HOME > Chowhound > Beer >


Beer low in Gluten/Gluten light?

I'm not allergic to gluten but I'm pretty intolerant. I also love beer.

I've noticed that Heineken doesn't (seem to) make me sick. Ironically Michelob Ultra Light, a low carb beer makes me very sick.

What beers might I have luck drinking? Is Amstel basically the same as Heineken?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. Redbridge (made by Anheuser - Busch) contains no wheat or barley. It's made from Sorghum, a grain that is ok for people with an intolerance to wheat or gluten. I have not tried it myself, but I noticed it on a menu the other night (my Mother is allergic, so "gluten free" always stands out to me). Bard's Tale Beer makes something called: Dragon's Gold, and bills itself as "The world's first gluten free craft beer made with sorghum!". Other gluten free beers may be harder to find because they are made in Europe and are difficult to get in the states. Good luck!

    21 Replies
    1. re: bosun

      Harder to find. That is my pint and mean point. LOW GLUTEN should be easier to find. What mainstream beers, like Heineken, seem to be low in gluten.

      1. re: Hershey Bomar

        I looked at your page and I am assuming you live in or near LA. When I did a quick search on the web I easily found places that sell RedBridge. I don't know the area, but maybe one of them is close to you.

        and as for Dragon's Gold, I found these listings:

        I also found this on Heineken's website.
        "Beer contains gluten, which comes from the grain from which it is brewed. Only a fraction of the gluten that the grain contains gets into the beer. The proportion depends on the kind of grain that is used. The use of barley results only in traces of gluten in the beer whilst wheat contributes considerably more. It also depends on the brewing process. Generally speaking: the clearer and blonder the beer is, the less gluten it may contain. Some people are allergic to gluten and have to follow a diet that minimises or excludes their gluten intake. Whether beer can be part of such a diet or not, is dependent on the extent of the allergy and the beer type consumed. In many cases lager beers pose no problem for people who have a gluten allergy. However, it is up to the individual to assess his or her sensitivity."

        1. re: bosun

          I would guess that another issue with most wheat beers is that they are unfiltered ...

        2. re: Hershey Bomar

          I have seen Redbridge and Bard's Tale available at Whole Foods. Actually I noticed that Whole Foods has a whole display specifically for gluten free beers.

          1. re: Foodnerds

            I'm not interested in Gluten Free beer!

            I want info one everyday beer that you have had that gave you no reaction -- low in gluten. The beer companies don't want to say their beers are safe for those of us who are not gluten tolerant, legal reasons perhaps, -- but what do you think?

            I'm wondering, what my question, is what beer I'll find at a party and normal bar that other gluten intolerant people have drunk and had little if no bad reaction to.

            1. re: Hershey Bomar

              I don't see how anyone could answer your question, particularly since no one knows the definition of 'gluten-intolerant', specifically as it pertains to you, and no one knows the gluten content of most beers.

              To my knowledge, Heineken is all-malt, whereas I'm pretty sure Michelob Ultra is made with a portion of rice, and hence should have less gluten. But you experience difficulties when drinking the latter, but not the former.

              It would seem to me that you need to consult a professional who can determine exactly what you have problems consuming, and what you can do about after you've made that determination.

              1. re: Jim Dorsch

                Simple answer. I'm sharing my experiences and was hoping others would share theirs.

                A professional would tell you the following, "Try it and if makes you sick well guess what? If you try it and it doesn't make you sick..."

                Maybe someone else doesn't get sick from Heineken and they have another more common beer suggestion.


                1. re: Hershey Bomar

                  Some people did take the time to share information and you seem to not want it. If you have and intolerance why not try the wheat free beers. People that have special dietary needs have to, at times, go out of their way to make sure those needs are met. Why would you want to risk getting sick at a party anyway? If I was a beer lover that had issues with wheat I'd be dying to run out and try some sorghum beers.
                  It's good you posted, now if anyone wants to GF beer in the LA area they'll know where to go.

                  1. re: bosun

                    I've tried all the GF beers available -- Good God -- I just want to know if anyone has noticed if other beers seem to be low in gluten like Heineken.

                    1. re: Hershey Bomar

                      As I said, I doubt very much that Heineken has a low gluten content. Hence, your question has no answer.

                      1. re: Jim Dorsch


                        It is common among gluten intolerant folks to think that H is low in gluten.

                        From somewhere on the internet:
                        The WHO guideline for gluten-free food is that it must contain less than 0.02% gluten (200mg/l). Heineken's gluten levels are way below this level, at 0.0005% gluten. We recommend that celiac patients check with their doctor before trying Heineken.

                      2. re: Hershey Bomar

                        I'm late to this conversation, but I get what you mean here, HB. To answer you, I find little upset with Red Dog by Plank Road. I'm 'intolerant' and Red Dog seems okay. Had some Hollander 1620 last Sunday: no problems. Good luck,,

                        1. re: wood3

                          I responded to the OP a while back with the attached article/list - pretty much found it for an acquaintance who is gluten-intolerant and a beer lover. I've lost touch with her but at the time was having luck with finding a few on the list. Whole Foods and Beverage Warehouse (in L.A.) were her sources. I drop by one of our local WF on a regular basis because of their huge beer selection, and they do carry a few on this list as well.

                        2. re: Hershey Bomar

                          HI! Same as you I react terribly to Mic Ultra.
                          Bud 55 is the easiest on me and my favorite. I have read that there is virtually no gluten left in bud products after their brewing process.
                          I would try some version of bud light!

                          1. re: janesource

                            Probably because they substitute corn and rice for barley. That's common in the light American styles.

                  2. re: Hershey Bomar

                    There are quite a few posts above with results or advice on low gluten beers. BUT no one really knows unless they are tested - maybe get some tests yourself and test the beers you would like to know about?
                    Also MOST ciders are brewed with fruit no wheat so they are naturally gluten free and most of them say that on the label. Just gotta do your research.

                    My fave is omission pale ale and new planet pale ale! I have a weird situation where I'm not either allergic or gluten intolerant but the more gluten I have the more likely I am to develop celiacs. I have the genetic marker to develop it, but don't have it now, and hopefully never will. Has anyone ever heard of that?

