HOME > Chowhound > Ontario (inc. Toronto) >

Discussion

Skylon Tower AWFULLLL~! (Niagara Falls-REVIEW)

  • 34
  • Share

NEVER AGAIN would I step foot in this Restaurant!!!!!!

My date and I decided to do a lover's retreat a la Niagara Falls.
We wanted to do the typical touristy areas and go to the SKYLON TOWER for dinner

We went for a Valentine's Day dinner and it was superbly AWFUL~!

I had made reservations early in the week and the only time available was 10pm.
So yes, we were H-U-N-G-R-Y.

Our waiter, clueless, yet jolly BUT sheesh......enough about YOU sir~!
(I know it’s annoying when a waiter DOESN'T speak much, but it is even MORE annoying when the Server comes up to your table does the tacky "where yaaa (yes yaaa) from" speech and then proceeds to tell us about his life, and wanting to live "where YAAAA from" and how the economy is bad, how tonight is so buzy, how they normally close at 11pm, but it looks like he will be stuck there later)........zzzzzzzzzzzzzz

He offered us water (Evian or Perrier).
I looked at my date to ask what he preferred, Flat or Sparkling.

The waiter then states to us "oh the Evian is a flat water and the Perrier is a sparkling"
Thanks for that Einstein.

We chose the Evian.
And then ordered a bottle of over-priced 2003 Montecillo Crianza Rioja

5 minutes later our Waiter comes over with the WATER..
((((...um Evian--flat (in case you all were wondering;) ))))
And Waiter then states 'hey guys haven't forgotten about you, wine coming"

Eventually he came over with our wine and starts OPENING it.
I ask to SEE THE LABEL.....
Come on. It's not a bottle of Doctor Pepper!!!!
Waiter states "oh I totally forgot about that"
Seriously, I felt like we were in some Twilight Zone movie.

This place should have better servers for the prices. It is a total tourist trap.
We knew that going in, but thought lets do it for our night of Amourrrrrrrrr.

We were not mean or rude to our Server.
We JUST wanted some wine, good food.....it was now 10:30pm.
(((stomach growls)))

As he um tries to open the wine, we chose to order everything right then

We order escargot, the Gruyere garlic bread, and a Caesar salad.
And for the mains: Filet Mignon and a NY Steak.

I didn't get a chance to even take a breath and our server jumped right in with
"steak done, HOW?".......what the....? ME Tarzan, YOU Jane.

My date made a bet with me.
"bet we don't see our Appetizers within 20minutes"

I won. We got the escargot within 5 minutes. LITERALLY 5 minutes.

My date was extremely hungry, but I suggested a fork test as the escargot didn't 'look right'

Sure enough; it came in an escargot dish with Parmesan cheese sprinkled on it.
It was NOT hot and bubbling at all. More like the escargot was placed in lukewarm water and
left under the heat lamp. Seriously. Nasty Nasty stuff. (Wish I had taken a photo for you all:(

We waited another 20 minutes.

Other 2 appetizers NO SHOW

We then decided it just wasn't working out.

Called over for a Manager.
Told him we wanted a fun-filled Niagara Falls Valentine's Day but this was ridiculous.

Told him the escargot was terrible and there was no way we would pay for it, but we would pay for the wine.

The Manager then states "okay then, and I see you have a bottle of Evian here also"

WOW, talk about cheap. (Yes we paid for that also, just wanted the hell out of Dodge)
And my date even TIPPED the Server...good man that man:)

Another thing. The place was packed. SO packed that it looked like they brought in extra tables. They had deuces in the MIDDLE of the restaurant walking area and looking at the couples seated at them, you could tell they were NOT impressed. It was like a Snickers Bar "packed with peanuts.."

Servers were huddled in a little area while Managers (or MR.X as we called him) stood around starring into space. Friggin' priceless!

TERRIBLE simply awful~!
The Server also told us they had just renovated and were closed for a few weeks and that this night it was the busiest since New Years and with the economy, the restaurant has been very slow.

