HOME > Chowhound > France >

Discussion

L'As Du Fallafel, Paris. Vegetarian?

  • 1

Question for the board: I just came back from a business trip in Paris. Traveling with me was a work colleague who is vegetarian but loves to eat. He has a very negative impression of France because he's had bad luck in the past with his dietary restrictions being catered to, or frankly, understood. I think some French people interpret vegetarian as a "health food" lifestyle, whereas there are many veggies who just want to pig out, but hold the bacon. See what I mean? OK so I decided it was my job to turn him around on France as a whole, and I took him to L'As du Fallafel, (34, Rue des Rosiers, 75004). He concurred that it was fantastic, world class falafel, but later said that he wondered whether it was fried in some kind of meat fat and perhaps that was the secret to its success. Anybody: is As du Fallafel vegetarian or not?

Thanks all!

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. As du Falafel is not vegetarian. It is a kosher meat restaurant. However no vegetarian fried food is fried with any meat products and the oil is pure vegetable based oil so your friend has nothing to worry about. But honestly if your friend is a vegetarian who likes to eat there a many great restaurants with vegetarian tasting menus.