HOME > Chowhound > Home Cooking >
Do you create unique foods? Tell us about it

Vegan, Kosher for Passover Recipes

amymsmom Apr 2, 2009 01:29 PM

My daughter's best friend is vegan. Since she is invited to our seder next week, I would like to have something for her to eat besides steamed veggies and fruit platter.

My appetizers all contain animal products (chopped liver, fish and eggs). I want to serve something other than cruite and salsa for her; it's not festive enough. My family looks forward to my traditional entrees... brisket and roast turkey, so I'll also add vegan sides and desserts.

I'm roasting potatoes with onions - would usually use a combo of shmaltz and canola oil (I get shmaltz crazy when cooking for Jewish holidays), but I'll stick with just canola like the rest of the year.

I'll probably do stuffed mushrooms with matzah meal. Though I usually use chicken broth to keep them lo-cal, I'll use olive or canola oil for moisture.

Any other ideas, especially vegan tsimmes and desserts are welcome!

  1. l
    lgss Apr 2, 2009 03:50 PM

    Have you checked this post? Some discussion of vegan possibilities there.

    2 Replies
    1. re: lgss
      amymsmom Apr 2, 2009 04:51 PM

      It helps, thanks. Didn't see any desserts, though.

      1. re: amymsmom
        pitu Apr 3, 2009 08:25 AM

        There's a vegan fruit cake recipe (and quite a lot of glutenfree baked goods) in this month's COTM, Breakfast Lunch Tea

    2. m
      milklady Apr 2, 2009 04:58 PM

      Dessert -- the only thing I can think of is a sorbet or granita (besides fresh fruit).

      Tzimess is easy to make vegan -- stewed or baked sweet potatoes, potatoes, prune, carrots, onions, etc. cooked with some water and honey and spices.

      6 Replies
      1. re: milklady
        twinmommy Apr 2, 2009 05:13 PM

        Do vegans eat honey?

        1. re: twinmommy
          cheesecake17 Apr 2, 2009 05:37 PM

          vegans usually don't eat honey since it's an animal byproduct. you can prob use sugar instead.

          to keep your stuffed mushrooms low calorie and vegan, use vegetable broth. you can make your own or buy it in a package. you can make stuffed eggplant for your vegan guest and the rest of your family if you want to make something more filling than stuffed mushrooms.

          for dessert- what about a layered tiramisu. ingredients are vegan and parve- passover lady fingers, hadar or rich's whip, cocoa powder, sugar, grated chocolate. or you could make chocolate covered strawberries.

          1. re: cheesecake17
            Caitlin McGrath Apr 2, 2009 05:43 PM

            You could also use maple syrup for the tsimmes; it complements the flavors of the other ingredients.

            You could dip a variety of fruits in chocolate, including dried fruits, as well as strawberries.

            1. re: cheesecake17
              KarenDW Apr 6, 2014 09:30 PM

              Some vegans will not eat refined sugar (white or brown), either, as bone char is used in the refining process. I use evaporated cane sugar, and maple sugar when cooking for vegan guests.

            2. re: twinmommy
              milklady Apr 3, 2009 10:36 AM

              Of course note, that was silly of me. I agree some sugar will work (as will skipipng it).

              1. re: twinmommy
                westsidegal Apr 6, 2014 07:44 PM

                vegetarians yes,
                vegans normally NO

            3. s
              Super Salad Apr 2, 2009 06:44 PM

              I usually make a ratatouille for my seder and it is a great side or perfect vegan main course. A nice vegan side is baba ganoush For dessert you could try making passover brownies and just using egg substitutes and dark chocolate to make sure it is vegan. Another dessert is a vegan pudding or a fruit compote or pudding.

              1. serenarobin Apr 2, 2009 07:02 PM

                Chocolate covered toffee matza is a sweet dessert that's egg-free.

                1 Reply
                1. re: serenarobin
                  amymsmom Apr 6, 2009 03:31 PM

                  Just printed a copy from another Chow post. However, since I'm using bittersweet chocolate for the dipped fruit, I'll use milk chocolate for the Caramel Matzoh Crunch. I'll use butter, not pareve margarine, so it won't be vegan, but another tasty chocolate dessert!

                2. amymsmom Apr 3, 2009 07:07 PM

                  Thanks for your ideas. Here are some thoughts so far...

                  I added veggie broth to my grocery list, for the mushrooms.

                  May serve sweet potatoes or beets for a second starch.

                  My favorite Israeli grocery store has a teriffic selection of olives. I'll definitely do that.

                  Have a recipe for grilled, marinated zucchini and yellow squash. Will do that if it's warm enough to barbeque - otherwise I can roast them.