Nice. So if you knew you were totally booked, why then did you not have enough staff on.????

Which brings me to another subject;
Have some PERIPHERAL vision please!!!! When we tried to get someone/anyone's attention, no one even blinked. It was almost comical. Server, Managers standing around.

Where should they have been?
Perhaps doing table checks at all the tables with frowns and expediting food when it is HOT and not bringing out food that isn't cooked properly or at the right temperature.

I am sure I have left out a lot. But seriously...
True story. It was a Valentine's Day Massacre Evening for SURE~!!!!

VERY GLAD we didn't stay for the Entrées

Also if you look at the dinner menu PRICES at the Skylon Tower, one would think that the service and food would be equal. (I think the prices at the Skylon are even HIGHER than the CN Tower's Restaurant). Really.

Save yourselves.
Stay away.
Be warned.
Yadda Yadda.

http://www.skylon.com/revolvingdining...

-----
Skylon Tower
5200 Robinson St, Niagara Falls, ON L2G2A2, CA

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
Posting Guidelines | FAQs | Feedback
Cancel
  1. Queenston Heights Restaurant. Best when it's daylight though and they're closed during the winter. But if you're there in the summer looking for a romantic spot. Ask for a window seat. They say they don't reserve them but I'm 2 for 2 with it.

    http://www.niagaraparks.com/dining/qu...

    DT

    1 Reply
    1. re: Davwud

      WOW Davwud
      Never knew that place existed
      Nice view:)

      TJR~~
      Well WE chose it
      Thought it would be fun
      Revolving and all and the spectacular view of the falls
      THAT was great

      But me thinks they should take the 'restaurant' part out
      sigh

    2. This place is all sorts of awful. Too bad you ended up there!

      1. Revolving restaurants should really be renamed revolting restaurants. I have yet to hear a review of a decent one.

        2 Replies
        1. re: salsailsa

          The one at the CN Tower gets slammed all the time but when we went there we enjoyed it. It wasn't great but perhaps since we weren't expecting much, we weren't disapointed. Pretty good food with a million dollar view. We had a nice bottle of wine too.

          DT

          1. re: Davwud

            I would agree. I had a nice lunch there last summer. I was quite surprised. Especially when I thought back to a dinner I had several years back. I really think they took it up a significant notch. Keep your expectations low, and you'll be pleasantly surprised (if you have to do the whole touristy/romantic date thing). That, and order the Caesar salad.

            Hilarious review though. Sorry to hear you had a terrible Vday. Sorry, shoulda warned you about Skylon. I had the pleasure of dining there about 4 years back. Never again.

        2. Sorry you had a terrible dinner, I wish we could have warned you ahead of time. I don't know any locals that would consider going there, it's just known for being all around terrible!

          The one positive is the view. If that is what you are looking for, dine somewhere else, then take the elevator up (still a touristy thing to do but if that is what you are here for then why not).

          I hope you don't hold this experience against Niagara, there really are a lot of great places to dine! Unfortunately, especially in NF, there are a lot of tourist traps too.

          2 Replies
          1. re: frais

            Frais----
            Oh have been to Niagara Falls several times, different restaurants
            and this was the FIRST bad experience......

            TorontoFastfoodie---
            NOT sure what RM is??????

            But the space was lovely
            NEW hardwood floors etc
            Just not so good with the way they stuck in extra tables
            those poor poor couples left in the runway of the restaurant
            (seriously they were about 3 inches apart from regular tables)
            BAD CHOICE on the restaurants part

            1. re: NoFixedAddress

              RM= restaurant makeover.

          2. Wasn't that place featured on RM at one point? It was pictured as horrid on the show & I guess some minor renovations have not changed much...And for the record, I do like the CN tower restaurant. I think we are not supposed to like it because it is such a tourist attraction, but it is good food with an incomparable view.

