HOME > Chowhound > Greater Boston Area >

Discussion

Parve Coca-Cola in Boston?

  • 9
  • Share

Anyone know where to find it? Thanks!

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
Posting Guidelines | FAQs | Feedback
Cancel
  1. TJ's in Coolidge Corner had it a week back.

    1. all Coca-Cola is pareve.

      4 Replies
      1. re: Luther

        really? i thought only the the Coke with the yellow cap was Kosher, it's marked that way.

        1. re: ScubaSteve

          OK you are all talking about 3 different things...
          Pareve means the product is kosher and does not have milk or meat products in it.. So you can serve it with meat or milk

          Kosher means it follows a bunch of other rules including among others, not having shellfish, pork, milk and meat together, being made in a certified/inspected plant etc...You could write a book on what makes something kosher.

          Kosher for Passover is totally different it is not only kosher as above and can be paraeve too but also is made with ingredients allowed on passover and in a plant that has been certified not to have those ingredients not allowed floating around. This includes corn. This is what has the yellow caps and what many seek because it has sugar rather then high fructose corn syrup.

          1. re: hargau

            oy...
            thanks, the real sugar thing is the reason i seek out those yellow caps. i think it tatstes more like the Coke of my youth.

            1. re: hargau

              To add: yes, the difference is that corn is kitnyot. There are the 5 grains - wheat, barley, oats, rye and spelt - and the kitnyot is stuff that looks like those grains ... in the Ashkenazi tradition only, not the Sephardic. There is some idea that these generally can ferment, but the real rule, IMHO, is based on a - weird to me - idea that you can "fence in" the Torah by not only prohibiting the actual "bad" stuff but anything that might lead you to make a mistake. By prohibiting the kitnyot, you are then making it less likely you eat anything that's actually prohibited. Follow?

              Corn syrup is a derivative and thus is generally banned for the Ashkenazi.

              Pareve merely means it's not milk or meat so you can eat it with either. Doesn't mean it's kosher unless it's also certified kosher.

        2. Saw tons of 2-liter bottles of yellow-cap Coke in the Allston Star (the one at Packard's Corner) a week or 2 ago. New this year - they've beefed up the KFP offerings and made that location one of their "Passover superstores."

          1. I have been stocking up on the Coke made with sugar at Stop & Shop (Watertown) and Shaws (Newtonville). I did notice that last year it was made with sugar and this year with sucrose. I don't know if there will be a taste difference. I do know it will all disappear by next week so hurry wherever you end up getting it.

            1 Reply
            1. re: Scruffy The Cat

              Hahaha this is getting out of hand. "Regular" ("table") sugar is >99.5% sucrose, my friend.

              http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sucrose