HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Discussion

Dunkin Donut's Flavors - All Kosher?

  • 7
  • Share

As tomorrow, May 15th, is Dunkin Donut's Free Iced Coffee Day (from 10am - 10 pm), I was wondering if any of its flavors are problematic. (I know that its brewing competitor has some non-kosher flavors and am a fan of kosherstarbucks.com for that reason).

Does anyone have any idea?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
Posting Guidelines | FAQs | Feedback
Cancel
  1. while one may purchase coffee anywhere and rely on its kashrus, this applies only to unflavored coffee.

    in order to consume dunking donuts flavored coffee's you must purchase it from a kosher dunkin donuts establishment

    6 Replies
    1. re: kiddush hopper

      Kiddush Hopper,

      That is a bold statement. Are you sure that the flavored coffee in non-kosher Dunkin Donuts is different than the flavored coffee in the kosher establishments? If so, who told you this?

      JJ

      1. re: justjoshing

        I think the point is that flavored coffee needs a hechsher while unflavored does not. If a Dunkin Donuts establishment is not under a hechsher, there's nothing whatsoever to stop them from changing the type they use, adding some other ingredient, whatever. I realize most of these things are unlikely to happen, but without hashgacha, there's no reason they are not allowed to do that. That being the case, with no certainty that you are getting a particular product that is definitely kosher, I imagine you can't rely on them just saying that it is kosher.

        1. re: queenscook

          There are considerations that run in favor of the coffee being DD coffee even despite a hecksher and that is the franchise agreement itself. While an unscrupulous franchisee may do a bait and switch, the average one wouldn't. I think it all depends on how much of a risk you are willing to take. If the standard DD flavored coffee is kosher, then it is very likely that this is what you'd be served in an individual store. Is "very likely" the standard you keep? If so, bon appetit. If not, enjoy Starbucks (with its own issues).

          1. re: craigcep

            You should be aware that the flavor comes from the main corporate DD office, and is placed in a machine that adds the flavor, not like SB which manually adds "shot " flavor by pumping in the flavor. So, the bait and switch that is the concern is not really valid in this case.

            I would find out who gives the hecsher for the DD items coming from the corporate house. I think it is either Vaad of Mass or Chov K.

        2. re: justjoshing

          in elizabeth New jersey there are about 15 Dunkin Donuts owned by the same person. only 1 of these franchises are kosher.

          a couple of years ago they made a plant that bakes everything and then distributes it to those 15 dunkin donuts.

          every donut that comes out of this plant is 100% kosher with a hechsher, but i wont go into one of the treif dunkin donuts and eat one of their donuts, even if im 100% sure that it came from the plant.

          its sort of the same thing

          1. re: kiddush hopper

            KH,

            That is a good analogy. While I completely understand your point and respect the additional gedorim that you have erected, I think it is within reason to believe one is not violating kashrus if one partakes of those donuts (the one you refer to in your last post) along with some flavored coffee.

            Kol tuv,

            JJ