HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Agave for Passover

m
mrotmd Apr 4, 2011 06:47 PM

Is there any Agave syrup kosher for Passover?
It has the lowest glycemic index of all non-artifcial sweetener, hence I could justify it with my diabetes... Is it kosher for Passover?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. s
    SoCal Mother RE: mrotmd Apr 4, 2011 10:56 PM

    Send an e-mail to Rabbi Eidlitz. He told us that honey that had no additives and was unprocessed, unpasturized, "un-un-un" (his words) was fine for Pesach and I believe he said agave also. He is wonderful about answering those types of questions.

    5 Replies
    1. re: SoCal Mother
      pitagirl RE: SoCal Mother Apr 5, 2011 07:30 AM

      please let us know if you get an answer!

      1. re: pitagirl
        m
        magiesmom RE: pitagirl Apr 5, 2011 05:10 PM

        The Rabbi Eidlitz notes a few threads down speak to this; agave is ok .

        1. re: magiesmom
          m
          mrotmd RE: magiesmom Apr 5, 2011 08:23 PM

          Wow! Thank you. As long as we are on the subject, how about maple?

          1. re: mrotmd
            queenscook RE: mrotmd Apr 5, 2011 09:46 PM

            KLP Maple syrup definitely exists; I believe the brand name is Adirondack.

            1. re: mrotmd
              m
              mamaleh RE: mrotmd Apr 5, 2011 09:50 PM

              I answered your question on your other posting.
              http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/775379

      Show Hidden Posts