HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
Are you making a specialty food? Share your adventure
TELL US

Wendys Frosty?

l
LoveKosherEats Mar 18, 2009 09:33 AM

Anyone know whether or not these things are under hashgachah?

  1. d
    DeisCane Mar 19, 2009 12:00 PM

    I am fairly sure that it's a proprietary mix so it would have little benefit from having a hecscher, since it would never appear anywhere but a Wendy's if that were the case. Anyhow, here are the official ingredients of the Original Frosty:
    Milkfat and Nonfat milk, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Whey, Cocoa (processed with alkali), Guar Gum, Mono and Diglycerides, Cellulose Gum, Carrageenan, Calcium Sulfate, Disodium Phosphate, Artificial and Natural Flavoring, Vitamin A Palmitate.

    As for McD's ketchup, it's from a company called Golden State Foods, which according to a quick search, does produce some hecschered products. The ketchup ingredients are as follows:
    Tomato concentrate from red ripe tomatoes, distilled vinegar, high fructose corn syrup, water, salt, natural flavors (vegetable source).

    1. v
      vallevin Mar 18, 2009 10:25 AM

      If you are feeling up to it...the next time you are in a Wendy's (???) and it is not too busy you should ask >>very<< nicely to see packaging of the mix they use.

      I've done this at ice cream shops.

      9 Replies
      1. re: vallevin
        k
        koshergourmetmart Mar 18, 2009 10:35 AM

        i would assume that no agency would give a hasgacha for something served in a traif restaurant for fear of ma'arat ayin. If someone were to see someone with a kipah in a wendy's, they might assume the entire menu to be kosher. Also, there is no one to check that they are not adding anything traif to the shakes. There was a time when milk in MA was traif due to the milk having had vitamin E made from shark oil to it.

        1. re: koshergourmetmart
          h
          HungryJew Mar 18, 2009 11:34 AM

          Not 100% true with the agency giving a Hasgacha. I was recently in the Carribean and the hotel we were staying at had a Cinn-a-bun in the lobby. As well all know, except for the one in jersey they are a treif chain. They happen to make the dough with lard (passed on to me from a convert that used to work there). Well low and behold, I see them take the frosting mix out to make the next batch and there was a huge hasgacha on the side (either Ou or Chof K)

          1. re: HungryJew
            j
            justjoshing Mar 18, 2009 01:31 PM

            There is a kosher certified Cinnabon in Towson (MD) as well.

          2. re: koshergourmetmart
            c
            craigcep Mar 18, 2009 12:34 PM

            The theory also doesn't hold with Dunkin Donuts (the doughnut ingredients are all kosher even though the vast majority of stores aren't) and the ice cream chains (though they are dealing with only cold food even if the grape flavors and marshmallow flavors aren't kosher).

            1. re: craigcep
              l
              LoveKosherEats Mar 18, 2009 09:19 PM

              or how about the mcdonalds brand honey served at mcdonalds ... anyhow, back to the frostys?

              1. re: LoveKosherEats
                k
                koshergourmetmart Mar 19, 2009 06:30 AM

                no one goes to mcdonalds just to get their honey or ketchup packets

                1. re: koshergourmetmart
                  c
                  cheesecake17 Mar 19, 2009 07:31 AM

                  Why not? If I want some ketchup for my veggie burger or honey for my tea there's always a coworker with the McDonald's packets. Good to know that they're under hashgacha.

                  1. re: cheesecake17
                    h
                    hanistor Mar 19, 2009 08:28 AM

                    My coworker just showed me a packet of McDonalds ketchup that he got in the last two weeks.

                    There is NO hechsher on it.

            2. re: koshergourmetmart
              g
              ganeden Mar 18, 2009 11:03 PM

              BS"D

              My cousins once owned a Dairy Queen, and the soft serve ice cream mix was reliably kosher certified. The problem was that the parts for the ice cream freezer were washed with other treif stuff (they sold burgers, cheeseburgers and the like) and therefore were unlikely to be considered kosher by anyone familiar with kashrus, and even taking into account that the mix was probably not in contact with the parts for 24 hours at a time, and everything was cold, still, I think that while one could make a case for the kashrus of the finished product, few people would make that case. Certainly not a kashrus agency. In any event, the Wendy's Frosty case is analogous, assuming kosher supervision of the mix.

          Show Hidden Posts