            1 Reply
            1. re: Toronto Fastfoodie

              I think that makeover was at the other tower restaurant at the falls, probably 4 years ago. The place had new owners and almost everything was canned or frozen. I have no idea whether the food is any good there nowadays, but I did look at their menu. While no bargain, it is MUCH cheaper than the Skylon - about $15 - $40 cheaper on similar mains and proportionately cheaper on other courses. Same Falls ;-)

            2. Wow... too bad you had such a terrible night. It seems to me that the more touristy a place is (with a notable view), the greater the chance of getting a bad meal. Now we all know exceptions... but. If you're going for the view, be prepared to be underwhelmed by the food.

              1. Golly! Look how expensive dinner there is! Nuts!

                7 Replies
                1. re: Squeakycheese

                  Squeakycheese........I knowwwwwwwwwwwwwww
                  They have a lot of GUTS to even try to sell food at those prices and not
                  be able to back it up .

                  We ended up going to the Keg in the Embassy Suites building
                  Always good service there and steak hit the spot that night

                  1. re: NoFixedAddress

                    NFA, I have been hosed in similar places in the past... more often that I care to mention... it really seems like robbery! Free market and all that, but it's appalling that some people's ethics don't extend to giving a meal equivalent to the price.. and then giving you hell if you have the temerity to complain!

                    Revolvingdining... substitute a "t" for the "v"!

                  2. re: Squeakycheese

                    Holy cow the veggie plate is $40 for "sauted" veggies!!!

                    1. re: abigllama

                      Well, there are the shipping costs up the elevator to cover.

                      1. re: Pincus

                        Sounds like a horrible experience! My wife and I have made a rule never to go out to dinner on Valentine's Day - too crowded, and too many couples all strungout trying to have a "special night". No, thanks!

                        1. re: Pincus

                          "Well, there are the shipping costs up the elevator to cover."

                          PINCUS.........too funny. I spit out my coffee reading that....hahahaa

                          Well guess this subject has been drained fully
                          Bad experience
                          I won't go back
                          Move on
                          Next plate.............chaaaaaaaaaaa

                          1. re: Pincus

                            You mean the veggies have to buy a ticket to go up in the elevator to be cooked? :)

                      2. The safest bet in Niagara Falls? The Swiss Chalet on Lundy's Lane. Everything else should be avoided.

                        Seriously, what does that city have against decent food?

                        7 Replies
                        1. re: Ron M

                          Not true. Antica pizza is amazing.

                          1. re: Crispy skin

                            We had a great time at Copacabana. That was two years ago though.

                            DT

                            1. re: Crispy skin

                              Crispy skin,

                              Hmmm ... I'm reading quite a few great reviews for Antica so I may have to check this out .

                              http://www.restaurantica.com/on/niaga...

                              Thanks for the recommendation.

                              1. re: Ron M

                                Pizza Antica really is an awesome restaurant. Several times each summer we start off in NOL and bike about 25km to Niagara Falls and eat at this restaurant before we bike back. I love those days.

                                I can never decide between the pizza deluxe and the gnocchi so I always get both followed by the Tiramisu.

                                The prices are really good as well, especially for Niagara Falls, with the pizzas averaging around $11 - $13.

                            2. re: Ron M

                              Good meals can be had in The Falls! Antica has been mentioned, also a Zappi's will deliver you a decent pizza to the room.

                              17 Noir at Fallsview casino is really good. Looking forward to trying the new Italian place Ponte Vecchio that recently opened there. The new martini bar serves tasty, basic tapas plates.

                              Over at Casino Niagara, Lucky's is a decent steak place that has huge portions at a fair price. Also if you gamble join the PAC club which covers both casinos and they'll send you vouchers for excellent discounts on dining.

                              I still can't get over the prices Skylon tries to charge for crap because it's high up. I'd expect to pay a bit more for the view but that's robbery.

