HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Veggie Patch (again)

marissaj Apr 19, 2012 10:32 AM

I cannot understand why these are not Kosher. According to the Tivall website, Tivall now owns Veggie Patch. How difficult would it be for them to slap hashgacha on it? This is so frustrating!


  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. a
    avitrek RE: marissaj Apr 19, 2012 11:43 AM

    It's probably still manufactured at a different plant. That plant may even be manufacturing something else that is not kosher. And that all assumes that there is nothing problematic in any of the ingredients.

    If only kashrut was as simple as paying a rabbi to put a label on the box...

    2 Replies
    1. re: avitrek
      marissaj RE: avitrek Apr 20, 2012 03:52 AM

      If only... if only ;)

      1. re: avitrek
        mrogovin RE: avitrek May 8, 2012 08:56 AM

        Here is what they told me. Given the number of kosher co-packers in the US, it seems they made a deliberate choice to go non-kosher.

        from: Margie Lewis (M.Lewis@tribehummus.com)
        date: Tue, May 8, 2012 at 11:39 AM
        subject: Veggie Patch Kosher

        Thank you for your inquiry.

        Unfortunately, Veggie Patch products are not kosher. Osem products are Kosher but when they are packed in the United States they are not packed in a Kosher facility. We do hope to become kosher in the future.

        Please don’t hesitate to reach out to us with any other questions.

        Thank you!

        Margie Lewis
        Marketing Assistant.
        Tribe Mediterranean Foods, Inc.
        110 Prince Henry Drive
        Taunton, MA 02780

      2. k
        kosherGlutenFree RE: marissaj Apr 22, 2012 05:47 PM

        A brand that I tried right before passover is solcuisine.com. They make 4 different burgers, 1 crumble, 1 pattie, falafal burger, and a bbq rib style. 6 are gluten free. All are kosher.

        According to their website the original burger has 220 mg sodium and 12 g of protein.

        I cannot compare to other brands since it has been at least 13 years, prior to going gluten free, that I ate any thing like this. But they didn't leave an aftertaste, had a pleasant level of spicing (ie not too much but not blech) and if I could eat soy on a regular basis would keep them in my freezer.

        Show Hidden Posts