HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Kosher Miso

s
sig Jan 4, 2009 07:46 AM

Looking for a kosher brand of miso paste, for a few recipes. Can anyone lead me to a kosher brand? I am in Toronto and Chicago locations.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. weinstein5 RE: sig Jan 4, 2009 09:28 AM

    I am not sure of the brand but I believe Hungarians in Skokie and Jewel in Evanston both carry kosher MIso -

    1. queenscook RE: sig Jan 4, 2009 10:15 AM

      I've seen Eden brand with a hechsher.

      1. w
        websterhall1994 RE: sig Jan 4, 2009 11:38 AM

        I use a brand called Westbrae Naturals. It has an OU and comes in mild yellow and the stronger types. You can search for their product by zip code at www.westbrae.com

        1. thew RE: sig Jan 4, 2009 11:57 AM

          why would any miso be not kosher? i mean by ingredients and prep, not certification.....

          4 Replies
          1. re: thew
            queenscook RE: thew Jan 4, 2009 12:23 PM

            What most people who keep kosher are concerned with IS certification; many foods--almost all, in fact, other than meat products--are potentially kosher by ingredients. But that fact does little good if you only buy kosher-certified products.

            1. re: queenscook
              thew RE: queenscook Jan 5, 2009 04:49 AM

              i am jewish, but very far from kosher, very very secular in fact, so i admit my ignorance, but -

              just as an apple doesn;t need certification, why would something basically impossible to make un-kosher need the certification? is it just to make sure the factory they are made in does not process both dairy and meat, or something along those line?

              1. re: thew
                c
                craigcep RE: thew Jan 5, 2009 05:54 AM

                An apple doesn't need certification because to make an apple, you go to a tree, pull it off and put it on a truck. Then sell. For processed foods, the kosher certifications confirms that the processing doesn't introduce non-kosher ingredients either through the ingredients or the production facility.

                1. re: thew
                  szmeterling RE: thew Jan 5, 2009 06:31 AM

                  The details and complexities of modern food processing would make your head spin. It is hard to imagine the huge variety of animal derived products that make their way into so very many of the ordinary foods people eat. Not surprisingly, animal derived additives always come from non-kosher sources unless the manufacturer is intent on making its products kosher. And, quite often, these additives do not even have to show up on ingredient lists.

                  There is very little, perhaps no, food produced today that is "basically impossible to make un-kosher".

            2. szmeterling RE: sig Jan 5, 2009 01:36 AM

              In Toronto, I know I have purchased it at Whole Foods and Noah's health foods. Look in any of the organic/health food stores or sections of grocery stores. I suspect the larger Loblaws, which have large special sections for health/organic will carry brands with hasgachah.

              1. p
                psycomp RE: sig Jan 5, 2009 06:25 AM

                It is the opinion of Rabbi Eliezer Eidlitz of KosherQuest.org, that unflavored miso doesn't require a hechsher.

                http://www.kosherquest.org/getfood.ph...

                1. j
                  joshuaresnick RE: sig Mar 5, 2009 08:16 AM

                  Natural Import Company brand miso has certification.

                  Show Hidden Posts