HOME > Chowhound > Hawaii >
Are you making a specialty food?
TELL US

Vegetarian at Hamura's Saimin?

m
mhdousa Dec 30, 2008 03:24 PM

Hi all,

Heading to Maui and Kauai for a week at the end of January. In Kauai, we're staying at the Hyatt, but I was hoping to hit Hamura's Saimin on the way from the airport. However, my wife is vegetarian. Anyone know if they will make a vegetarian version?
Thanks.
-M

  1. c
    curiousgeo Dec 30, 2008 04:14 PM

    Well saimin is basically noodles, soup and some garnishes like chopped green onions, fishcake and char siu (sweet roast pork) or spam. You can easily ask that any meat garnish be left out or just take out what is in the bowl on your own. Won ton min is the same dish with the addition of dumplings with a pork filling, but a vegetarian probably wouldn't order that anyway. You shouldn't have any problems as I imagine they will be very accommodating to your needs.

    1 Reply
    1. re: curiousgeo
      w
      wabi Jan 2, 2009 08:48 PM

      My wife and I go to Hamura's about once a week during the rainy season here.

    2. p
      peppatty Dec 30, 2008 05:19 PM

      The soup is probably not vegetarian.

      1 Reply
      1. re: peppatty
        KaimukiMan Dec 30, 2008 08:46 PM

        yes, the dashi, or broth, is usually not a vegetable base, although traditionally it may be shrimp or other seafood. Depending on what type of vegetarian, that may be acceptable.

      2. m
        mhdousa Dec 31, 2008 04:40 AM

        Great - thank you. I figured the broth wouldn't be vegetarian, but good to know that they might leave out the meat.

        Show Hidden Posts