HOME > Chowhound > General Topics >
What's your latest food project? Tell us about it

Is Dijon mustard vegan?

lisavf Dec 15, 2009 04:45 PM

The ingredients listed on the jar are: water, mustard seeds, vinegar, citric acid, sulphur dioxide (preservative). The reason I'm asking is, I am making a side dish of asparagus with hazelnuts and tarragon vinaigrette from the epicurious site, but when I searched for the recipe on that site and used 'vegan" as a parameter, it was not listed. The recipe ingredients are asparagus, shallots, white wine vinegar, tarragon, Dijon mustard, olive oil, hazelnuts. I'm puzzled as to why it doesn't fit the vegan parameter, so the only thing I could think is that perhaps something in the Dijon mustard disqualifies it from being vegan. Or perhaps it depends on the particular Dijon mustard you're using. Anyway, I'm getting off track. So is Dijon mustard, particularly as I have described the jar I have, vegan? I don't want to misrepresent any dish to my vegan guest.

Many thanks in advance.

  1. nofunlatte Dec 16, 2009 04:47 AM

    Perhap epi is just playing it ultra-safe. Is it possible that the white wine in the vinegar was clarified with isinglass (from fish bladders)?

    1. Emme Dec 15, 2009 06:24 PM

      pretty darn certain it's vegan...a google search provides vegan recipes using dijon. can't explain why your recipe on epicurious isn't tagged properly... perhaps shoot them an email!

      1. a.bot Dec 15, 2009 05:22 PM

        Sounds vegan to me! Who is vegan! ;)

        1. pikawicca Dec 15, 2009 05:19 PM

          epicurious recipe searches are far from infallible.

          1 Reply
          1. re: pikawicca
            lisavf Dec 15, 2009 05:25 PM

            Agreed. That's why I wanted to check with the 'hounds - I know you'll never steer me wrong.

          2. MinkeyMonkey Dec 15, 2009 05:18 PM

            I think that the reason things with "sugar" are not considered vegan is because when an ingredient is listed as "sugar" it means refined sugar. All or most white refined sugars are filtered through charcoal. And, the charcoal is animal bone charcoal.

            I honestly have no factual evidence of this, I have just seen and heard about it quite a lot recently.

            Maybe there is a mustard that is unsweetened or is sweetened with something that is not refined?

            3 Replies
            1. re: MinkeyMonkey
              adamshoe Dec 15, 2009 07:11 PM

              Dopey me... and here I thought charcoal was just made of charred wood! So, are charcoal briquettes vegan or made w/ animal bones? adam

              1. re: adamshoe
                MinkeyMonkey Dec 15, 2009 08:13 PM

                I honestly don't know, Adam. But, you could always go to a vegan forum as they usually know. I can't imagine any reason for using animal bones for charcoal.

                1. re: adamshoe
                  alanbarnes Dec 15, 2009 08:59 PM

                  Charcoal is vegan.

                  Bone char is different stuff. Given the name, it should not come as a surprise that it isn't.

              2. a
                adamshoe Dec 15, 2009 05:09 PM

                Sounds like 100% vegan to me. When would a mustard NOT be vegan?? Unless they use chicken stock or eggs (which I've never seen in mustard) or it's a honey mustard (don't want to enslave those bees...) you should be fine. adam

                2 Replies
                1. re: adamshoe
                  ryansm Dec 15, 2009 05:10 PM

                  Agreed. You answered your own question by posting the ingredients--nothing in there could possibly have an animal product.

                  1. re: ryansm
                    lisavf Dec 15, 2009 05:18 PM

                    Thanks, all. That's what I thought, but I wanted to be sure. I never had reason to pay attention to this issue before, and I just want to do right by my guest.

                2. Glencora Dec 15, 2009 05:03 PM

                  Mine has sugar as an ingredient. That might be the issue. Maybe if you use yours it will be vegan. And now that I've taken a look as this label, I think I need a different mustard.

                  5 Replies
                  1. re: Glencora
                    adamshoe Dec 15, 2009 05:11 PM

                    @glencora, why is sugar not considered vegan? Have they been sneaking animal parts into it? adam

                    1. re: adamshoe
                      Glencora Dec 15, 2009 05:17 PM

                      Oh, it's something I read on Chowhound -- that some sugar is made using bone char. Since I'm very far from being a vegan, it's just a random fact floating around in my head. I was just trying to figure out how the recipe could possibly not be vegan.

                      1. re: adamshoe
                        lisavf Dec 15, 2009 05:22 PM

                        Adam, others more knowledgeable may correct me, but it's my understanding that part of the sugar refining process utilizes charred animal bones, so it doesn't qualify as vegan or vegetarian.

                        1. re: lisavf
                          LauraGrace Dec 16, 2009 06:18 AM

                          Certain sugars are most certainly vegan -- there are brands that are labeled as such. The bone char is used to whiten the sugar so vegan sugar is not pure white.

                      2. re: Glencora
                        lisavf Dec 15, 2009 05:19 PM

                        Right, no sugar in mine (Maille). That's why I got the jar out, just to check. So I feel confident now that it will be okay.

                      Show Hidden Posts