Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
Sep 5, 2011 09:16 PM


My daughter's birthday party is coming up and we have invited a child with multiple food allergies. Without us asking, the parent of this child bent over backwards to accommodate my daughter's kashrut needs last year even though they do not keep kosher, and I would like to reciprocate if possible.

The child is allergic to eggs, dairy, wheat and gluten. I am looking for an alternative to bread based party sandwiches and traditional cupcakes for her.

Any thoughts? I can bake or purchase prepared items with a hechsher.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. First of all, I would recommend you google around a little and find some gluten-free vegan blogs or individual recipes; the vegan aspect will take care of the eggs and dairy, and the gluten-free aspect takes care of the rest.

    I would also highly recommend you take a look at the book Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World (and perhaps its sister-book, Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar). I have made at least five or six of the cupcakes from the cupcake book, and all have been great. In that book, there are at least two recipes for gluten-free cupcakes: Vanilla Gluten Freedom Cupcakes, as well as chocolate ones. I haven't made either, so I can't speak from personal experience of making them, but all the others I have tried have been really good. I'm pretty sure the cookie cookbook has at least a recipe or two that is gluten-free, but I haven't used that book yet, so I can't recommend it as highly yet.

    Isa Chandra Moskowitz (one of the co-authors of these books) also has other vegan books, and a blog as well (, and I'm sure she has at least some gluten-free recipes, as a subset of her always-vegan recipes. Check her stuff out.

    4 Replies
    1. re: queenscook

      Thanks. I'm a big fan of Veganomicon, but I have not made any of Moscowitz's cupcake or cake recipes. Glad to know you tried them. I'm finding lots of gluten-free flour recipes online, but they still contain wheat. Perhaps Vegan Cupcakes has some recipes using rice or potato flour instead. I will check it out. Thank you again.

      1. re: mamaleh

        How odd . . . I thought wheat was the epitome of a food that contained gluten. Well, I just checked my copy of the cupcake book, and the flour used for the cupcakes is a mixture of tapioca flour, ground flax seed, corn flour or almond flour, white rice flour, and quinoa flour.
        (It's too late for me to summarize the recipe right now, but if you want to wait 'til tomorrow, I can do that for you.)

        1. re: queenscook

          I went back and checked the recipes, and I was confused - they contain spelt, not wheat. The cupcake book sounds great. I'll find a copy at the bookstore tomorrow. Thanks for your help.

          1. re: mamaleh

            FWIW, spelt is wheat-free, but not gluten-free. Make sure to clarify whether she has a wheat allergy, or a gluten intolerance, because they're different things.

    2. don't know if it's kosher but we use cherrybrook kitchens cake mix. they have gluten free chocolate cake mix that's really great. my son isn't gluten/wheat free but has egg and nut allergies. good luck. we made gluten free cupcakes and they were delicious but don't freeze well.

      2 Replies
      1. re: trolley

        I'll check out the cake mix. I've used their icing mix before which is kosher and pareve. Thanks.

        1. re: mamaleh

          Mamaleh, Spelt still contains Gluten, be careful.

          Also, be aware of your own cross contamination of products, I know that my sugar container has some flour because I'll use the same scoop for both.

          If it were me, I'd buy some snacks for the child rather than making my own....throwing a kids party is hard enough.

      2. King Arthur Flour has a gluten free flour mix that you can buy online. I'm not sure if it's kosher though.

        I will also second what vallevin said about contamination - - if you are baking yourself, use a fresh bag of sugar, don't use a half stick of butter than has tiny bread crumbs stuck to it from toast, watch out for a wooden cutting board with old wheat flour in the cracks, etc. For some people, the tiniest iota of gluten can cause a reaction.

        In general, there are a lot of 'sneaky' foods with gluten in them. For example, certain brands of vanilla extract and soy sauce are gluten free, while others aren't. You can either call the phone number for the extract/sauce company from the bottle to check with them, or search online for the specific brand.

        1. I normally don't use mixes for baking but because of the potential for cross-contamination I used a gluten free vegan brownie mix when accommodating a guest recently. I don't recall the name of the brand but I found it in my local health food store in the gluten-free section. It was kosher and met all of the requirements above. I also made sure to bake it before I got to any of the other baking I did that day.

          1. Do you have any Pesach recipes that will work? Is there such a thing as a non-gebrochts cake or cookie without eggs? Would the pasteurized egg whites be ok? According to kidshealth. some kids are allergic to only the yolk or only the white. You might be able to make something with one or the other.

            4 Replies
              1. re: SoCal Mother

                from what i understand about my childs egg allergy is that the person is allergic to the protein. so it doesn't matter if it's pasteurized, free range, organic or factory farmed. there's no way around being allergic to the protein. there are kids who sort of out grow it and can eat it in baked goods but i would highly recommend asking the parents first. allergy usually means allergy.

                1. re: trolley

                  You can check out the babycakes NYC cookbook by Erin McKenna or google babycakes NYC recipes.

                  1. re: cherylp3

                    Or go to babycakes on the Lower East Side.