Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > General Topics >
Jul 15, 2009 03:22 PM

Is pizza dough usually made with dairy products?

I'm going dairy-free and I'm wondering if it will be okay for me to have a marinara slice or something like that at a pizzeria, or does the dough involve milk or butter?

For that matter, I'm curious about donuts, as well. If I get a donut without a creme or frosting or icing, am I okay, or does the donut itself contain dairy?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. no milk or butter in the dough. usually just flour water, yeast, salt, sugar and maybe some olive oil.

    you'll have problems with the cheese, of course.

    1. Nope, pizza dough does not normally contain milk or butter. Flour, water, yeast, semolina flour, salt, and maybe olive oil.

      Donuts contain dairy sometimes, but it might be worth a try to ask your local shop.

      1. Doughnut batters (both cake and yeast-raised) often have milk. You'd need to ask the establishment (national chains typically have ingredients available on the nutritional info section of their websites - this is one of the advantages of chains). Icing/glaze, btw, is typically made with sugar and water, not dairy, but some frostings might include dairy (if they are lux; shortening is more typical).

        1. The fat in my pizza dough is one tablespoon of olive oil.