                              1. re: abigllama

                                My SO and I actually just got back from a little trip to the falls. You definitely find the best eats at the Fallsview casino.
                                We ate at Ponte Vecchio and it was great. Dessert looked fantastic, but we were so full from generous portions of a really nice Spinach and Ricotta Ravioli in a light tasting, but definitely rich, cream sauce (I know, I'm boring, but I just love anything stuffed with Ricotta) and Osso Bucco on a bed of saffron risotto that there was no way we could fit anything else in. Though I did watch a few other tables in envy of their spiffy looking cannoli and zabaglione dishes. We finished with espresso, which was okay, but could have used a bit more crema. They also brought us Biscotti and some ice-cream truffles as a finishing touch. It was definitely our standout meal at the falls, though we enjoyed the noodle bar in the casino as well.

                                I was pretty sure the RM from a while ago was at the Skylon, so I was fully deterred from eating there. If I remember most of the items were frozen or powdered because the chef was of the (wrong) opinion that you can't get as good a selection of ingredients in Niagara as in "Toronto". Apparently it was also too hard to bring fresh stuff up the elevators. Which is laughable.
                                I'm not against Tower dinners completely, but you do pay more for the view. I've eaten at 360 and was pleasantly surprised. It wasn't amazing, but it was certainly enjoyable and MUCH better than expected. I'd go back if an occasion warranted it.

                                That said, we had one of those package-deal wine tours that usually stops at Queenston Heights for lunch, but since its closed over the winter months they dropped us off the Sheraton near Clifton Hill for their buffet. Terrible. I didn't expect it to be great, but it was horrendous. I couldn't imagine paying the $20/person charge for the food there.

                                That said, I'm so sorry to hear about your terrible time at the Skylon, but at the same time I'm relieved I never bothered. :(

                                1. re: Sevi

                                  Thanks for the heads up on Ponte Vecchio, wil be checking it out next month! Casino sends us these vouchers every month that take $40 off a meal for two at any of the restos. so That turns an evening at PV or 17 Noir into a very reasonable evening if we don't end up throwing too much back at the casino. With the voucher at Lucky's generally just end up paying for just the booze, as the place is super reasonable to being with.

                            3. Why would you expect a place like this to be good? you knew it was a tourist trap and a cheesy one at that!.. just because they charge more for Mcdonalds in theme parks does not mean you get a better big mac.. same can be said for restaurants in tourist craps.. and to top it off you went on the WORST restaurant day of the year Valentines day.. you should have realised when the earliest reservation was 10pm imagine how long that prepped food was sitting around till you got it... lol

                              1 Reply
                              1. re: OnDaGo

                                OnDaGo.....
                                ((((testy testy))))

                                I had faith
                                I wanted to believe it would work out
                                It did not
                                My bad:(

                              2. I am glad that my girlfriend and I did not dine there a few weeks ago. Restaurants are setting themselves up for disaster when they take more bookings than they can handle. The focus should be less covers and focusing on the experience you provide for them. Next year try cooking at home on Valentines day. It's great to avoid all of that hustle and bustle of "gettem in, gettem out" mindsets that managers have.

                                Better luck next time.
                                And if you're ever in Niagara Falls again, check out AG. It doesn't have that million dollar view (its actually in a basement) but the wine list is great food and service is also spectacular.

                                3 Replies
                                1. re: linguini

                                  I thought AG was 'initials' but it is the NAME of the restaurant.......sigh

                                  Googled AG in the falls and found these reviews:
                                  http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant...

                                  UM does AG have a website?
                                  couldn't find anything on it, except it is in zeee basement..

                                  1. re: NoFixedAddress

                                    Yea i found that I couldn't find much on the place either. However I went on a gut feeling and we weren't disappointed with our meals. It was fantastic actually. The only drawback is that the website only offers sample menus from previous menus. I had to actually contact the hotel to get a copy emailed to us. Im actually writing to the Dinning Room manager of AG to update his online menu and wine list. Most of the wines were there but the one I was really psyched to try wasn't (Tawse Echos Red '05).

                                    -----
                                    AG @ The Sterling Inn
                                    5195 Magdalen St, Niagara Falls, ON L2G, CA

                                    1. re: linguini

                                      WOW not bad for a basement....LOL~!