Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
Nov 17, 2011 08:39 AM

Lindt Chocolates

In case anyone is interested, Lindt Chocolates (at least some of them) are now kosher - Chof-K supervision. Happy Day!

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. from their wsebsite
    Lindt USA's INDOR truffles are now certified Kosher (dairy Kosher). The flavors are: Milk, White, Dark, Extra Dark, Peanut Butter, Hazelnut, Raspberry, Dark Orange, Mint, Vanilla and Peppermint as well as the seasonal flavor (milk chocolate surrounding white chocolate center): Snowman, Valentines, Spring and Halloween LINDOR truffles. Our coffee truffle is not Kosher certified. Not all LINDOR truffle packaging is carrying the Kosher certification symbol yet, but as new packaging is designed, the Kosher symbol will be included.

    5 Replies
    1. re: koshergourmetmart

      Wow, that's great. My wife will be thrilled.

      1. re: koshergourmetmart

        The truffles are actually on sale in Costco till next week!

        1. re: koshergourmetmart

          I had the peppermint ones; bought them at BJs already about two months ago. Have to say . . . I was unimpressed. Not enough to throw them out or give them away or anything, but I did not really think they were anything special. Just my opinion, of course.

          1. re: queenscook

            I find them to have a fake butter flavor that is very out of place. Not worth the calories especially now that Michel Cluizel is producing OU certified truffles.


          2. Amazing! I have been waiting for this for YEARS! Thanks for posting!

            1. That's funny, cause I was just looking at them at the drug store while waiting on line wondering why they did not have a certification yet.

              2 Replies
                1. re: koshergourmetmart

                  found the hazelnut one at stop n shop in west caldwell. it was yummy!

              1. I really wish they had a pareve designation. Looks like their dark chocolates --85%? 90%? 99%???--SHOULD be. Oh well...

                13 Replies
                1. re: serenarobin

                  That would be because running boiling water through the equipment ruins it, so it's almost impossible to kasher it from dairy to pareve. Thus even the pareve chocolates are DE. Some rabbis in Europe seem to allow kashering with molten chocolate instead of water, so after a run of non-dairy chocolate is put through they call the next run pareve, but I don't know how that can be squared with the Shulchan Aruch.

                  1. re: zsero

                    Do not assume that dark chocolate designated as kosher-dairy without any dairy ingredients is DE.
                    Manufacturer could add traces of milk crumbs to prolong shelf life of dark chocolate.

                    1. re: IsItkosher

                      then in the allergen warning it would have to say may contain traces of milk

                      1. re: koshergourmetmart

                        If the milk were a deliberately added ingredient it wouldn't say "may contain", it would say "contains".

                        1. re: zsero

                          Either way, KGM is right that it would be noted somehow.

                    2. re: zsero

                      Until 10 years ago all hechsherim accepted that as the way to make a dairy chocolate line into pareve. So the European hechsherim are just continuing the old standard that everyone had until the American hechsherim decided that that was not good enough. This happened around the same time that Stella Doros almost went dairy, and Hershey's special dark became dairy. Most large chocolate manufacturers were not willing to risk ruining their equipment by running boiling water through it.

                      1. re: jdh11

                        Yes, but I can't imagine on what basis the old standard was ever accepted, since it contradicts the black letter law. Though I suppose if it's only from dairy to parve then me'ikar hadin no kashering is probably necessary in the first place, so one can be lenient.

                        1. re: jdh11

                          Hershey's Special Dark went dairy because they changed it by adding butter. Stella Doro was going to change for a totally different reason. While you are correct that chocholate gys loath water, and some 20 years ago American hashgachos did kasher with cocoa butter and have stopped; the examples you cite aren't relevant.

                        2. re: zsero

                          Zsero - I just want to say that I absolutely ADORE the idea of kashering equipment with molten chocolate. I'm imagining myself having a Johnny Depp moment, kashering counters, flatware, and pots with an endless river of molten chocolate....

                          1. re: AdinaA

                            I prefer to think about Gene Wilder!

                            1. re: AdinaA

                              LOL. Unfortunately the pasuk from which the entire concept of kashering derives, Bamidbar 31:23, specifies water, and the Rama (OC 452:5) confirms that one may only kasher with water and not with other liquids.

                          2. TOO LATE FOR ME----I was at the LINDT outlet in Kittery Maine in August----they did not know what kosher even meant!!!!