HOME > Chowhound > Manhattan >

Vegetarian kimchi ramen?

o
Olive123 Jan 5, 2011 06:03 PM

Has anyone seen this (and are comfortable that it is actually vegetarian)? I found a deli in midtown that says theirs is vegetarian, but I think they use all one stock for their ramen varieties and I am afraid that something might be lost in translation when they responded that it was vegetarian? I have been eating an ungodly amount of the dried in packaged bowl varieties (and even there it can be a challenge to find a veggie version).

Thanks so much in advance. I just have a hankering...

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. s
    small h RE: Olive123 Jan 6, 2011 08:32 AM

    Menchanko Tei has a vegetarian broth. I don't think it would be a problem to ask that it be served with kimchi, since they have that as well.

    http://www.menchankotei.com/

    1. Spiritchaser RE: Olive123 Jan 6, 2011 09:09 AM

      Have you checked Hangawi? They are a completely vegetarian Korean restaurant. Even if they don't have exactly what you are looking for I would encourage you to give it a try, the Kimchi hot pot is insanely good.

      3 Replies
      1. re: Spiritchaser
        s
        selenster RE: Spiritchaser Jan 6, 2011 01:46 PM

        came here to suggest hangawi. the thing is, while a soup/ramen base might be vegetarian, the kimchi may not be, since they're usually fermented w/ shrimp, oysters, etc (which aren't in the final edible product but they're in there, like anchovies in puttanesca)

        1. re: selenster
          s
          small h RE: selenster Jan 6, 2011 04:45 PM

          Hangawi is a strictly vegetarian restaurant. I don't think the kimchi they serve contains any seafood whatsoever. I could be wrong, of course, but I would be very surprised if I were.

          1. re: selenster
            v
            villainx RE: selenster Jan 6, 2011 05:36 PM

            I'd guess I'd add to selenster, while Hangawi's imchi may be strictly vegetarian, I think traditional kimchi (and that's probably what is used in most other non pure vegetarian places) have some seafood component, shrimp, oysters, anchovies, fish sauce, etc.

            Or, the assumption should be kimchi ain't vegetarian fare.

        2. o
          Olive123 RE: Olive123 Jan 6, 2011 10:33 AM

          Thanks so much for both responses!

          small h - is the soy sauce broth the vegetarian version? I work close to Menchanko Tai, so that might be a good pick for tomorrow!

          Oops - edited to say that I reach through additional menus and saw on the menchanko menu (not the ramen menu) a specific listing for vegetarian broth. Thanks so much for the tip! This is going to be way better than the hale and hearty glop that I ended up getting today (And then throwing out halfway through).

          1 Reply
          1. re: Olive123
            s
            small h RE: Olive123 Jan 6, 2011 04:48 PM

            I hope you like it. Menchanko is one of my favorite restaurants (even though all ever I get there is noodle soup).

          Show Hidden Posts