HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
Are you making a specialty food? Get great advice
TELL US

Gluten-free, fish-free Worcestershire sauce

c
CloggieGirl Nov 22, 2011 04:32 PM

I don't know if this is new to anyone else, but I finally found a vegetarian Worcestershire sauce that is heckshered. The brand is Wan Ja Shan. It is $3.19 for 10oz at the UWS Whole Foods and the hecksher is Circle K. The bottle looks like this: http://www.celiac.com/glutenfreemall/...

I haven't tried it yet but this is the first time I've found something like it so I thought I'd pass on the info.

  1. Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. a
    AdinaA Nov 22, 2011 05:36 PM

    Please try it and report back. My fear, of course, is that it is also flavor-free.

    1. h
      helou Nov 23, 2011 01:39 PM

      Be very careful, though. There can be a problem for people with fish alergies. I once boughta Pathmark brand Worcestershire sauce that was OU pareve but had fish in the ingredients. My LOR is also one of the head supervisors at the OU, and he told me that sometimes a product is labeled just plain OU or OU pareve, without the fish designation, as long as it's halachically fish free - I leave to the more learned among us to explain this further.
      I have no idea if Circle K has a similar policy.

      1 Reply
      1. re: helou
        c
        CloggieGirl Nov 23, 2011 02:42 PM

        It is marked as vegetarian and there were no fish ingredients on the label. I'm a veggie in addition to being allergic to fish, so I have learned all the sneaky, alternative names for fish products. It also helps that the company's other main products are various soy sauces so it probably relies on tamari or the like for the depth of flavor.

        I didn't buy it because I've been trying to whittle down my spices and condiments collection as well as sticking to a budget. I'll report back when I do buy it.

      2. m
        mamaleh Nov 25, 2011 09:03 AM

        World Harbors makes a fish free Worcestershire sauce. Angostura Worcestershire and it is Kof-K. Not gluten free.

        1. m
          Muchlove Nov 25, 2011 10:04 AM

          For those in the UK, the following is available at Tescos, in the "Free from" section:

          http://www.suespantry.co.uk/savouries...

          Free from a variety of things (dairy, gluten, wheat) and also vegan. I have not tasted it but I know my Mum keeps some in her cupboard to splash in a few things she likes.

          Show Hidden Posts