HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
What's your latest food project? Get great advice
TELL US

Gluten-free matzoh?

b
bxgirl Apr 2, 2009 05:50 AM

The grandchild of a relative is on a strict, gluten-free diet. Can anyone suggest a place in the 5 boroughs of NYC, or on Long Island, which might carry gluten-free matzoh?
I heard of a place in Lakewood, NJ which ships it (on the internet), but the matzoh is over $20.00 for three sheets, and the shipping is $26.00!!! That is criminal, as far as we are concerned.
Any thoughts on where to get (or order) gluten-free matzoh?
Thanks

  1. Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. berel Apr 2, 2009 06:14 AM

    I think I saw it at Supersol in Lawrence on Sunday. call first to confirm they have it

    1. r
      rockycat Apr 2, 2009 07:21 AM

      Try searching some of the celiac blogs and boards. Many celiac sufferers are Jewish so you could find good information there. Check if the child can eat oats. Some celiacs can, although generally not children. That may be a slightly less expensive alternative to spelt matzah. And yes, gluten-free matzah is obscenely expensive.

      5 Replies
      1. re: rockycat
        c
        cheesecake17 Apr 2, 2009 08:59 AM

        Fairway had spelt matzah. Wasn't expensive.

        1. re: cheesecake17
          d
          DeisCane Apr 2, 2009 09:21 AM

          Many celiacs avoid spelt too.

          1. re: DeisCane
            c
            cheesecake17 Apr 2, 2009 09:29 AM

            Wasn't sure exactly what was avoided. But since rockycat mentioned it, I figured it would be helpful to know Fairway stocks the item..

            1. re: DeisCane
              w
              whitneybee Apr 5, 2009 09:29 AM

              Spelt, while wheat free, is not gluten-free, and is therefore not safe for anyone on a strict gluten-free diet.

            2. re: cheesecake17
              f
              ferret Apr 2, 2009 09:42 AM

              I think Manishewitz makes the spelt matzo, definitely inexpensive but not celiac-friendly.

          2. d
            DeisCane Apr 2, 2009 07:59 AM

            I think Whole Foods sells it. Expensive though.

            4 Replies
            1. re: DeisCane
              n
              njkosher Apr 2, 2009 08:23 AM

              Not that it helps, but my mother in law used to buy it, and it was always extremely pricey, and that was more than five years ago, so dont expect to find it cheap.

              1. re: njkosher
                a
                avitrek Apr 2, 2009 11:05 AM

                What goes into gluten free matza? I didn't think you could get gluten free flour from any grain, and without a grain I wouldn't call it matza. A gluten free cracker shaped like matza maybe.

                1. re: avitrek
                  g
                  GilaB Apr 2, 2009 11:17 AM

                  One can make matza (or any bread, in a halachic sense) from five grains: barley, rye, oats, wheat, and spelt. Barley, spelt, and wheat all contain gluten, and I'm not sure about rye, but oats don't, and the gluten-free matzas I've seen have been oat-based.

                  The reason that some oat products aren't labeled gluten free is that many of them (such as Quaker Oatmeal) are processed on the same lines as gluten-containing foods, so they're 'gluten equipment,' so to speak. Some people are so sensitive to gluten that even this is an issue for them, but this doesn't create problems for everybody who can't eat gluten.

                  1. re: GilaB
                    z
                    zsero Apr 26, 2012 05:25 PM

                    The relative absence of gluten from oats is one of the many reasons why the translation of "shibolet shual" as "oats" is suspect. And of course if that translation is wrong then one can no more make matzah out of oats than one can out of lentils.

                    People with zero gluten tolerance should use these oat matzos anyway, in case the translation is correct. But those who can tolerate low levels should investigate the low-gluten alternatives and see whether they might be suitable.

            2. b
              bxgirl Apr 2, 2009 12:26 PM

              Thank you all so much. I have passed on the information to our relative, who lives on Long Island, so Supersol and Fairway(Plainview) are definite possibilites. She will call to be sure they have it in stock.
              I am not sure if smelt is gluten-free, or if the child is on a very strict gluton-free diet, but my relative can dig further.
              Thanks, again.

              1 Reply
              1. re: bxgirl
                d
                DeisCane Apr 2, 2009 01:44 PM

                Smelt is gluten free. Spelt isn't. :-)

              2. d
                DebKG Apr 4, 2009 04:55 PM

                In Rockland Kosher Supermarket there's a pound box of gf machine made matzoh for $25 - it's not cheap, but lots cheaper than the online gf shmurah matzoh

                1. j
                  jaknny Apr 12, 2009 08:19 PM

                  I saw it today at Kosher Konnection in Passaic/ $23/lb, they also had oat matzo meal.

                  Show Hidden Posts