HOME > Chowhound > New York State (exc. NYC) >
Are you making a specialty food? Share your adventure
TELL US

Gluten Free Restaurants around Westchester

r
RedHouseBlueState May 9, 2012 08:25 AM

Anyone have suggestions for gluten free restaurants? My daughter (17) is on a gluten free diet and I'm trying to find some places where she can eat out friends and/or family.

We've been to 97 Lake in Harrison which is great sports bar. They have an entire gluten free menu. The wings are very good. Also have gluten free beer for dad!

Also, Opus 365 in Armonk has some gluten free items on their menu. They were very attentive to her needs.

  1. e
    Elisa515 May 9, 2012 09:00 AM

    Umami in Croton has quite a few gluten-free options, including some that are available gluten-free on request (specified on the menu). The GF options are labelled that way right on the menu.

    1 Reply
    1. re: Elisa515
      r
      RedHouseBlueState May 9, 2012 12:05 PM

      Thanks. This is not far from us (Thornwood)

    2. d
      debmom May 9, 2012 10:39 AM

      I've seen menus with items specifically marked gluten free at both Myong in Mount Kisco and at PF Changs at the Westchester mall

      1 Reply
      1. re: debmom
        r
        RedHouseBlueState May 9, 2012 12:40 PM

        I don't think I've ever noticed Myong in Mt Kisco. I will have to look for it. Looks like there are some interesting items to try on their menu. Thanks

      2. chowdom May 9, 2012 12:25 PM

        Although not exclusively gluten free last time I was there they had a nice selection of gluten free items and it's a really cute place: http://www.redbarn-bakery.com/red_bar...

        1 Reply
        1. re: chowdom
          r
          RedHouseBlueState May 9, 2012 12:43 PM

          Thanks. I'll check it out next time I'm in the Irvington area.

        2. goodhealthgourmet May 9, 2012 12:34 PM

          this might be helpful:
          http://traveltips.usatoday.com/gluten-restaurants-westchester-new-york-63746.html

          you can also search by town or zip on the Gluten Intolerance Group website:
          http://www.gluten.net/find-a-restaura...

          and i can't vouch for it firsthand, but i've read that Trevi in West Harrison is really accommodating to GF diners. could be worth looking into.

          1 Reply
          1. re: goodhealthgourmet
            r
            RedHouseBlueState May 9, 2012 12:45 PM

            Thanks for the links. I've heard good things about Trevi. It's right up the street from 97 Lake.

          2. a
            apples May 9, 2012 02:04 PM

            +1 on Myong...as most Asian places tend to be gluen-free friendly
            ALso, don tomasso in yorktown always offers gluten free pasta and is god about certain items being ok for you to eat.

            4 Replies
            1. re: apples
              e
              Elisa515 May 9, 2012 03:24 PM

              Keep in mind that most soy sauces are not gluten free; any Asian dishes prepared with soy are suspect. And remember that MSG has gluten in it too. Have to be super careful in Asian restaurants (I don't eat gluten-free, but have a couple friends who do).

              If you go to a sushi place, you can bring your own wheat-free Tamari.

              1. re: Elisa515
                s
                Scott_R May 9, 2012 04:02 PM

                MSG does *not* have gluten in it; this is a myth that keeps getting perpetuated.
                http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/74913-msg-has-gluten-in-it-right/
                http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/newsletter/msg/

                "Bottom line: There may be other reasons to avoid MSG but gluten is not one of them. According to the International Glutamate Information Service (http://www.glutamate.org) monosodium glutamate (MSG) is gluten free. This flavoring “enhancer” is made primarily through fermentation using various sugars and starches, such as sugar cane, beet sugar, corn starch and tapioca starch as starting materials. Wheat starch does not appear to be used.

                Why the confusion over gluten-free status? MSG wasn’t always produced using fermentation. It used to be isolated from protein sources that contained high amounts of glutamic acid (monosodium glutamate is a monosodium salt of the amino acid glutamic acid). The protein source typically used was wheat gluten. In fact, glutamic acid was first isolated in 1866 from the wheat prolamin gliadin. When MSG first became available commercially in 1909 it was isolated from wheat flour. Wheat gluten remained the primary source of MSG until the 1960s when other methods of production were developed, including chemical synthesis and fermentation."

                Also to clarify another statement: "Keep in mind that most soy sauces are not gluten free; any Asian dishes prepared with soy are suspect."

                Soy sauce presumptively has gluten in it--not because of the soy, but because wheat is a primary ingredient); soy does not. So if the dish contains soybeans, it's fine. Tofu, which is made from soybean, is also fine (careful if it's flavored or formed into processed items).

                1. re: Scott_R
                  e
                  Elisa515 May 9, 2012 05:43 PM

                  Right about soy not having wheat, but soy sauce (used in many if not most Chinese dishes) does have wheat.

                  My guess is the reason people (like, um, me) think MSG has gluten in it is that G stands for "glutemate"--doesn't that sounds like gluten?

                  Thanks for the clarification!

                  1. re: Scott_R
                    r
                    RedHouseBlueState May 10, 2012 07:36 AM

                    This is all very interesting info.

                    We use San J Organic Tamari soy sauce at home because we found many others contain some kind of additive that contains gluten, possibly the caramel coloring contains wheat. I think when my wife checked the label of a Kikkoman soy sauce it said it contained wheat.

                    So now we check the label on everything we buy. We didn't realize how many things contain wheat (even some shampoos!).

              Show Hidden Posts