                    1. re: Kloftis

                      Yes Kloftis.....I have heard of your situation not being GI or CD but the more gluten you have the higher chance of developing CD. Sounds like your doctor tested you for the DQ 8 and DQ2 genes....if you posses both you will almost certainly develop CD. I tested positive on DQ8 which gives me a 1 in 80 chance of developing CD. ....however I also texted with a level 2 intolerance to gluten per Genova Diagnostics IgG test ....I had a lot of stomach issues and thought it was my milk allergy acting up! However. My hubs has the DQ2 gene which gives him a 1 in 34 chance of Dev.oping CD....though head no reaction on the IgG food allergy test for gluten!! Since going GF I've had no stomach problems and I enjoy Omossion beer and now I'm trying Corona given previous posts. My husband has really cutback in his gluten consumption but that is probably because I don't buy things with gluten. We are now testing all 3 kids as one of them may have inherited both DQ8 and DQ2 genes. Read Wheat Belly and Grain Brain and everyone will want to give up or reduce gluten

                    2. re: Hershey Bomar

                      Hershey have you looked at corona extra, model, holsten pills. All below 20 ppm

                  3. re: Hershey Bomar

                    My wife cannot tolerate gluten any longer. Went on a gluten free diet 9 months ago and now her body whole heartedly rejects it. She too is a beer lover and hates paying the premium $ for gluten free labels (plus they have higher calories). She wants something mainstream readily available wherever she goes and she found COORS LIGHT to be perfect for her. She's had a few occasions having several of them in a sitting with no ill effects (besides a small hangover). Also Corona was good for her. Bud Light was not, neither was Mill Chill. We are in Canada. Hope this helps readers.

                    1. re: Ktownjimmy

                      I am also from Canada and a great beer lover. I also go to Florida for he summer so I have tried many beers. I have always had loose stools but, never thought it was my beer. I have began drinking Labatt's Blue Light and can not believe how it has changed my bowel movements for the good. Sorry for being so forward but, I hope it helps.

                  4. re: bosun

                    I have an intolerance to Gluten and I have tried "Redbridge" and I really like it. I just wish more places carried it, I will also give "Dragon's Gold" a try!

                  5. This probably isn't what you specifically want, but here's an article I found about a year ago for an acquaintance of mine who recently developed an intolerance to gluten but loved beer as well. She was very satisfied with the beers that she could find and seriously appreciative of this article - kept her in the beer loop...


                    16 Replies
                      1. re: Hershey Bomar

                        If you are gluten-intolerant or allergic to wheat there are no SAFE alternatives. Aside from New Grist, Redbridge, Dragon's Gold, Ramapo Valley Honey Lager, and hard ciders, all mainstream beers contain wheat, barley, or rye. I used to love micro brews so finding out that I was gluten intolerant was a big shock. In the past I have drank Heineken without any problems along with Amstel Light although they are not technically gluten free as they do contain some malted barley. All other mainstream or micro brews made me ill.

                        1. re: Sterndogg

                          Finally! So for some reason Heineken seems OK for some gluten sensitive people to drink. Which means when you can't find a Whole Foods you can still drink a beer.

                          1. re: Hershey Bomar

                            Ha well I wouldn't advise pounding a 12-pack in one sitting but when I can't find GF brew or ciders and don't feel like wine or hard booze, I will drink a Heineken or an Amstel Light in moderation.

                            1. re: Sterndogg

                              How sure are you that hard cider is GF? There's no wheat used in the fermentation process?

                              1. re: Hershey Bomar

                                You're close to describing the Belgian lambics, which are basically a combination of beer and fruit - you should stay away from these. But as far as I know, hard ciders are just that - ciders. Aside from some yeast and (some add) seasonings, you're getting straight fermented juice.

                                  1. re: bulavinaka

                                    Jim's right, lambics are not fruit beers, what makes a lambic is wild yeast in a very specific region of Belgium. When fruit is added to a lambic you end up with a kriek(cherries), framboise(raspberry), etc. I would guess a gluten intolerant person would need to stay away from lambics and anything made from a lambic.

                                    1. re: Foodnerds

                                      Sorry about that, Jim and Foodnerds - the only lambics I've tried are the kriek, framboise and peche. I didn't realize it was only one subset of this whole category. Still, I stand firm on this not being what the OP should consider. Barley and wheat are the standard grains used, right?

                                      1. re: Hershey Bomar

                                        Yeast, as in Fungi.

                                        "Yeasts are a growth form of eukaryotic microorganisms classified in the kingdom Fungi, with about 1,500 species described;[1] they dominate fungal diversity in the oceans.[2] Most reproduce asexually by budding, although a few do by binary fission. Yeasts are unicellular, although some species with yeast forms may become multicellular through the formation of a string of connected budding cells known as pseudohyphae, or false hyphae as seen in most molds.[3] Yeast size can vary greatly depending on the species, typically measuring 3–4 µm in diameter, although some yeasts can reach over 40 µm.[4]
                                        The yeast species Saccharomyces cerevisiae has been used in baking and fermenting alcoholic beverages for thousands of years. It is also extremely important as a model organism in modern cell biology research, and is the most "
                                        Thank you, wikipedia.

                                    2. re: Hershey Bomar

                                      The only cider that isn't gluten-free is Hornby's. All other ciders are gluten free including Strongbow, Ciderjack, Harpoon, Woodchuck, Magner's, Woodpecker...yeast is used for the fermentation process. No wheat, barley, rye or oats.

                                  2. re: Hershey Bomar

                                    I'm gluten intolerant but Heineken, Newcastle are real no-gos for me......I found that the darker malt beers like Bocks and Porters doesn't affect me as much. Too bad because those two were my favorites.

                                    1. re: TInhorn

                                      The choices in gluten-free beers do seem to be expanding. Here's a story that just came out from the Brewers Assn, too.


                                1. re: Hershey Bomar

                                  Coors light and corona the best options in my experience. I'm also gluten intolerant. Before having to make the change I really didn't like either if these beers but it's better than no beer

                              2. According to info on the Heineken website, beers with barley instead of wheat seem to be BETTER tolerated. German "beers" by German law only contain 4 ingredients: water, hops, yeast, and barley. If you go by this way of thinking any German "beer" i.e. Becks, St. Pauli Girl, Paulaner, Spaten, etc. should be better than beer containing wheat. Some German beer companies make brews called hefeiweizen (sp?) which contain wheat so steer clear of those. They are clearly labeled hefeiweizen. I had some problems after drinking Amstel Light but that could be attributed to small amounts of wheat I had that day. Here is the link for Heineken's FAQ page:

                                1. I have not seen Estrella Damm Daura mentioned. It's honestly not bad. Kinda refreshing actually.

                                  I believe the label says it contains a very small percent of gluten.

                                  "Gluten free. Formerly known as Estrella Damm Apta Para Celíacos
                                  A version of the Estrella Damm brand brewed for people with the coeliac disease.

                                  3 Replies
                                  1. re: Little T.

                                    Estrella Damm Daura It's a good beer and about as close as your going to get as far as gluten free in beer. Pricey for a 4 pack. Omission light lager is also a fav. I'm just wheat intolerant not Celiac. Just want a good brew that is session beer and wheat free. Google it and you always come up with gluten free which is not what I am wanting. It's the wheat.