                  And finally, how did I forget chocolate dipped strawbs? I was going to do a flourless chocolate cake, but a nice sheet of white and semisweet dipped strawberries would look and taste great!

                  2 Replies
                  1. re: amymsmom
                    irishnyc Apr 5, 2009 12:10 PM

                    Chocolate isn't vegan if it's got any milk product in it.

                    1. re: irishnyc
                      KarenDW Apr 6, 2014 09:32 PM

                      White and semisweet chocolate usually have milk solids. Bittersweet and dark often do not.

                  2. Emme Apr 4, 2009 12:00 AM

                    You could do a quinoa side dish for the friend. It'll go well with the other dishes.

                    For dessert,
                    pudding http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chocolat...

                    maybe something as simple as fudge?
                    * 8 ounces dairy-free cream cheese
                    * 4 cups powdered sugar
                    * 1 teaspoon vanilla
                    * 1 cup dairy-free chocolate chips, melted

                    1. Place the cream cheese in a food processor and blend until smooth. Add powdered sugar and vanilla.

                    2. Melt chocolate chips in microwave or double boiler. Pour into food processor and process until blended.

                    3. Pour into 8-inch square pan that has been lined with wax paper. Refrigerate until firm. Pull wax paper out of pan. Cut fudge into bite-size pieces. Store in refrigerator in an airtight container.


                    * Add chopped walnuts, macadamias or almonds
                    * Add shredded coconut
                    * Add sun-dried cherries

                    3 Replies
                    1. re: Emme
                      Caitlin McGrath Apr 4, 2009 12:52 PM

                      Tofu-based chocolate pudding is a grest non-dairy alternative when it's not passover, but soy is not kosher for passover, when legumes are not allowed.

                      1. re: Caitlin McGrath
                        Emme Apr 4, 2009 09:01 PM

                        argh, i got focused on vegan... silly jew I am.

                        1. re: Emme
                          Emme Apr 4, 2009 11:24 PM

                          Potato and Mushroom Croquettes here sound good...

                          some other dessert ideas...

                          Raspberry Parfaits

                          Coconut Kugel

                          Matzoh Baklava

                          Fudgy Brownies

                    2. amymsmom Apr 4, 2009 01:35 PM

                      Had an annoying surprise at the grocery store this AM. Ghirardelli (my favorite) and Hershey's chocolates are all dairy - even unsweetened. I thought for sure, all chocolate except milk would be pareve. I bought a hunk of KFP semi-sweet chocolate, don't know the brand or how it tastes.

                      If she's definitely coming, I'll see if they have some white chocolate at the kosher butcher in my area (I don't have the time to drive to more frum communities nearby). If not (she may have to work that night, since all the Jewish girls will be off), I'll return the KFP chocolate and buy the chocolate I like. Nobody in my family keeps kosher; I just feel it's important to keep the traditions while feeding my family good-tasting food.

                      2 Replies
                      1. re: amymsmom
                        westsidegal Apr 6, 2014 07:51 PM

                        i'm confused,
                        so you're not kosher, but you are keeping to traditions?

                        otherwise, i don't see how serving chocolate that contained dairy or foods that contain butter work as part of a meat-containing meal?

                        1. re: westsidegal
                          1sweetpea Apr 7, 2014 08:50 AM

                          VEGAN guest. The guest won't be able to enjoy the chocolate items that contain dairy, eggs, butter, honey or any other product derived from animals or that involve animal matter in the processing of them.

                          Many Jews that do not observe kosher laws at any other time of year make use of those laws during Passover to help them avoid items that may contain anything that is not acceptable under Passover rules. Additives and preservatives may contain no-no ingredients.

                      2. b
                        bear Apr 5, 2009 06:58 AM

                        Here are a few ideas from the food section of our local paper.


                        If you have access to a Whole Foods or a larger store with a health focus, Tropical Source chocolate chips are vegan and they are very good.

                        4 Replies
                        1. re: bear
                          lgss Apr 5, 2009 11:30 AM

                          TJ's has dairy-free chocolate chips. I have no idea if they are kosher.

                          1. re: lgss
                            bear Apr 5, 2009 12:01 PM

                            Their regular semi-sweet chips? I really like them, and they are about $1.99 for 12 oz., I think. Good to know, thanks.

                            1. re: lgss
                              milklady Apr 5, 2009 07:09 PM

                              They are kosher - pareve, but not hekshered for Passover. but I have a feeling that designation doesn't matter to the original poster!

