HOME > Chowhound > Ontario (inc. Toronto) >

Discussion

Black Hoof

After reading about this restaurant everywhere, I finally made it.
My friends met at 7:30 p.m. and unfortunately the patio was full outside, so
we grabbed a table near the back.
We were greeted by a friendly waitress and before long we were all enjoying
some great drinks.
We ordered:
a small cheese plate
olives
bread
a large charcuterie plate (no horse, no organs)
bone marrow (for me...as it was my childhood favorite)
a grouper ceviche.

We loved it ALL.
We loved the vibe of the room, the distinct flavors of each meat, the cheese paired with three unique jams, the bread...you name it, we loved it.

I swear our waitress came by six times to see how we enjoyed our food.
So no complaints regarding service.

Our only complaint was that the room seemed noisy...but we managed to just raise our voices a bit (just like everyone else). LOL.

I hope to be returning soon.
YUM.

 
 
 
  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. Thanks for the review, I have been wanting to try this place for a while now. Just a quick questions, did you have to pay for the bread? It seems that you did and I suppose it is reasonable as it is a main component of the meal here, where it is not at other restaurants.
    Could you just comment on that, and how much this costs, if you don't mind? Also, what kind of charcuterie was on the platter, and I am assuming that you are able to choose more or less what you like for the platter?

    5 Replies
    1. re: icey

      The bread is only $2/4 for the small/large plates.

      1. re: icey

        platter comes as they serve it as far as i'm aware, perhaps you could get a choice if you asked but i somehow doubt it.

        i highly suggest against the brain ravioli if it is on the menu as it's incredibly scant on the filling and it is also mixed with ricotta = not much brains! sweetbreads kinda tasted like fried chicken to me, not sure if it's the oils or how they season the batter, but really not appealing.

        i would suggest the nduja and smoked prawn, which is mostly superb for the prawn and the flavoured oil because the nduja is rather painful with all the spice. i really enjoyed my small charcuterie platter a couple weeks back over the large one had a few days ago. thought the pork belly pastrami was interesting but not spiced enough for me.. the texture was great though... love crisp skin.

        bread is thuet style and you get an ok amount for $2 considering how much a whole loaf costs otherwise. i prefer eating my charcuterie with my fingers for the most part anyway.

        1. re: pinstripeprincess

          Second the spicy nduja. Is the pork belly pastrami back? It was gone when i went a week ago.

          1. re: pinstripeprincess

            i was once sitting next to a couple who did ask to exclude certain items from their charcuterie plate and they were obliged - i think the kitchen is willing to accomodate some preferences by making substitutions. the charcuterie plates aren't exactly the same on any given evening, i've noticed differences between mine and what other table got, so the kitchen has a range of items to play with. i don't think, however, that they would be willing to assemble whatever you choose though.

            i liked the sweetbreads enough last time i was there, but it wasn't my favourite preparation. i liked them panfried rather than fried in a batter.

            i do have to say that i am impressed with their way around seafood - was not expecting it there, i must admit:)

            1. re: Kasia

              Everyone is correct...lol!!
              The bread price was accurate and we didnt mind paying for it at all.
              We did request not to include on the chacuterie plate: no horse and no organs and they were fine with our requests.
              Indeed I was also suprised that there was a grouper ceviche and the preparation was spectacular.

        2. I also finally made it to Black Hoof recently. It was a rainy Saturday night and they weren't that busy. We waited at the bar for about 30 mins before the hostess tried to seat a couple that came in after us - we stopped her and she apologized and seated us instead. That was the only mishap. At the bar we had glasses of a great white wine from California that was a very unusual varietal whose name escapes me.

          We sat in the new patio area which was just fine. We ordered:

          Charcuterie Platter
          Grouper Seviche
          Sweetbreads with Chanterelles and Peas
          Cheese Board
          Bread and Olives

          It was all fantastic. The charcuterie platter had about 7 different items, including a lovely liver pate, some chorizo like sausage, and a whole bunch of other things whose name escapes me but were super tasty. There was nothing "scary" from the standpoint of a squeamish eater.