                                    1. re: rwhunter13

                                      Lots of beers are made w/o wheat, but you can't always tell which ones from the labeling. Craft brewers often add a portion of wheat for head retention.

                                      1. re: Jim Dorsch

                                        I like to drink low alcohol session beer. To cut down on wheat, gluten and calories. I will take one bottle of Flying Dog's Easy IPA which is not gluten free but an american pale IPA and pour a 1/4 into an Omission low Gluten free lager that brings a little citrus hop and flavor to it that is not overbearing and low in alcohol content . Takes 3 bottles of omission to finish Easy IPA total of 4 beers. If all this makes sense. Sound like the mad scientist. Try to be a bit creative in my drinking beer in a controlled responsible fashion but add some flavor and has that real beer taste. If I don't want to mess around I just get a sixer of Coors Light.

                                        The lager is the yellow pack .The blue is a pale and they have a green IPA.

                                  2. I want to be able to drink mainstream beer too. Heineken state that its beer actually contains less than 0.0005% but still recommend that Coeliac patients seek advice from their doctor prior to consumption. http://www.jazdnightclubandbar.com/ta... I've been drinking it in moderation without adverse affects.

                                    1. Hershey I will take a stab at this. First I am celiac and have been for decades and I do drink Heineken. Not sure why Mich light gives you a problem but Stella and Fosters do affect me. My decision is based on a few things - European lagers tend to be very low in gluten and although not gluten free, I can tolerate them very well. Any beer I have has to be clear - not cloudy or dark. I avoid, obviously, wheat beers, honey beers, winter beers etc. and most craft/small brewery beers (though Ido drink some of those). Bottom line could be trial and error but Harp, Heineken, reg Bud (which was sold in ENgland as ok for celiacs in the 90's) may work for you. I hope this helps - I do drink Redbridge though and detest Grist or whatever the other one is!

                                      1. if you like hard cider, a lot of the crispin varities are gluten-free, and delicious

                                        8 Replies
                                        1. re: jamieeats

                                          Any _honest_ cider should be gluten free. If they have any malt ingredients added it may be a problem, but cider should be made from _apples_ and sometimes some sugar. A traditional _dry_ cider can be a very refreshing and satisfying beer substitute.

                                          1. re: The Professor

                                            Things may have changed, as evidenced by Harpoon and Hardcore ciders, but it used to be that breweries would have to add malt to cider to make it legal with their licensing. I can't recall any ciders that include malt these days.

                                            I do believe the Crispin has one out now made with sake yeast (koji too? not sure), and that one may include rice.

                                            1. re: Jim Dorsch

                                              they do have one made with sake yeast. i tried it the other night, and while it had an interesting flavor and is definitely worth trying, i don't like it quite as much as some of the other varieties. the landsdowne is my favorite so far, and the saint is nice but very sweet.

                                              1. re: jamieeats

                                                Here it is: http://www.crispincider.com/cider/pro...

                                                Made with gluten-free rice syrup. Does any rice contain gluten?

                                          2. re: jamieeats

                                            Best wheat free /gluten free beer
                                            i have tasted is widmer's o'mission...pale and lager.


                                              1. re: rwhunter13

                                                I liked the pale a lot, but the lager was pretty bad. Estrella's Daura is a much better GF lager, IMO.

                                                1. re: Josh

                                                  There is a wheat free popularity out there in your diet that really makes one feel and look better. O'Reilly spoke of this on his show as tip of the day and suggested book wheat belly diet. It has worked for me and the gluten free beers incorporates well into being wheat free. Estrella and Omission pale and lager my favorites.


                                            1. Beck's beer is not brewed with any wheat. Regular Beck's beer in a bottle is the only beer I can tolerate. However, beware of "Beck's Octoberfest" beer! It is like eating a loaf of fresh bread. If you stick to the regular old Beck's beer in the green bottle and the silver label on the neck if you can handle Heineken you should probably be okay. I hope this helps.

                                              3 Replies
                                              1. re: jdo99

                                                Most beers in the style of Beck's have no wheat in them.

                                                1. re: Jim Dorsch

                                                  Exactly! Also, barley (the main ingredient in beer) contains gluten.
                                                  If you found a 'regular' beer that doesn't make you sick, stick with it. Other than that, you'd have to try a sorghum beer or the like.

                                                2. re: jdo99

                                                  Becks is brewed with barley malt, which does contain gluten.

                                                3. I have the same problem. I'm not exactly Celiacs, but have a low tolerance for gluten. For instance, Bread and pasta make me break out in a rash and have some gastro-intestinal issues, but some more processed forms of gluten seem to be ok in moderation.

                                                  That said, I've found that the more delicious beers affect me if I have more than one or two within a few day span (Sam Adams, Harpoon, imports, etc.).

                                                  Through experimentation, I've found that Miller, Budweiser and Guinness are much more tolerable to me than the craft or import beers. I presume that light beers would be tolerable as well, but like the gluten-free beers available, I just don't enjoy the flavor of light beer.

                                                  Hope that helps!

                                                  1. Haven't tried it, but Dogfish Head now makes a gluten-free beer that might be another viable option for celiac beer-drinkers.


                                                    1. Okay so it's high time that I share some findings in this regard. First off I was diagnosed several years ago as gluten-intolerant by my doctor. Since the diagnosis I have stopped eating gluten-containing foods without exception. I can say anecdotaly that I seem to have benefited from a GF diet in multiple ways including skin issues that cleared up and never retured, mouth bleeding that cleared up and never returned (I know that's gross) and lactose intolerance which subsided after aboutt 6 months GF and now years later I can chug milk with no ill effects.

                                                      I don't mean to bore everyone with my background but it seemed necessary in order to give everyone a reference with respect to my gluten abstinence. So the topic at hand is beer something that I gave up along with a lot of my favorite foods when I went GF. I should say that I didn't exactly give up beer I began drinking the sorghum-based alternatives which vary from tolerable to crap. Redbridge fell into the latter category - some that qualified to be in the first category were New Grist, New Planet and St. Peters. Since none of these beers really satisfied my beer cravings I started making my own beers from sorghum and buckwheat. They fell into the tolerable category but again they had the strange aftertaste that you'll be familiar with if you've tried the alternative beers (I'll spare you the chemistry at play but suffice it to say that there is simply no grain/pseudo-grain that comes even close to comparing with barley's enzymatic activity and endosperm structure which is largely what is responsible for creating malt beer). About 6 months ago I read about a Spanish beer called Daura which is labeled GF but made with malted barley. This got me wondering. There was always some debate about the survivability of the gluten protein in regard to the brewing process. Of course the beer manufacturers seem to avoid the question and who can blame them since they already have enough liability with their product as it contains a mind altering substance. So taking on another liability by making claims in regard to allergens (yes I know Celiac's/GI is not an allergy) is probably the last thing that they want to do.

