HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Discussion

Need kosher binding ingredient for divine tomato terrine

  • 19
  • Share

Found a beautiful tri-color tomato terrine recipe in this month's "Bon Appetit," It calls for 1 1/2 tbsp gelatin to bind. I have kosher gelatin powder, but I have an easy feeling about using it. Any ideas for a different binding ingredient?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
Posting Guidelines | FAQs | Feedback
Cancel
  1. What's wrong with the kosher gel? If you're talking about the unsweetened unflavored type I use it all the time. Your only other option (essentially the same thing) is agar.

    http://www.koshervitamins.com/Eden-Fo...

    1 Reply
    1. re: ferret

      Agar agar isn't as strong as real gelatin which is why you can't make marshmallows with it. I think cappuccino's question is whether the "gelatin" she has is strong enough for the recipe; if it's real kosher gelatin (i.e. Kolatin brand), then of course it should be fine, but if not then it's a good question and I don't know the answer.

    2. I do terrines with eggs, whites, or whole. then bake. the trick is to lay a single leaf layer of spinach leaves between each color (vegetable) so that the lines disappear. the spinach pretty much disappears.

      1. Interesting. I will try it with the gelatin and then with AdinaA's suggestion. I am pretty much committed to making this dish as soon as I get the tomatoes. I will update. I was indeed concerned about whether my gelatin was strong enough.

        1. I make a simple dessert with fresh whole strawberries and and requires Kolatin to hold them in place on a pre-baked filo sheet topped with a layer of chocolate and a layer of custard. I don't know exact amounts, but I reduce the amount of water a little and the Kolatin is firmer. I'm also curious if anyone out there has used arrowroot powder as a substitute for gelatin in desserts, and how it has worked out ...

          1. I have done veg terrines using lightly whipped goat cheese as "glue" between layers of blanched asparagus. I piped the cheese in and smoothed/filled in the blanks with a small offset spatula. After chilling and unmolding, it held together and sliced very well.

            11 Replies
            1. re: Evil Ronnie

              I will try that when serving the terrine with a dairy meal. I love the idea of goat cheese. Right now, though, the plan is to serve this with the fish at the Shabbos meal which will be a meat meal. The name of my kosher gelatin is Sweet City New York. Has anyone ever heard of it?

              1. re: cappucino

                just be careful with your gelatin brands, the israeli meat based ones are not really usable for american kosher consumers. & the glatt tech one is really hard to get lately. agar is actually a really great substitute, but if your gelling something acidic youll have to multiply your ratio of agar by %150 or so for tomato juice maybe %110-%115. it also has the advantage of staying gelled when warm.

                1. re: Moishefrompardes

                  "the israeli meat based ones are not really usable for american kosher consumers"

                  Can you explain why?

                  1. re: DeisCane

                    The Israeli Rabbanut permits gelatin made from the bones of non-kosher animals, because at one point during the manufacturing process, the whole thing is entirely inedible, and foods made from inedible stuff are generally considered kosher. The vast majority of American Orthodox rabbis, on the other hand, forbid gelatin from such a source because it comes from non-kosher animals. There's a lot of Israeli candy that's labeled 'kosher l'ochlei gelatin', or 'kosher for those who eat gelatin,' meaning gelatin derived from such sources.

                    1. re: GilaB

                      Thanks. I never knew that. I'm on the fence on the issue, having grown up with the conservative mentality that aligns with the EY one, it seems.

                      1. re: GilaB

                        My brand states that it is derived from fish bones. I still have questions as it states "Imported from Italy" but lists a factory in Brooklyn. Anyone familiar with the Sweet Home brand? Also, I realize the Hashgacha is one of those tiny, indesipherable Israeli ones.

                        1. re: cappucino

                          Do you mean that the symbol is tiny and illegible, or that the certifier is tiny and obscure?

                          1. re: zsero

                            I mean that I can't read the symbol--it looks like Badatz, but who knows. I probably should have looked at it more carefully before I bought it. I have never used gelatin and it has been sitting in my cabinet for months. In the end, I'd be happy to substitute something else for it in this dish and I guess that would be agar. Shoot me for being ignorant on a chowhound board, but I have no clue what it is or where to get it.

                            1. re: cappucino

                              Agar is definitely available in health food stores, as it's a vegetarian/vegan substitute for gelatin (made from seaweed, if I recall correctly). It might be found elsewhere, but I've never looked.

                              As for the hard-to-read symbol . . . just know, in case you didn't, that there are many, many Badatzim. "Badatz" just means "Beit Din Tzedek," so many towns and communities have one. I'm not commenting at all on the reliability of one over another; that's for a Rav who knows about such things to decide. I'm just commenting on the fact that many people say "badatz" as if it refers to one single agency.

                              1. re: queenscook

                                I just meant that it had the curly border and hebrew letters. Who on earth can read it. I think I will get my kids to find their magnifying glass and I will buy me some agar.

                                1. re: cappucino

                                  My Bon Appetit arrived today and the tomato terrine looks devine.

              2. I haven't read every response carefully (sorry - I'm at work) but the Elyon Brand gelatin is real gelatin and works wonderfully - I've even used it for a lemon mousse which fell completely apart when I tried the agar types, like Kojel.
                Not sure who gives the hashgacha, but it's extremely reliable - the vaad in my town is very strict and it's sold in the local Jewish market.

                1 Reply
                1. re: helou

                  Interesting because I think the Elyon marshmallows we had last week were pretty good. I will go look for it. Susiejane, let me know if you end up making it. I'm glad someone shares my enthusiasm for it.