HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

pareve whipped cream?

m
matzohrella Mar 26, 2008 07:26 PM

does this exist? where can i find it? thanks

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. queenscook RE: matzohrella Mar 26, 2008 08:25 PM

    It exists in a number of different forms. You can get it in aerosol cans, in a small cardboard container (I prefer Richs brand) which needs to be whipped up, or in a tub like Cool Whip. Can't promise they are overly healthy (lots of fat and probably transfats), but it certainly exists. The aerosol cans are refrigerated, the cardboard containers and the tubs are both found in the freezer cases.

    1 Reply
    1. re: queenscook
      a
      addicted2cake RE: queenscook Mar 27, 2008 06:44 PM

      If you don't require a hechshered (forgive my spelling!) product, SoyaToo soy whip is vegan and is actually pretty good. It comes in an aerosol can. No transfats, no cholesterol, nothing artificial. I get it at Whole Foods.

    2. s
      superburns RE: matzohrella Mar 27, 2008 07:36 AM

      You can find it in any kosher grocery in many different forms.
      It is also available in supermarkets (kosher refrigerator aisle) depending on were you live.

      1. d
        doc_k55 RE: matzohrella Mar 28, 2008 05:27 AM

        It's absolutely out there but it absolutely doesn't taste like the real deal and has a nasty aftertaste. We decided to give Rich's a try (I tend to spurn "fake" foods) with some family a few months back after avoiding it for years. It was just as nasty as I remembered. Yuck.

        1. e
          embee RE: matzohrella Mar 30, 2008 10:11 AM

          Pareve whipped cream does not exist. There are many substitutes, some hechschered; some not. Of the available products that I've tried at some time or other, the ones from Rich Products were the least obnoxious tasting. But none of these products tastes like whipped cream and none of these products tastes especially good.

          If you choose to keep kosher, you are choosing a voluntary path that you find rewarding. In doing this, you give up the ability to eat whipped cream with a meat meal. That's hardly a supreme sacrifice. Save your whipped cream for meals without meat and enjoy the incomparable taste of the real thing.

          In the non-kosher world, most "cream" cakes (other than premium quality, very expensive ones) are now made with fake cream. I can't imagine why people with taste buds would want to eat these things.

          6 Replies
          1. re: embee
            s
            sherry f RE: embee Mar 30, 2008 04:46 PM

            I wonder if there is there a soy version of whipped cream that is dairy-free and doesn't have that awful, edible oil aftertaste. I have heard people raving about soy ice cream.

            1. re: sherry f
              s
              sherry f RE: sherry f Mar 30, 2008 04:49 PM

              Oops, sorry, I see addicted2cakes post about soy-based whipped cream. I am going to look for Soyatoo. It is not just a kosher-pareve thing, but also a lactose intolerant thing for many people.

              1. re: sherry f
                queenscook RE: sherry f Mar 30, 2008 06:24 PM

                Is this Soyatoo certified kosher? If so, which hechsher, and is it certified parve? I know that seems like a stupid question, but actually, many soy products that are substitutes for dairy products are actually certified with a dairy hechsher, like many soy yogurts. Sometimes it is because they are produced on dairy equipment, but sometimes it is because there are actually traces of dairy. I believe that is the case with certain soy cheeses, but really I'm not sure because I don't use cheese--dairy or soy (just don't like it). I think some soy cheeses have casein (sp?) in them.

                1. re: queenscook
                  queenscook RE: queenscook Mar 30, 2008 06:27 PM

                  Oops, I just reread the post that said "if you don't require a hechshered product . . ." Nevermind!

              2. re: sherry f
                e
                embee RE: sherry f Mar 30, 2008 07:50 PM

                I have tasted excellent soy-based "ice cream". Double Rainbow Soy Cream is delicious. (I think it is certified by OU - I don't know whether it's pareve).

                I have even tasted soy based "cheesecake" that is borderline okay. But I have never tasted imitation whipped cream that I have found worth eating. It may be because whipped cream has a delicate taste that is almost totally the taste of dairy. The Soy Cream I liked so much is intensely flavoured. YMMV, of course.

                1. re: embee
                  queenscook RE: embee Mar 30, 2008 08:10 PM

                  I had an amazing vegan cheesecake at a restaurant in Seattle that I can't even imagine how they made it taste so good. The restaurant is called Teapot Vegetarian, though I am led to believe it's a chain and not all are certified kosher. I was going to try to request the recipe through Bon Appetit, but the on-line form that you had to fill out would not accept my request for some fluky reason, and I just was too lazy to actually send a real letter. Now that this has me thinking about it again, I'm tempted to try to get it. Non-dairy I could even understand (I happen to think Tofutti cream cheese is a pretty good substitute), but what they do to replace the eggs, I can't imagine. I'm not a vegan, or even a vegetarian, but it was really just so good!

            Show Hidden Posts