                                                      Okay so I thought since the beer companies are avoiding the issue I wonder if I could send in some beer samples to a lab and get them tested. I figured that it might cost me a little bit of money but if it wasn't cost prohibitive then it would be worth it to know. Enter Glutentox. You can now buy test kits online (brandname Glutentox) that are able to test for the presence of gluten in food down to 5 PPM. To put that in perspective a food can be labeled Gluten Free as long as it does not test over 20 PPM.

                                                      So of course I had to try this out. I bought a pack of test kits and when the package arrived I immediately started testing stuff (well, beer). I started with my favorite beer (Stone's IPA). I wanted to eliminate ambiguity as much as possible so I decided that I would test a 5 PPM for each of my tests (BTW, the test is kind of like a home pregnancy test - takes about 15 minutes and you get a little indicator stick that tells you the result). So what was the result? Negative. I was elated! So I then tested a staple beer for many - Corona. Negative. Kirin Ichiban - Negative. My brother's homebrew Bock beer with a 20% wheat grain bill - Negative. I was quite honestly a bit surprised but an analysis of the facts makes these findings far less surprising. I'll finish up this post with that analysis but if you want to skip the boring science stuff then you can stop here and go crack open a cold one because it is in all likelihood GF (disclaimer: I have so far only tested the aforementioned beers AND although I am confident that I performed the tests correctly (I have science background) limits of the test/substance/other_error could have produced inaccruate results).

                                                      Okay so why does beer not have gluten in it considering it is made from a gluten-containing grain? I believe the answer is two fold. The first thing to remember is that among the three gluten containing grains (wheat, barley and rye) wheat contains overwhelming more gluten than either barley or rye. There are many abtracts online that detail this quantitative difference which has been estimated to be as much as a factor of 100, i.e. wheat can contain 100 times more gluten, by mass, than barley/rye (note: there seems to be a consensus that rye contains the least amount of gluten with barley coming in second but still a distant second to wheat). Nevertheless barley does indeed contain gluten. So why might that gluten not survive the trip from grain to bottle? The answer to this requires a little bit of brewing knowledge. The first thing that you need to know is that the brewing process begins with malting the grain. Many health food stores these days will have sprouted grains (e.g. buckwheat). This is essentially what malting is. The barley is allowed to begin growing or sprouting acrospires which begins enzymatic changes that would allow a new barley plant to break down the endosperm to temporarilly use as food while it grows. This process is short circuited, i.e. they do not allow the barley to turn into a plant, the acrospires are removed and the barley then entires the kilning process having been allowed to release (more accurately to change from insoluable to soluable) amolytic enzymes that can convert starches into sugars. At this point it is possible that some of the proteins, including the gluten proteins, that were contained in the endosperm were devoured by the malting process (remember that if the malting process were allowed to continue unabated then the barley would turn into a new barley plant having consumed/repurposed most if not all of the nutrients in the barley endosperm including the gluten). So right at step one of the brewing process the total amount of gluten may have been reduced. Now on to the kilning process. The barley having been malted is now kilned at various temperatures allowing the starches to be converted into sugars. But remember that temperature is one of nature's primary protein destroyers. Heat denatures proteins pulling apart the folded structure and breaking the amino acid chains. This is strike two for gluten. How much gluten is destroyed in this kilning process is going to depend on the kilning temperature and several other factors but it is reasonable to say that some amount of gluten will be denatured during the kilning process. Now on to the final stages of brewing. This will begin with mashing the malted/kilned barley (skipped if already an extract but to make the extract this step had to be done) which is a process of passing hot (about 65 degrees) water over the barley extracting the sugars into what is called the wort. At this point the same temperature issue is at play and although some of the proteins will be pulled into the wort during this mashing process others will be denatured. Once the mashing is finished the wort is then boiled for a period of time where hops (almost always hops although other bittering agents can be used) is added to the wort. This is a long hard boil. What's more is that most commercial brewera have dropped the Ph at this point to about 5.6 making the wort acidic which is more ideal for amolytic conversion of starch to sugar but less ideal for proteins. This is strike three for gluten. Not only does it finish off with a long boil (usually about an hour) but it does it in an acidic bath. When you combine these facts, i.e. the lesser amount of gluten in barley as well as the gluten-destroying process that brewing requires, it is not that surprising that beer may indeed be gluten-free despite the fact that it uses gluten containing ingredients.

                                                      That said if you have Celiac's disease you will want to be cautious as always although if you are going to the store picking up foods with that fun little "g" label on them they can contain up to 20 PPM of gluten. The tests that I've done suggest that beer does not even reach the 5 PPM threshold.

                                                      One final though, it seems that so much of the data in regard to gluten is anecdotal, i.e. I ate this or I drank that and I felt bad. This kind of data is unscientific. I always encourage people to do their own research but try to remain objective and above all scientific. My conclusion at this point is that the evidence that I have gathered strongly indicates that most beers, especially those made purely from malted barley, contain effectively no remaining gluten. I now enjoy a few cold ones on a regular basis and anectdotally I have experienced absolutely no ill-effects =). Hope this information is useful.


                                                      28 Replies
                                                      1. re: mashtun

                                                        Your post prompted me to contact some brewers in the academic world. I received two papers from Charles Bamforth at UC Davis. He seems to confirm what you say about gluten concentrations in conventional beers. It comes down to individual sensitivity, of course. I note that you are gluten-intolerant, which I suppose differs from the condition of someone with Celiac disease, for example.

                                                        1. re: Jim Dorsch

                                                          It is certainly the case that individual sensitivity will vary. Gluten reactions fall along a continuum with those at the highly reactive side experiencing acute symptoms at low dosages and those at the other end seeing little to no reaction a high dosages (the NIH has a nice archive of scholarly work done on the reactions to varying levels of gluten both in those diagnosed and the general population). However, I do want to encourage some skepticism amongst the GF community, both for the gluten-intolerant as well as the Celiacs, with respect to foods they deem safe and those that they don't. Beer seems to be a poster child for this notion since there is a wide acceptance that since beer begins with barley it necessarily contains gluten in the finished product, not on its face an illogical conclusion but one that benefits from some skepticism. Conversely, as you pointed out, sensitivity varies widely (see http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17...) and thus some foods labeled gluten-free may not be safe for certain patients despite a wide acceptance that foods labeled gluten-free should be safe for all people.

                                                          1. re: mashtun

                                                            Dr Michael Lewis at UC Davis kindly responded to my request for information. Dr Lewis is a brewing expert, and has celiac disease. I will summarize a few of his points.

                                                            Barley contains no gluten, but does contain proteins in the same family. These can cause haze in beer, and so the brewer will typically want to eliminate them in any case. In fact, much of the brewing process is meant to reduce beer's protein component. Furthermore, a beer mash greatly dilutes the protein..

