HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Kosher Gin

Faune Mar 27, 2008 05:40 AM


I know that all Gin except Sloe gin and flavored gin are kosher (I have seen that Gordon's flavored Gins are kosher)

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. berel RE: Faune Mar 27, 2008 05:59 AM

    I would say per the Chicago CRC website it would require kosher supervision


    Gin with no flavors added is acceptable.
    (Note: Sloe Gin is a liqueur and requires certification.)

    Gordon's Flavored Gin (all flavors) produced in the USA, is Kosher certified by the cRc.

    1 Reply
    1. re: berel
      Faune RE: berel Mar 27, 2008 08:04 AM

      Does it have supervision, a "hechsher"? what about outside the US (I live outside the US)

    2. g
      ganeden RE: Faune Mar 27, 2008 06:05 AM


      What is Tanqueray Rangpur? I know Tanqueray well, but I've not heard of this particular variant.

      9 Replies
      1. re: ganeden
        berel RE: ganeden Mar 27, 2008 07:23 AM

        Rangpur is a fruit, which would put it in the flavored gin dept


        1. re: berel
          JMF RE: berel Oct 21, 2010 09:00 AM

          it's not a flavored gin. The Rangpur are just a major botanical element in the distillation.

        2. re: ganeden
          Faune RE: ganeden Mar 27, 2008 07:59 AM

          Rangpur is a Lime, which happen to be a hybrid of the mandarin orange and the lemon.


          1. re: Faune
            joshuaresnick RE: Faune Oct 27, 2010 01:17 PM

            All gin is flavored, primarily with juniper berries, but with other botanicals as well - including (frequently) citurs peels. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gin

            In that regard, Tanqueray Rangpur is no different than any "plain" gin, such as Beefeater, Hendrick's or Seagram's.

            1. re: joshuaresnick
              JMF RE: joshuaresnick Oct 28, 2010 08:53 AM

              There is a technical difference between flavored gin and distilled gin. A distilled gin has the botanicals (herbs, roots, fruit, flowers, etc.) in the distillation process and it will day distilled gin on the label.

              A compounded gin is made by adding oils, essences, etc. to NGS (neutral grain spirits) and will not say distilled gin on the label.

              If it says flavored gin on the label it can be a compounded gin, plus additional flavorings, or a distilled gin plus additional flavorings.

              I point this out because these technical details on what it says on the label are very important in knowing what is in the bottle and how it is made. The label goes through a several week to several month, stringent approval process by the Federal TTB called COLA (certificate of label approval.) Also many states have a COLA system as well.

              1. re: JMF
                dudell RE: JMF Nov 9, 2010 01:13 PM

                The only gin that I have encountered that is certified kosher and is supervised by a hechsher is Bulldog Gin. It's a London dry gin (imported from England) and really great just on the rocks.

                Also, gin gets its flavor from the distillation process so Rangpur has a strong lime flavor from that being one of its main botanicals. Most gin has a strong pine flavor from Juniper being its main botanical... same principal.

                1. re: dudell
                  iambarry RE: dudell Nov 10, 2010 11:15 AM

                  Take a look at Distillery No 209 (www.209gin.com). They just came out with a kosher (kosher for Passover too) gin. I believe the hechser is OU. I have a bottle at home and it's excellent.

                  see also: http://www.vosizneias.com/51683/2010/...

                  1. re: iambarry
                    jdh11 RE: iambarry Nov 11, 2010 06:18 AM

                    Yes I second the recommendation for 209 Gin. I bought it for Pesach and it was excellent.

                    1. re: jdh11
                      SimonF RE: jdh11 May 4, 2011 12:55 PM

                      Thirded. It is yummy. Finished it all before it was pizza time.

        Show Hidden Posts