          Grouper seviche was a huge portion - shocking big actually - of extremely fresh fish in a citrus dressing with edamame. A lovely counterpoint to the other rich dishes.

          The sweatbreads were basically deep fried - a bit too much coating but otherwise good. They were served with freshly sauteed chanterelles and peas. My only complaint was that there was a bit too much butter with the veg. Again the portion was large.

          The cheese board for $15 was three large pieces of interesting cheeses - all different. The price was much better than the cheese board I'd had the night before at Grace, where tiny pieces were served at a much higher price. Some accompanying savories to go with the cheese (nuts, etc.) were included.

          The bread was Thuet - wonderful and the olives were small and tasty - definitely not traditional deli or grocery store types.

          Service was extremely friendly and efficient.

          I would return in a heartbeat. One item to note is that it is cash or debit only - no credit cards.

          1 Reply
          1. re: Cat123

            Yeah, my wife and I can't get enough of that place. The food, the vibe, we love it all.

          2. thanks for the review! I have been wanting to go to this restaurant for awhile now.
            Did you try any of their desserts btw? I heard the lemon- lavendar tart was a popular item.

            7 Replies
            1. re: sugarcube

              i went for the first time recently and really enjoyed it. it seemed that there was only a dessert of the day on offer from their menu and the night i went it was a bacon chocolate bread pudding (4 pieces on a plate) topped with fresh whipped cream. a bit too many pieces of bacon and not enough chocolate for my taste (and i wasn't sure about the combo to begin with), but otherwise it would be have been tasty. wonder if they have some dessert items they offer more than others, i'd love to try a lemon tart on a later visit.

              1. re: auberginegal

                Was still serving this back in June (http://www.flickr.com/photos/jlunar/3...

                )

                Got it b/c it was interesting, as I usually don't get chocolate desserts, but they said caramel and then bacon made it intriguing. Thought it was pretty good for me (maybe the right balance of ingredients that night?).

                1. re: jlunar

                  mine looked to be slightly different, definitely no chocolate shavings, but the caramel sauce was really good. you can't see from this pic either, the pieces of bacon that are within

                  http://www.flickr.com/photos/aubergin...

                  1. re: auberginegal

                    Interesting!! Foam vs cream and the set-up - while not completely un-similar - is remarkably different.

              2. re: sugarcube

                i had the bread pudding last week-was so-so, deconstructed pieces of bread with toffee, nuts and some pieces of bacon! I don't think dessert is a strong suit of theirs. but you should go, i have a great time every time i'm there. excellent cocktails, plenty of varied dishes. the pork belly pastriami is very delicious.

                1. re: deabot

                  Thanks for the info Auberginegal and Deabot! I hope there will more more choices aside from the bread pudding to try when I head there.
                  Mmm. but definitely looking forward to trying that pork belly pastrami...!

                  1. re: sugarcube

                    I think they only offer one dessert a day. When I went, it was the bread pudding described above.

              3. They don't take reservations. That kind of attitude kills any interest I might have had in them.

                3 Replies
                1. re: evansl

                  Ikea doesn't take reservations either.

                  1. re: tjr

                    Nor does MacDonalds. But what is the point of eliminating Black Hoof from consideration? They apparently don't want to be bothered with reserved tables and the problems that arise.
                    My life is not so orderly that I will go apoplectic if I arrive at Black Hoof and can't get in.
                    I'll return another day, and find something good on Ossington in the meantime.

                    1. re: jayt90

                      i agree. i also think that the lack of reservations adds to the casual atmosphere at black hoof. you could go there, eat a whole lot and hang out for 3 hours, or you could go for a drink and a snack and not feel obligated to have a full meal. if i made a reservation, i'd feel obligated to have a proper dinner (not to mention i'd have to plan it sometime in advance). which would mean much fewer visits for me, since so far, my Black Hoof visits have been almost all spontaneous, and often were late night meals.

                2. Every time Black Hoof comes up I get depressed about the rampant spread of vegetarianism among my friends.