                                                            Dr Lewis mentions that American light lagers further dilute the protein component through the use of corn and rice adjuncts. He also points out that American craft beers can pose problems for celiacs because you never know who's adding some wheat malt to their beer.

                                                            1. re: Jim Dorsch

                                                              Great post Jim - thanks for the clarification.

                                                        2. re: mashtun

                                                          Mashtun - that is a great post! I have also found that some web sites post the gluten on them as well - Heineken does somewhere but I cannot find it. I use the same rationale - but not tested - with using ketchup - this contains malt vingar, but again the amount from the barley is small, the amount I use in a recipe dilutes it further, and the serving size again dilutes.
                                                          From a dietician's point of view, they would not sanctify anything that had a gluten product in the original ingredients. There is also a controversy starting with a few breweries that have/or are developing some new gluten free beers - the purists will not allow the GF label is they use a product containing gluten; the brewers maintain that the gluten is below internationally established line and thus should be labelled GF. And of course too many of any beer, gluten free or low gluten can also give you a reaction that is nothing to do with gluten at all!!

                                                          1. re: katycopsey

                                                            Yeah I think that you're taking a reasonable approach. There's a saying in the medical field, "the solution to polution is dilution". The idea being that the bolus (dosage) matters significantly and that there tends to be a lower bound for toxins/allergens/etc. at which point harmful effects are difficult to quantify if they even exist at all. That said the lower bound can vary by individual.

                                                          2. re: mashtun

                                                            Thank you for the very detailed post!

                                                            My wife is gluten intolerant, and she's been really sad about not being able to drink beer. This will be very good news to her, since she's only been drinking Estrella Daura lately.

                                                            1. re: Josh

                                                              The one concern I thought about afterwards was the statement that barley is gluten free. As far as I know, oats has been taken of the gluten grain list but not barley. Is this similar non gluten protein in barley a new research area? Barley flavoring is the part of cereals that General Mills is removing to make them gf so from that I assumed that barley is still a problem regarless of the name of the protein.

                                                              1. re: katycopsey

                                                                Nobody said anything about barley being gluten free. What was said was that wheat can have 100x more gluten than barley, and that the malting process will result in some percentage of gluten being destroyed by enzymatic activity, with the heat from the kilning process and the boil also contributing to gluten destruction.

                                                                1. re: Josh

                                                                  'Dr Michael Lewis at UC Davis kindly responded to my request for information. Dr Lewis is a brewing expert, and has celiac disease. I will summarize a few of his points.

                                                                  Barley contains no gluten, but does contain proteins in the same family'

                                                                  But I do agree with the boiling and distallation of the heavy proteins such as gluten minimizes the amount and probably does change the form.

                                                                  This was the statement from the original post that I noted.

                                                                  1. re: katycopsey

                                                                    Right, so I've been meaning to reply to this. Yes Barley does contain gluten (information on this is so adundant that providing documentation does not seem necessary). The question is not "Does Barley contain gluten?" but "Does the finished product that is beer contain gluten?". The later question is more difficult to answer. Many aspects come into play here some of which I described above. Other factors that come into play that I did not mention include what kind of "denaturing" happens during the brewing process (i.e. is gluten affected at the primary, secondary or tertiary structural lvl), what is the primary pathogenesis of gluten intolerance and Celiac disease and are they the same (arguably not known with a high enough degree of specificity) and to what degree do variances in the brewing process affect the the resulting lvls of gluten? Some information on brewing processes to reduce the aformentioned "chill haze", which is is commonly caused by proteins (note: another common cause, especially in gluten free beers due to limited enzymatic activity (especially limit dextrinase), is unfermented dextrins), is described here http://www.regional.org.au/au/abts/19... . To be sure more research is needed regarding pathogenesis. With Celiac disease we do know that if it was possible to denature gluten such that the patient would not produce an immunological reaction then the protein would have to be "destroyed" in such a way that would prevent tissue transglutaminase - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tissue_t... . Assuming that the same mechanism is at play with non-celiac gluten intolerance (I suspect it is though this is another issue that requires further research) then the same rule would apply for those diagnosed with GI. The jury is still out on a lot of this stuff and I suspect that the answers are going to be more complicated and nuanced than most will want to accept (enter one of my favorite sayings: "the plain and simple truth is that the truth is rarely plain and never simple"). Bottom line: beer may or may not contain gluten that gluten intolerant folks and or celiacs will react to but spoon fulls of raw barley would be ill advised for either category.


                                                            2. re: mashtun

                                                              Alright, so I recently acquired some exciting new data and I felt obliged to post it. I had my first beer test positive for gluten. I'll spare you the backstory but suffice it to say that recently my refrigerator contained a sparkling array of beer bottle singletons that my wife and I were eagerly sorting through to find our favorite. I happened upon one - Lost Coast's Great White Ale - that showed the ingredient profile as containing unmalted wheat. When I read that it contained unmalted wheat I new that I had to test the beer for gluten since as mentioned in my original post I have yet to test a beer that threw a postitive result for gluten even ones that have wheat as part of their grain bill. In any case, I ran the test and sure enough there was a bright organge line indicating that the beer contained gluten! This provided two crucial peices of information 1. The tests are most likely working as designed and probably within specified thresholds 2. The malting process may be the key in reducing/elimiating gluten from beer. This was always a huge question mark for me, i.e. how much gluten is consumed by the endosperm trying to grow into a new plant (a potentially tedious process to determine empirically)? This is the first peice of evidence that I have that suggests that malting may be a significant factor (perhaps even the princiapl one) in destroying gluten during the brewing process.

                                                              Unfortunately (that's not true I like to be busy), it's a particularly busy time of year for me so I don't have the time to run some more detailed experiments in this regard but I plan to do just that when I have more time. In the meantime I'd say that this generally supports the arguments that I described earlier regarding the potential desstruction of gluten during the brewing process and if nothing else it gives you the name of one beer that you should probably avoid (sorry Lost Coast - I'm sure you're a wonderful brewery).


                                                              1. re: mashtun

                                                                Lost Coast's Great White is misnamed. You missed nothing.


                                                                1. re: mashtun

                                                                  Your posts have been so interesting and helpful. Seriously thank you for taking the time to write all this out and do some testing!! I don't mind gluten free beers but have been pretty sad about no bein able to have and try so many great beers. My husband and I really enjoy trying different brews and I'm excited to do that gain. I may get one of theses tests myself and if I do will post my results as well!