                              1. re: lgss
                                westsidegal Apr 6, 2014 07:54 PM

                                the meal will already contain dairy combined with meat.
                                (i think what she is saying is that the meal isn't going to be kosher but she is going to try get non-dairy chocolate so that the vegan guest will have something to eat.)

                            2. o
                              orna Apr 5, 2009 07:52 AM


                              A couple of years ago we hosted an all-vegan seder at my house, since my sister and her family are all vegans. Surprisingly it wasn't so bad, and we actually had some great dishes. I created a vegan chocolate cake recipe which worked really well, if you're still looking for a dessert:

                              2 ground apples
                              1 cup of cake matza flour
                              Ground walnuts, about half a cup
                              3 large tbsp of cocoa
                              1 and 1/4 a cup of brown sugar (you can use less)
                              4 tbsp of date syrup
                              1 tsp of vanilla extract
                              1/4 cup oil
                              125 gr bitter sweet chocolate
                              1 1/2 cups of Coconut milk (maybe a little more)
                              1 tsp of baking powder
                              1 tsp of vinegar
                              A little bit of rum

                              Mix the dry ingredients together, add the apples, date syrup, vanilla, oil and rum.
                              In a small pot, melt the chocolate with the coconut milk and stir. After the chocolate has melted, add the mixture to the rest of the ingredients and whisk well.
                              Pour the mixture to an oiled cake pan and bake at 180 C .

                              After the cake has cooled, you can glaze it with melted chocolate or any other vegan icing. When I made the cake I covered it with a layer of Halva and an additional layer of chocolate icing. It was very rich, but it takes a little more work.

                              Enjoy, and have a great holiday,


                              1 Reply
                              1. re: orna
                                bakersdelight Apr 6, 2014 12:06 AM

                                That sounds so wonderful. How did you put on a layer of halva? Can it be softened? Or did you crumble it?

                              2. m
                                mshpook Apr 5, 2009 03:32 PM

                                don't know how important it is to you, but powdered sugar -- and some baking soda --contains corn starch. a no no on passover.

                                1 Reply
                                1. re: mshpook
                                  sciencediet Apr 7, 2014 07:46 AM

                                  You can get KFP baking powder with potato starch.

                                2. amymsmom Apr 5, 2009 04:59 PM

                                  This project has been interesting.

                                  Just an FYI, I'm not kosher, so I'm not a stickler for ingredients for the most part. I'm trying to keep traditional - foods that are unique to Passover in a Russian/Jewish/ American home. For instance, I won't serve bread at my seder, so I bought matzoh farfel to use as stuffing. However, my sister asked me to make a flourless chocolate cake, which contains butter - normally verboten at a kosher meat meal.

                                  My biggest restriction has been finding vegan-compatible foods.

                                  The good news is that I found two products I can use for my daughter's friend (and of course everybody else). Bought Green & Black's dark chocolate for the dipped fruit & nuts. Bought Kojel to use instead of Jello for the cranberry/pineapple Jello my sister & I always make. Did find pareve chocolate chips, but I'm set on dark chocolate already.

                                  After shopping in at a multi-ethnic produce stand, an Israeli grocery store, Trader Joe's, a kosher butcher shop, a gourmet produce stand, and Waldbaums (all this morning!), I accept the fact that you can't get pareve white chocolate around my area. Any white chocolate I found, even from explicitly kosher companies were all milchig.

                                  Oh, well. Now I just have to prepare it all!

                                  5 Replies
                                  1. re: amymsmom
                                    milklady Apr 5, 2009 07:10 PM

                                    kosher stores usually sell pareve kosher for pesach white chocolate. but, it's usually terrible tasting - I use it for decoration only.

                                    1. re: milklady
                                      amymsmom Apr 5, 2009 07:22 PM

                                      In that case, I don't feel like I'm missing anything!

                                      Actually, I don't even like white chocolate. Not sure if anyone else in my family does either. I just like the way it looks. I'll make the dipped fruit pretty by using dried fruit in addition to the strawbs... have apricots, dried pineapple and dried kiwi (pretty but not as good as fresh). When the chocolate starts to seize up I drop it over nuts - got some pecan halves - yum!

                                      1. re: amymsmom
                                        Caitlin McGrath Apr 5, 2009 07:36 PM

                                        Another that's not bright in color, but delicious is chocolate-dipped candied ginger.

                                        1. re: Caitlin McGrath
                                          amymsmom Apr 6, 2009 03:24 PM

                                          Hmmm... I have both crystalized and non-crystalized candied ginger. And I'm not the only ginger fanatic in my family.

                                          Thanks for the idea Caitlin!

