Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Quebec (inc. Montreal) >
Sep 5, 2010 02:00 AM

Gluten free poutine in Montreal?

Hey all,

I've been diagnosed with coeliac's disease since I last visited Montreal, so I'm looking for a gluten free substitute to poutine. Does anybody know where I might be able to find a restaurant that serves gluten free poutine in Montreal?

Thanks in advance!

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. Since when does poutine contain gluten? Gluten is found in wheat, rye or barley-based products. Since poutine consists of fried potatoes, curd cheese and brown gravy, I can't see how gluten would be a worry unless, perhaps, it was somehow added to the gravy (but why?).

    4 Replies
    1. re: Haggisboy

      Flour is often used to thicken gravy.

      Jessica - you could try contacting Zero8 to see if they serve poutine. They used to have their menu online, but it's been taken down: The resto is guaranteed gluten-free - but it's also dairy-free, so your poutine won't have cheese curds. I read in someone's blog that Zero8 does have poutine - but that they replace the cheese with duck (!?).

      You might also want to check out these threads for other ideas:

      Good luck!

      1. re: kpzoo

        The gluten-free allergen free poutine at Zero8 is very nice, if rather unconventional with its smoked duck to replace the cheese.

        If you do love cheese you could always buy cheese curds, make a nice gluten-free gravy and then get french fries someplace to avoid the sauce. There must be some cornstarch based gravies around too?

      2. re: Haggisboy

        Unfortunately, the "sauce poutine" that 99% of restaurants use comes in a powder form in huge 5 litre cans. Just add water, heat to thicken and serve.....mmmmmm.

        The ingredient list contains many things with unpronounceable names, letters and numbers, including either flour or cornstarch to thicken it. Interestingly enough, meat or dehydrated meat products are the one things one rarely finds, which, technically makes the gravy suitable for vegetarians.

        Of course no restaurant will ever admit this. It can be our dirty little secret (yes, even knowing this, I still enjoy the occaisonal poutine). Even if they did make the gravy from scratch, however, if would certainly contain flour. Last time I roasted a turkey (thankfully not in the last few scorching days) I whisked the pan drippings with several tablespoons of FLOUR before adding water to it to make the gravy.

        Sorry Jessica, this seems like a difficult quest. Perhaps you could develop a taste for Belgian style fries with mayonnaise? Or better yet for crudités- then you can just laugh at us all with our triple bypasses in about 20 years...

        1. re: karela

          "Of course no restaurant will ever admit this. It can be our dirty little secret [...]"

          I find most places , when asked, will be quite straightforward about whether their sauce comes from a mix or is made from scratch. Of course, most of the time you can tell just from looking at it. It's hard to reproduce the flawless aspect of a sauce made from a mix.

      3. It might be worth contacting La Banquise and asking about their sauces. They have several alternative sauce choices (e.g. pepper, meat, vegetarian), so it's always possible that one of them might be gluten free even if the classic one isn't. They have an email address and phone number on their website:

        Restaurant La Banquise
        994 Rue Rachel E, Montreal, QC H2J2J3, CA

        3 Replies
        1. re: eoj

          I contacted La Banquise by e-mail and according to the reply all of their sauces contain flour.

          1. re: explevi

            I know this is an old thread, but in case anyone is still looking…. La Banquise now have a GF gravy, it's the vegan one and frankly tastes pretty much like the normal (liquid salt, yum!). My son just added bacon to make up for the vegan part!

            1. re: garlicmojo

              It should be pointed out that although they offer a gluten free gravy, the fries are cooked in the same fryer as the onion rings so the poutine would not be safe for celiacs.

        2. Hi :)

          L'auberge du Dragon Rouge has the best gluten free poutine in Montreal! The owner is coaliac's and 95% of the menu is gluten free!

          2 Replies
          1. re: Fullthepoil

            Where is this place and what kind of food do they serve?

            1. re: williej

              Google can be your friend...

              It is located at 8870 Rue Lajeunesse, Montréal, Québec H2M 1R6, Canada
              and their phone number is 514-858-5711

              It is kind of a dinner/theatre place without any real theatre. The staff dress up in costumes and it is all supposed to be kid of like it was in the 18th century. Unfortunately for them, hamburgers hadn't been invented, and they are known for their hamburgers. Which are neither awful, not life-changing.

              The company that owns Les Filles du Roy restaurant in Old Montreal is the company that owns L'auberge du Dragon Rouge. Unfortunately Villeray/Rosemont/Ahuntsic is not as much of a tourist destination.

              If you're in the neighborhood, the food is fine and won't make you sick. But it is most definitely not a destination restaurant.