                                                                2. re: mashtun

                                                                  mashtun, thanks for the great post. This is exactly what I have been looking for. I have amsymptomatic Celiac disease meaning I don't have any acute reaction to gluten but the doctor who looked at my small intestine said it was category 4 (the worst). So I have been eliminating gluten from my diet for a year now and wondering how much gluten does beer really have. Estrella Daura is brewed with barley and has less than 6 ppm acording to the label on the bottle because of their "special" process. So I always wondered why can't a main stream beer brewed with barley do the same thing? You have answered my quesiton in that they probably already are doing it. Estrella Daura has done the testing and can make the claim. What don't other beer manufacurers do the same thing? Many are probably less than 5 ppm and could make the same claim as Estrella.

                                                                  1. re: dhenley92

                                                                    I have some new info to add here. I ordered some of the Glutentox test kits that mashtun had used and did some of my own testing (less than 5 ppm level) on beer from a local Calgary Alberta Canada brewery (Big Rock). I tested Traditional - english-style brown ale brewed with pale and black malts and three kinds of hops. Result: Negative! Yes! Then I tested their wheat ale called Grasshopper (three types of pale and wheat malts). Result - Postive! I kind of expected this although mashtun said he tested other wheat ale negative.It was interesting to get one of each to add confidence that I was doing it correctly. Big Rock Traditional is one of my favorite beers to I am happy to see it was negative for gluten. The testing kits are easy to use but not cheap (about $20 per test when you include tax and shipping) but worth it if it lets you drink your favoritie beer.

                                                                  2. re: mashtun

                                                                    Mashtun, Great news about Stone IPA! Have you tested any of Stone's other brews? I live in SD and would love to know I can join my friends on their next trip out there.

                                                                    1. re: auntielo

                                                                      Haven't tested any other Stone beers but you can be virtually gauranteed that Ruination should be clean. I want to test their smoked porter and Arogant Bastard which are the two, if any, that I suspect could throw a positive (but I doubt they will). Since this thread is becoming a repository for test results I figured I'd bust out my last remaining test kit and test one of the beers that I have on tap right now - Pacifico. As I suspected it tested negative at 5PPM with GlutenTox. I'm going to get more test kits soon and test some more beers focusing mainly on my malting theory. My hope is that if I can confirm the theory then I should be able to ascertain which beers contain gluten based solely on their grain bill (assuming the brewery makes it available which is becoming increasingly popular)

                                                                      Some of the results that have been posted are indeed surprising - Bud Light, Molson Canadian, Stella Artois, Michelob Ultra and Miller Lite. Not to point the crooked finger at anyone but all of those results came from a single poster and I just have to wonder if they followed the right procedures or if the EZ Gluten test is producing different results than GlutenTox (a possible confounding factor). I will probably choose one of those 5 on my next test kit and test it myself. If those 5 are indeed Gluten-containing beers then it becomes a bit more difficult to guess the "safe" beers. One theory on those light beers is that they're using unmalted "steeping" grains in order to impart a grain-like taste to the beer without adding much if any calories. During the steeping it may dumping a detectable amount of gluten into the wort. They would then ferment a combo of adjuncts and malt. In any case, sounds like a good excuse to stay away from light beers. =) I'll continue to post any results that I get for commercially available beers. Cheers!

                                                                      1. re: mashtun

                                                                        I tested two more beers with the EZ Gluten kit (10 ppm sensitivity). Corona was tested negative as expected as all anecdotal information I have heard about Corona is that celiacs can drink it without problem. I also test Kokanee (brewed in Creston, BC, Canada) and unfortunately for me, it tested positive.
                                                                        I'd like to test Budweiser and maybe Rickards Red (by Molson) with my last two kits. Heiniken is also another one I am curious about as some reports have said it is friendly to the glutarded. :-)

                                                                        1. re: dhenley92

                                                                          Is it possible that a name brand beer brewed in one location that tested negative might be positive when brewed at another location?

                                                                          1. re: BluPlateSpec

                                                                            The consistency of the brew process can vary, especially with the microbrews. This is why I would like to determine the process that is transforming a gluten containing grain into a non-gluten containing food product. Once this is solved then predicting "safe" beers would become much easier. I will post any progress that I make in this regard.

                                                                          2. re: dhenley92

                                                                            dhenley92- Did you test Corona or Corona Light? Also, did you ever end up testing Heiniken?

                                                                            1. re: raiderpud09

                                                                              I tested Corona, not Corona Light. I have not tested Heineken yet. I tested Corona on two separate occasions and both were negative. I've just ordered another 10 GlutenTox Home kits and the first test will be Heineken.
                                                                              As an aside, I have tried both the EZGluten test strips and the GlutenTox Home kits and I found GlutenTox strips to be much easier to read.

                                                                          3. re: mashtun

                                                                            That poster would be me. I followed the directions of the EZ Gluten test to a T. If you don't want to believe them, then by all means, spend the money and test them yourself with the GlutenTox kits. It'd be interesting to see what different test kits yield. All I wanted to do was share my results so others can make informed decisions. Since avoiding those beers I tested, I don't get reactions.

                                                                            1. re: kkratz57

                                                                              I'm not trying to offend anyone here. I'm simply trying to suggest that we contrast our test results. You're a good example since you've posted several test results which would allow someone that is interested in drinking one of the beers that you've tested to utilize perhaps only one test kit on one of the beers that you posted in order to provide verification. Some people may not find this necessary. For my part I'm more interested in verifying that the two test kits are producing the same results. The reliability of the test kits represents a "black box" issue with this whole exercise. So I'd like to gather as much "calibration" data as possible. Cheers!

                                                                        2. re: mashtun

                                                                          Thank you so much for posting this! I have recently begun to suspect that I am gluten and/or wheat intolerant as certain foods, particularly flour, manifest with strange side effects affecting me neurologically and physically. But I also noticed that many beers didn't seem to affect me in the same way if at all...

                                                                          I think this article makes a lot of sense and since I am not full-blown Celiac (I don't think anyway) I am excited at the notion that I may be able to continue drinking many of my favorite beers! It's been hard enough giving up bread and pasta and the thought of giving up beer as well was almost too much to handle. So stoked that I found this article, and being a bartender, I also appreciate the Brewing 101 education haha! Cheers!

                                                                          1. re: mashtun

                                                                            I read somewhere that the tests for 'wheat-gluten' are different than the tests for 'barley-gluten'. Is this true? Could this be why some of the beers you're testing are showing less than 5 ppm gluten (because it isn't testing for 'barley-gluten'?)?

                                                                            I was so excited when I read this thread yesterday - I went home and had a tall glass of Heineken (500 ml) and then had an awful time sleeping. I'm an actual diagnosed celiac though so perhaps that's why Heineken affected me so.