                                          1. re: amymsmom
                                            lgss Apr 7, 2009 07:28 PM

                                            We often just eat crystallized ginger and vegan chocolate chips by the handful for dessert.

                                  2. d
                                    druby38 Apr 7, 2009 07:52 AM

                                    You can buy delicious eggplant salads at most places that sell kosher for passover( a store with a large jewish community anyway) You can also look these up and make them yourself. there is babaganoush - a roasted eggplant spread. they make one with no mayo. mayo contains eggs so you don't want that one. There are also many combos of eggplant with tomato, pepper mushrooms etc. eggplant caponata, morrocan salad, turkish salad, matbucha salad. These are all middle eastern recipies and good all year round. If you can find them they are very good. Some are similar to salsa and some are a thicker spread . All are great on matza or used as a dip with vegetables. By the way in a good kosher market you can definitely find kosher for passover confectioners sugar ( no corn starch) If you could include eggs there would be no end to recipies .Oh well. For dessert you can find parve egg free whip topping . Note, I have found that the kosher for passover whip toppings (which come frozen by the way) are difficult to beat but if you do not give up they will turn into whip in ten minutes.. Maybe they will have improved the recipe this year. You can fold into the topping, canned fruit and fresh or frozen strawberries and coconut for ambrosia. A good mix is canned pineapple, strawberries,and peaches and or mandarin oranges,Add coconut if you like. This mix is also fine without the whip topping. It is beautiful placed in a cup with some whip on top also. Or freeze some fruit (strawberries are great) and blend them then fold into the whip topping for an ice cream like dessert. Chocolate melted and drizzled into the whip will make "Chocolate Ice cream". If you make the toffee coated matzo that someone mentioned you can break this into little bits and fold into your "Ice cream" or sprinkle it on top. Really great. Good luck have a happy holiday.

                                    1. l
                                      lgss Apr 7, 2009 07:32 PM

                                      My husband came across the following website when looking for gluten-free, vegan passover recipes. They would not contain dairy but might contain eggs and honey which can be easily substitutes with maple syrup and egg replacer or flaxseed meal & water if those are acceptable.

                                      1. i_am_Lois Apr 6, 2014 01:07 AM

                                        Find out exactly what your friend's daughter is willing to eat. I've known several vegetarians and each one has a different diet. One eats no meat, but will eat all dairy, seafood, eggs,and even cooks meals using beef & chicken bouillon cubes. Another person eats no meat, no eggs, no dairy, no honey and wouldn't think of using meat flavored bouillon cubes.

                                        Some vegetarians are just disturbed by the slaughter of land animals and eating their flesh. Others don't participate in what they feel is the exploitation of creatures for the purpose of food in any sense.

                                        1 Reply
                                        1. re: i_am_Lois
                                          westsidegal Apr 6, 2014 07:58 PM

                                          it has already been specified that the guest is VEGAN.

                                        2. s
                                          sailrox Apr 6, 2014 04:59 AM

                                          Last year for Pesach (although not for the Seder), we made a number of the recipes from Ottolenghi's Plenty. There were lots and lots that were Pesach friendly- the three that come to mind immediately were the caramelized fennel, the eggplant with pomegranate (the cover recipe) and the stuffed tomatoes (we used matzah meal instead of breadcrumbs). Of those three, the latter has no dairy and should work well in the festiveness department...

                                          1 Reply
                                          1. re: sailrox
                                            1sweetpea Apr 7, 2014 09:04 AM

                                            I have 3 Ottolenghi books. There are several recipes that could either work or be adapted to be acceptable for Pesach, the vegan AND the meat lovers. I also have a Claudia Roden Middle Eastern book that includes a number of North African dips, spreads and salads, many of which are naturally vegan. Zucchini or carrot ajlouke come to mind. I'd swap agave for honey in recipes and coconut or cane sugar for white and brown sugar.

                                          2. westsidegal Apr 6, 2014 07:46 PM

                                            vegan or no,
                                            i've always found a fresh fruit salad goes over well at any meal with virtually any crowd.

                                            1 Reply
                                            1. re: westsidegal
                                              Chelsea22 Apr 12, 2014 02:20 PM

                                              Here is a good Passover dessert:http://theshiksa.com/2014/04/10/choco.... You have to be careful as a lot of things that say vegan are not vegan recipes & the same goes for Passover recipes. If using sugar for a vegan, you need sugar that says vegan as otherwise it probably has ground up bone chard. The same goes for Passover recipes. Double check! I just found one that said "Kosher for Passover" with leavening in it! Vegan smart butter without soy would be okay for both. Look for kosher for Passover and vegan symbols on foods.

                                            Show Hidden Posts