Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Home Cooking >
Jul 21, 2010 09:01 PM

Vegetarian kimchee?

Looking to sample kimchee for the first time....but I need a variety without fish sauce/any animal ingredients.

Is there something I can find pre-packaged/jarred at an Asian market that'll be suitable?

Info. appreciated.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. Depends where you are. Large Korean grocery stores will have a whole aisle of kimchis. There should be some vegetarian varieties - those are the ones I try to find, as I'm very allergic to shellfish.

    1. Generally, white or water kimchees don't contain any fish sauce. Obviously, you can check the labels of pre-packaged kimchee, but you really do need to ask questions if the kimchee is made in a restaurant or banchan bar.