HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
Are you making a specialty food? Share your adventure
TELL US

Red Mill "facility... that also uses... milk" cholent emergency

a
AdinaA Dec 24, 2010 04:46 AM

So, I picked up a package of barley to use in a meat cholent. Barley doesn't really need a hekscher. This has one by Rabbi Avrohon Teichman of Kehilla Kosher of Los Angeles, CA. A n underlined capital K. The package reads "Manufactured in a facility that also uses tree nuts, soy, wheat and milk."

Does that mean dairy equipment?

This isn't a real emergency. No one wills starve tomorrow if there isn't barley in the cholent.

  1. a
    AdinaA Dec 24, 2010 10:43 AM

    A very responsive mashgiach.

    No. The barley is absolutely pareve. It's packaged on line used at ambient tempeatures. The company has sophisticated cleanup and sanitation procedures between products. However, the degree of possible sensitivity for allergens requires the company to say it's made in a facility with dairy items. After that legal disclosure, it's up to the consumer to decide what, if any, precaution to take.

    Kol tuv,

    Rabbi Avrohom Teichman

    Rabbinic Administrator

    Kehilla Kosher

    323 935 8383 Main Office USA

    480 393 4655 Main Fax

    office@kehillakosher.org

    323 919 9929 Mobile, for urgent calls

    1. goodhealthgourmet Dec 24, 2010 07:13 AM

      as others have indicated, the warning on Bob's Red Mill packaging is more about potential allergens being in the same facility. as far as i know, the only dairy products they process are buttermilk powder, milk powder and whey, and i'm sure they use different equipment for those than they do for barley. but since they may at least be packaged or stored in the same facility, they're legally obligated to put that disclaimer on the label as a warning for anyone who is wildly allergic.

      but yes, if you're really concerned, call one of the kashrut organizations and ask.

      1 Reply
      1. re: goodhealthgourmet
        a
        AdinaA Dec 24, 2010 07:31 AM

        No response yet from Kehilla Kosher, but here's the answer from my rabbi:

        It's no problem; 1st of all it is a reliable heksher, and secondly,

        when the package lists those other things manufactured in the same

        plant it seems to be as a warning for people who may be allergic (some

        people are deathly allergic to those things, like nuts) and not any

        statement of kashrut significance.

        Enjoy the chulent!

      2. k
        koshergourmetmart Dec 24, 2010 05:55 AM

        i believe that this product is pareve. the comment "Manufactured in a facility that also uses tree nuts, soy, wheat and milk" refers to the fact that other items may be manufactured in the same plant but not on the same equipment. Someone who is allergic to peanuts may have such a bad allergy that even if peanuts are in the same room, it could cause a problem. Milk/dairy is one of those allergic items. If it was same equipment it would say something like this item may contain tree nuts, wheat, soy and milk.

        4 Replies
        1. re: koshergourmetmart
          z
          zsero Dec 24, 2010 06:47 AM

          I agree; I wouldn't worry about it. After all, your cholent is also manufactured in a facility that also uses milk!

          1. re: zsero
            c
            craigcep Dec 24, 2010 06:53 AM

            The standards for having to say on your product that "contains milk" versus the halachic standards for being dairy are very different. While I wouldn't worry about it, you can call the kehilla kosher. But in the end, don't worry about it.

            The distinction between the standards is why I've heard that Oreos are at best Pareve-DE and more likely straight up pareve (read the ingredients. sadly, there's no obvious dairy product, if at all, found therein).

            1. re: craigcep
              k
              koshergourmetmart Dec 24, 2010 10:18 AM

              oreos do not even say at the end of the ingredients contains: milk. My milk from shop rite does say at the end "contains milk."

              1. re: koshergourmetmart
                p
                peanutgallery7 Dec 24, 2010 11:14 AM

                btw..oreos do not contain milk, i have a friend whose son is highly allergic, and the "d" on the package refers just to the other items that they produce in the same facility.

        2. h
          hanistor Dec 24, 2010 05:00 AM

          Why not call and ask?

          Kehilla Kosher
          P.O.Box 480739, Los Angeles, CA 90048
          323-935-8383, Fax: 323-372-3574
          Rabbi Daniel Elkouby, Kashrus Administrator
          Rabbi Avrohom Teichman, Rabbinic Administrator/Rav HaMachshir
          Email: office@kehillakosher.org
          Website: http://www.kehillakosher.org/

          Show Hidden Posts