                                                                            1. re: mashtun

                                                                              Mashtun, I thought i would post a reply to this as the beer question is still a disputed subject. I am in my mid 60's and recently diagnosed. I love beer and have been searching the internet for information. My most obvious symptom is mental fog and fatigue, though my digestion is horrible. A few German beers in an evening give me no obvious symptoms, but I am concerned about my small intestine so am being careful

                                                                              After some reading I got EZ Gluten strips and started doing tests. St. Pauli and Steinlager tested negative while Batch 19, a new beer from Coors, and a favorite of mine, tested positive.

                                                                              I recently found this article on Ultimate Gluten Free that calls into question the accuracy of tests on beer.


                                                                              As your posts include other scientific sources, I find it all very confusing. I thought you would find this discussion interesting, but inconclusive. Note that in one of my replies I quoted an email from Laura at EZ Gluten. She says they are comparing their results with mass spectrometry tests. Go figure....

                                                                            2. I am wheat intolerant, but am not celiac or glutarded. I find that I can tolerate the following beers:

                                                                              Corona (or most Mexican beer which are barley, I drink Pacifico)
                                                                              Budweiser (rice beer)

                                                                              7 Replies
                                                                              1. re: Skullywag

                                                                                > Corona or most Mexican beer which are barley...
                                                                                > Budweiser (rice beer)

                                                                                Corona and most other Mexican beers are brewed using barley malt and corn - as are many US of the same style > "light lagers".

                                                                                Budweiser is brewed with barley malt and rice - the same style beer as above, just using rice in place of corn. It's still primarily barley malt. Most such beers are usually 60-70% malt and 30-40% adjunct, but the cheaper brands can get close to 50-50.

                                                                                Many imported beers are "all malt" - no corn or rice- just barley malt. Very few lager beers use wheat as brewing adjunct (tho' the common label term "cereal grains" isn't much help). Most beers that do use wheat are going to be labeled as such - "Wheat Beer", "Weisse" "Weizen" "Wit" etc. The other major exceptions are some rarer German and Belgian styles like Gose and Lambic.

                                                                                1. re: JessKidden

                                                                                  Dr Lewis of UC Davis mentioned to me that he's careful about consuming craft beers because many contain wheat, which I suppose is used to aid head retention, among other things.

                                                                                    1. re: cwdonald

                                                                                      I don't have to consider it. I'm not gluten-intolerant.

                                                                                2. re: Skullywag

                                                                                  Just got a response back from the Labatt Breweries of Canada regarding which of their beers contain wheat...

                                                                                  "Keith’s products and Labatt brands do not contain wheat, nor does brands such as Budweiser, Bud Light, Bud Light Lime, Michelob Ultra and Busch. Shock Top beers as well as Hoegaarden do contain wheat and are appropriately labeled. Wheat-containing beers will be branded as such.

                                                                                  Labatt has always declared the presence of wheat in its brands by clear branding on principle display panels and now by addition of a contains statement. Labatt is sensitive to food safety and all Canadian breweries are HACCP accredited. Labatt breweries were the first breweries to be HACCP accredited in North America and Anheuser-Busch InBev is the global food safety leader in the beer industry."

                                                                                  1. re: Skullywag

                                                                                    This has all been really helpful information. I was recently diagnosed with a "sensitivity" to gluten, which is disappointing since I was just starting to really enjoy drinking beer.

                                                                                    Does anyone know (or know where I can find) the ppm of more mainstream beer, like Bud Light, Mich Ultra, Miller Light, etc.?

                                                                                    According to the above, it seems as if I would be okay to drink them, but thought I would ask first. I am new to this whole "low gluten" thing and honestly a bit overwhelmed with what people recommend. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

                                                                                    1. re: kd3803

                                                                                      I don't know the ppm, but in general, mainstream American lagers are going to be made with a portion of rice or corn, diluting whatever protein is in the beer, and I would expect light beers to have a bit less of everything, and so probably have a bit less of the offending matter.

                                                                                3. Hi. I'm verry allergic to gluten (starts to be called the swede disease). fore me carlsberg export works and adnams south wold bitter. Check this list out its swedish but you figure it out.
                                                                                  oops link din't work try to google : gluten i öl livsmedelsverket : click on this ore whatever :
                                                                                  gluten innehåll i de öl som analyserats vid livsmedelsverket :
                                                                                  cheers. Per

                                                                                  1. i've been on a gluten free diet since last december and have on occassion had a beer or two, most recently a Corona and felt fine. Has anyone tried Stella Light? any reactions?

                                                                                    1. Hi, I wanted to chime in on this thread, even though it started a long time ago.

                                                                                      Like Mashtun, I purchased home gluten test kits specifically for testing my beloved beer. I went with the EZ Gluten test instead of Glutentox.

                                                                                      I always thought I was doing ok by drinking Mich Ultra and Miller Lite -- heck, they're so bastardized down, I didn't think any gluten could possibly survive!

                                                                                      I was wrong. Like the original poster, I'm not allergic to gluten but intolerant (not sure who said this above, but I'm not "glutarded"). And now I know why he reacted so badly to Ultra -- it produced a high positive! Miller Lite produce a regular positive. The tests are supposedly sensitive down to 10ppm.

                                                                                      I have 3 test kits left and plan on testing more. Stella is definitely on the list. Oh heck, who's kidding who -- I'll be buying more test kits and going to town. Thank God stores sell mix and match packs.

                                                                                      It'll be nice to go into a regular ole dive bar and order a regular ole beer instead of having to ask "do you have any gluten-free beer?"

                                                                                      6 Replies
                                                                                      1. re: kkratz57

                                                                                        That's interesting, and counterintuitive. On the plus side, the range of gluten-free beers is expanding quickly. I saw something the other day about an Omission IPA, for example.

                                                                                        1. re: Jim Dorsch

                                                                                          Omission beers are pretty good too. I tried the pale ale and lager and they actually taste like beer unlike some other gluten-free beers. I preferred the lager.

                                                                                        2. re: kkratz57

                                                                                          Tested 3 more tonight.

                                                                                          Bud Light=high positive
                                                                                          Molson Canadian=high positive
                                                                                          Stella Artois=positive.

                                                                                          I drank both Corona Light and Heineken Light last night without any next-day brain fog.

                                                                                          I'll so be buying more kits and report my findings. Cheers!

                                                                                          1. re: kkratz57

                                                                                            Thanks for posting your results. Interesting about Bud Lite and Stella, I would have guessed they would be negative after the anecdotal references I have read here.
                                                                                            I have tested Coors Lite and it was negative (with Glutentox kit less than 5 ppm). I also tested a couple of local beers
                                                                                            Big Rock Traditional - negative <5 ppm
                                                                                            Big Rock Grasshopper - positive>5 ppm
                                                                                            It would be nice to compile a list of tests of different beers that we could all reference.

                                                                                            1. re: dhenley92

                                                                                              Awesome, thanks for sharing! Coors Light was next on my list to test. It'll be nice to participate in draft specials now that I know Bud Light, Miller Lite and Michelob Ultra are no-go's.

