Chinese Vegetarian in Orange County
I've never lived in OC, but I do try to check out the Chinese and Vietnamese places down there on the rare occasions I must step behind the Orange Curtain.
Not sure if it's around, but I remember Alisan in Fountain Valley being pretty good.
I think you'll have more luck with Vietnamese or Chinese / Vietnamese in that area, because OC has such a large Vietnamese population. Au Lac in Fountain Valley (Vietnamese, but a number of Chinese style dishes as well) is quite good. They have branched out to a little of raw food which is weird (but the chocolate vegan / raw cakes are great). Haven't been there, but Thuyen Vien in Garden Grove looks pretty good - http://www.thuyenvien.com/menu. There's a place in HB called Bhodi Tree Café; not sure if it's Vietnamese, pan-Asian, or what.
I went to Lotus Vegetarian Café in Orange a long time ago and remember thinking it was at least Ok. Again, not 100% sure if they're still open. If memory serves, it's not strictly a Chinese menu.
1740 S. Euclid St, Anaheim, CA 92802
Au Lac Gourmet Vegetarian
16563 Brookhurst St, Fountain Valley, CA 92708
1515 W Chapman Ave, Orange, CA 92868
Bodhi Tree Cafe
501 Main St Ste E, Huntington Beach, CA 92648
It's Wheel of Life. a vegan Thai-Chinese place. Pretty good food, although they seriously screwed us on a seating this weekend. Waited 20 minutes for a four top and finally left after their mismanagement of customers waiting outside in the cold.
We moved on and ate a Lenten Friday meal at Chef Chen's instead. Ate great without meat at Chef Chen's.
Chef Chen's Restaurant
5408 Walnut Ave, Irvine, CA 92604
2512 Walnut Ave Ste 1, Tustin, CA 92780
Wheel of Life
14370 Culver Dr, Irvine, CA 92604
Jamillah Garden, on Walnut (South of Tustin Ranch Rd. ) In Tustin is Chinese Islamic and has a lot of vegetarian dishes on the menu. It gets rather good reviews here. I used to eat lunch there when I worked aorund the corner, years ago, and it was always very good.
2512 Walnut Ave Ste 1
Tustin, CA 92780
re: Das Ubergeek
re: Das Ubergeek
Just to mention, while Au Lac has a lot of vegan stuff, as with most vegetarian Asian places, a lot of the processed soy meat at Au Lac may contain milk products (usually whey or casein) or egg white. If you are vegan, I would let them know and ask specific questions. While it's possible to get soy ham without dairy, they have told me on several occasions that the soy ham they use contains dairy; I believe the same is true for the shrimp. The soy ham is used in a lot of their dishes; some (like the banh xeo) can be made without it; others (like the fried egg rolls) cannot.