HOME > Chowhound > Southeast >

Discussion

Kosher Gelatin in Durham/Chapel Hill NC

Hello Hounds

I'm looking for brands of kosher gelatin and where they may be sold within the Triangle region. The closer to Durham/Chapel Hill the better. Maybe I just haven't looked hard enough.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. Are you looking for a Jello-O type flavored product or an unflavored gelatin? Kojel makes a poor Jello knock-off but I have yet to see it in this area. Kolatin is considered a rather good unflavored gelatin that will perform similarly to non-kosher gelatins. It is beef-derived, but has an OU and is considered parave. I don't know if you need to be vegan.

    AFAIK, Kolatin is not available locally, but their email is
    info@koshergelatin.com
    and their phone number is (732) 364-8700 .
    I'm sure they can tell you if anyone around here sells their product and might be willing to let you mail order.

    Good luck on your quest and please let us know what you come up with.

    I

    1. I'm looking for the unflavored powder that you would bloom to make several desserts involving dairy. I use to have whatever is sold in the stores in the bright orange packets, but it is not labeled kosher in any sense. I'm not sure if that helps clarify.

      Thank you for your help.

      4 Replies
      1. re: burgeoningfoodie

        Try getting in touch with Kolatin. It sounds like that might be the best/most reliable product for you, but I couldn't tell you where to get it here, unfortunately.

        1. re: rockycat

          Will do luckily I have soon-to-be visiting relatives from Long Island who may be able to get me a box or two. It is not a rush. I guess since it is pareve dairy.. I won't have to worry too much about it if I needed it to be KforP right?

          1. re: burgeoningfoodie

            Sounds like you may be confusing a few different terms (or just mistyped). If an item is pareve that means it's neutral - neither meat nor dairy - and can be used together with either. Although Kolatin is derived from a meat product, the fact that the OU has deemed it pareve means that they consider its essential nature to have been changed so fundamentally during processing that it no longer can be considered chemically similar to meat. (This is a combination of science and religion. Please don't anyone give me a chemistry lecture over this.)

            Meat, dairy, or pareve status is seperate from kosher for Passover. Any kosher product can be KP or not. That is not dependent on whether it is meat, dairy, or whatnot. That requires a seperate certification that is usually only done at Passover-time. I have no idea whether or not Kolatin goes KP during Passover, but the company can tell you that.

            1. re: rockycat

              Ah the headaches of being Jewish. I made the mistake one Passover of quickly grabbing the "wrong" matzoh meal. Though down here stores are slowly getting better about separating KforP and just K for that holiday.

      2. If it is important to find something locally, would you be willing to use something else, like agar or Irish Moss? I bet you could find agar in any of the Asian groceries around here, and Irish Moss (aka carageen) could be purchased from a homebrew supply store.

        http://www.foodsubs.com/ThickenGelati...

        5 Replies
        1. re: romansperson

          Yes I know about agar agar and Irish Moss but I'm not sure how well they would perform or conversion ratios (though I imagine the latter would be on the box). I know some people who use it from health food stores.

          1. re: burgeoningfoodie

            BF; you can buy Agar Agar at Weaver St & here is a terrific chow thread on how to use it, conversion, and to get the right texture
            http://chowhound.chow.com/topics/322800

            1. re: burgeoningfoodie

              I purchased a large bag of agar from Grand Asia, but do not think it was certified Kosher

              1. re: burgeoningfoodie

                BF - If you look at the link I provided in my previous post, it will tell you all that.

                Chazzer, since agar comes from seaweed - would it need to be specifically certified to considered OK?

                1. re: romansperson

                  Yes it is still processed and the facility where it is processed would need to be inspected

                1. re: Khamur

                  I know Kojel. I have some from Waldbaums in NY but not sure if it is sold anywhere around here outside of Passover.

                2. This may be the orange can you mentioned earlier:
                  http://www.amazon.com/Great-Lakes-Unf...

                  Available on amazon, but pricey.