                                                                                              The EZ Gluten test claims it can detect down to 10ppm. I'm wondering if some of the regular positives are on the lower end, which is why some may not experience any outright symptoms.

                                                                                              Keep testing everyone!

                                                                                            2. re: kkratz57

                                                                                              I just saw this blog. This is SO AWESOME that you've tested these beers. Have you tested any more beers recently? Thanks!!!

                                                                                            1. The best low gluten beer that I have come across is Daura a Spanish import. It tastes great.

                                                                                              1. We are in the process of testing gluten levels in beer. Results for 4 beers are posted now, including Corona Extra. And results for 6 more tests will be posted soon. There are surprising results for Stone IPA, Negra Modelo, and Heineken, as you can see on the site.


                                                                                                1. Hi Hershey,

                                                                                                  I am extremely sensitive to gluten and even a small amount will make me extremely sick (a mini cupcake makes me feel like I have the worst food poisoning of my life!). I am a huge fan of beer and was really worried that I would have to give it up as my sensitivity to gluten got worse. So far, have discovered that German and Belgian beers are brewed according to a purity standard (The Reinheitsgebot) that is different than the way US beers are brewed and I don't have any sort of negative reaction to them at all!! It's great! After drinking Bitburger, Warsteiner, Leffe, Stella, and even Chimay I feel fine. After drinking things like Fat Tire, Shock Top, or Sierra Nevada I feel extremely sick for a day or two.

                                                                                                  I hope this is helpful!

                                                                                                  2 Replies
                                                                                                  1. re: Zgrrl041

                                                                                                    I can't explain why you can drink those beers safely, but Belgian beers are not brewed to the Reinheitsgebot.

                                                                                                    1. re: Zgrrl041

                                                                                                      Mini cupcakes make you ill???? No Suprise there! A little square of banana bread sample that was mislabled as GF took my sunny face south by the time we got out to the car! I am amazed though at the interesting comments on this whole thread from people who test the beers and the brewing differences that you mention. I may try Stella again, but it gave me rotten indigestion the last time not to mention stomach gurgles that could be heard across the room (uhg!). So thank you to everyone that is contributing - I am getting a real education from you all!

                                                                                                    2. http://www.aurochsbrewing.com/blog/gl...
                                                                                                      "TESTING FOR GLUTEN IN FOOD AND BEER: A NOT SO SIMPLE SCIENCE"

                                                                                                      "Gluten is actually a protein composite, made up of a prolamin (gliadin in wheat, hordein in barley, and secalin in rye), and glutelin."

                                                                                                      When people talk about 'gluten sensitivity', they are actually talking about one of the component proteins. Furthermore, the proteins are actually classes. So people might have an auto-immune (or allergic) reaction to one specific gliadin molecule, without being bothered by others.

                                                                                                      1. Gluten light, Ha Ha Ha! too funny

                                                                                                        1. My frustration lies in the restaurant/food industries blurring the lines between 'gluten sensitive' and Celiac/Crohns. I am not sensitive...I have to avoid it PERIOD. I find most staff are not educated properly. I had one manager tell that me the meal (pasta) was GF but was shocked when asked about the sauce (wheat flour was used as a thickener). Or the waitress telling me it depends on different levels of sensitivity!!! It is either GF or it is not.

                                                                                                          My concern is most responses are well intended but anecdotal. Forget how you feel the next day...what about the possible undetected damage the intake of even small amounts on a steady basis are having on you.

                                                                                                          With this in mind, last night, I was told the same thing about Heineken. I shouldn't be told it is GF when in fact it still contains gluten even in lower than normal industry standards.

                                                                                                          I continue to search for a 'normal' tasty beer but I have come to terms that for my health (which fortunately currently, is very good) I must stick with ciders and GF beers.

                                                                                                          So off the soapbox, here are IMHO, a few of the better beers out there that

                                                                                                          Dauro (Spanish)
                                                                                                          St Pete's GF (British)
                                                                                                          Green (Belgian?)

                                                                                                          I have differing opinions on the Japanese beers (Sapporro, etc) but again we are faced with so much contradictory information

                                                                                                          5 Replies
                                                                                                          1. re: DCPaulK

                                                                                                            Try the Widmer's GF "Omission". They have 3 beers. A pale, IPA ,and a light lager which is my favorite. Would like them to come out with a Belgium Blonde.

                                                                                                            1. re: rwhunter13

                                                                                                              I have tried Omission and actually quite liked it. Found out later, it is made with Barley malt and is referred to as gluten removed! I know I'm a little paranoid.

                                                                                                            2. re: DCPaulK

                                                                                                              Estrella Damm Daura may not be GF, although it meets international standards (which I don't know, but is probably 10 or 20 ppm).

                                                                                                              Daura, along with the Omission beers, is made from barley. Widmer, which makes Omission, uses an enzyme (a product called brewers Clarex) which strips out most gluten, so that it meets the aforementioned standard.

                                                                                                              If you look at the packaging for Daura and Omission, it doesn't say GF.

                                                                                                              In the US, the FDA doesn't allow the term GF to be used on any beer made with a grain (such as barley) that contains gluten.

                                                                                                              1. re: Jim Dorsch

                                                                                                                Jim, thanks for the info. Good to know. It's a continuous learning curve, isn't it?:)

                                                                                                                1. re: DCPaulK

                                                                                                                  correct about learning curve!

                                                                                                                  here's a video about Omission, from its makers, and of course you can also look at their website for information.



                                                                                                            3. Heather, I know just what you mean. Here is a great site. I copied the low G beers for my own help when out.
                                                                                                              I thought you made total sense. Best, Mary

                                                                                                              1. Here is the most extensive link to actual test results. Heineken, by the way, does NOT make the cut. http://gluteninbeer.blogspot.com/2014...

                                                                                                                2 Replies
                                                                                                                1. re: tinkonthebrink

                                                                                                                  I believe that there are different test for gluten and also a beer not marketed as Gluten Free may test below 20ppm one day and another batch may be over that. If you've been tested for celiac and it's positive you're taking a chance with a regular beer. Some regular brewers say that they test every batch and certify that their beer is gluten free even if it can't be labeled so.

                                                                                                                2. Two Brothers "Prairie Path" - excellent beer that just happens to be gluten free.


                                                                                                                  1 Reply
                                                                                                                  1. most lagers are pretty low. I have celiacs and I can have A (single) Stella Artois (sp?). Also the Trader Joe Brand Biers (Josephbrau) oktoberfest doesnt bother me too much.
                                                                                                                    Here are some fantastic sites:

                                                                                                                    I understand your pain and most posts here are horrible. Hopefully this helps

                                                                                                                    1. Michelob Ultra makes me very sick too. I have better luck with 64.