get around Florida's truth-in-seafood state law. They normally still do have krab/surimi in them, and therefore can't legally be called crab.

      2. a
        alc RE: JolokiaJen Aug 12, 2012 03:26 PM

        At least in NYC, the menu will always say "vegetable dumplings" if they are vegetarian. If it says "dumplings" or "wontons" without a modifier they will have pork.

        2 Replies
        1. re: alc
          JolokiaJen RE: alc Aug 12, 2012 03:32 PM

          Thanks. I googled cheese wontons and they seem to be made with just cream cheese.

          1. re: JolokiaJen
            IndyGirl RE: JolokiaJen Aug 13, 2012 12:14 AM

            This can vary by the restaurant, so it's still a good idea to check. Just in our town, the varieties in labeling are somewhat mind-boggling.

        2. weinstein5 RE: JolokiaJen Aug 13, 2012 07:10 AM

          As others have suggested ask - but I have seen these on many Chinese and Thai menus available as vegetarian -

          2 Replies
          1. re: weinstein5
            Bacardi1 RE: weinstein5 Aug 14, 2012 05:51 AM

            Well yes - if it says "Vegetarian" on the menu, then it most likely is.

            What the OP is asking is that if something is listed on a menujust as "Fried or Pan Fried Wontons", "Cheese Wontons", or "Fried or Steamed Dumplings", can it automatically be assumed that they're vegetarian? And the answer is no.

            1. re: Bacardi1
              weinstein5 RE: Bacardi1 Aug 14, 2012 07:52 AM

              I agree with that always ask if it is not clearly stated -

          2. c
            cheesecake17 RE: JolokiaJen Aug 13, 2012 11:03 AM

            Definitely ask. Something that seems vegetarian may not be. The restaurant may be willing to make a substitution or suggest something that you can eat.

            1. soytoy RE: JolokiaJen Aug 14, 2012 09:36 PM

              Always ask. Something that says "vegetarian" on the menu could very well be cooked with fish stock or lard.

              1. w
                will47 RE: JolokiaJen Aug 17, 2012 04:44 PM

                If you are in a Chinese restaurant that serves "cheese wontons", you have bigger problems than whether or not they're vegetarian.

                1 Reply
                1. re: will47
                  Josh RE: will47 Aug 23, 2012 07:52 AM

                  Thank you for reading my mind. :-)

                Show Hidden Posts