HOME > Chowhound > Quebec (inc. Montreal) >

Vegetarian Sugar Shack Query

JES000000 Mar 16, 2008 10:43 AM

I remember last year there was a sugar shack that got in trouble during the reasonable accommodation debate because they served pea soup without ham and apparently did other accommodating things.

I'm a vegetarian but have never been to a sugar shack and would like to go. Can anyone recall the name of this place or suggest a sugar shack that would accommodate a vegetarian?



  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. kpzoo RE: JES000000 Mar 16, 2008 06:18 PM

    I believe it was L'Erabliere au Sous-Bois in Mont St-Gregoire.


    I don't eat much red meat myself, so when I go sugaring off I eat the eggs, bread, potatoes, pancakes, pudding chomeur, oeufs en sirop, tarte au sucre, etc.... I find there's more than enough stuff to fill me up, without touching the ham & oreilles de crisse and whatever other meaty stuff they have!

    Good luck.

    1. r
      riboflavinjoe RE: JES000000 Mar 16, 2008 06:23 PM

      Hahaha, vegetarian sugar shack, that's funny. Thanks - I needed that. It's like a person who is deathly allergic to shellfish going to a Red Lobster.

      8 Replies
      1. re: riboflavinjoe
        lagatta RE: riboflavinjoe Mar 18, 2008 03:31 PM

        No, it isn't. Someone who is vegetarian - or who keeps kosher or halal - can certainly enjoy the sugaring-off process, eat crêpes with maple syrup or several other things that don't involve pork. In years past, I was involved in events for new immigrants that involved such "reasonable accomodations" - sorry, I'm not up to date about where can meet your needs now.

        1. re: lagatta
          RhondaB RE: lagatta Mar 19, 2008 10:55 AM

          I can't speak to halal but I really doubt that anyone who is strictly kosher would ever eat at a cabane a sucre. Regardless if the shack may proclaim that not one food item contains any pork-related products, nary an Orthodox Jew would eat there since a) nothing is certified kosher, b) none of the dishes or cooking vessels would be ok to eat off, crepes still need to be cooked in something that may have held a pork product & c) even the cutlery that is used would be considered traif. Perhaps the tire a l'erable would be acceptable since you're eating off a popsicle stick off of snow - but then too, the making of the maple syrup would have to be certified kosher.

          1. re: RhondaB
            lagatta RE: RhondaB Mar 19, 2008 12:35 PM

            Oh, that's for sure, Rhonda, but I know quite a few "leniently kosher" people - yes, I know that is a contradiction in terms.

            I don't know whether any Québec syrup is certified kosher, would you? I believe there is some from Vermont.

            1. re: lagatta
              kpzoo RE: lagatta Mar 19, 2008 12:40 PM

              There are a number of maple syrup producers listed here:

              MK Certified Companies

              Just do a search for "erabl" and you'll see several.

              Any Montreal-related kosher query can also be made here: http://mk.ca/queries.html

              1. re: kpzoo
                lagatta RE: kpzoo Mar 19, 2008 01:04 PM

                That is very useful, kpzoo, as I have a friend in Paris who is strictly kosher, and that means there is a local food gift I can take her.

              2. re: lagatta
                bomobob RE: lagatta Mar 19, 2008 12:49 PM

                I don't think it's about accommodation (or shouldn't be) so much as it is about making choices. I laughed when I read it too, but there are certainly things vegetarians can eat at a cabane. It also depends how loosey goosey people are with their own dietary rules. Some vegetarians will eat eggs, others not. Many Jews who keep kosher at home, will have no qualms about devouring shellfish or pizza in a restaurant.
                A hardcore lacto-ovo-whatever-vegan is about as likely to set foot in a cabane as an orthodox Jew.

                1. re: bomobob
                  The Chowhound Team RE: bomobob Mar 20, 2008 07:53 AM

                  Folks, please help us keep the focus of this thread on helping the poster find Sugar Shacks that are known to be vegetarian friendly.

                  If you'd like to debate whether or not vegetarians can truly enjoy a sugar shack, please start a new thread on the General Chowhounding Topics board, in order to help us keep this board focused on sharing local chow tips. Thanks.

                  1. re: The Chowhound Team
                    eoj RE: The Chowhound Team Mar 20, 2008 10:49 AM


                    I wish my posts would at least still show up in my history, so I didn't have to rewrite. AND I'd love to know how riboflavinjoe's post is more useful than my carefully-thought-out responses were.

        2. l
          lagatta RE: JES000000 Mar 21, 2008 08:08 AM

          L'association végétarienne de Montréal is organising visits to a sugar shack, with an all-vegan menu: http://www.vegemontreal.org/index.php... The name of the shack is La Pause sylvestre - it says it is a "vegetarian shack" though I have no idea if that is in general or for this event.

          Well-known food blogger Lapin gourmand also mentions this: http://lapingourmand.com/

          As for me, no way I'm venturing out to the countryside until it is warmer, but - il y en a pour tous les goûts, non?

          4 Replies
          1. re: lagatta
            kpzoo RE: lagatta Mar 21, 2008 08:19 AM

            That's very cool! I found this info about the cabane itself:

            La Pause Sylvestre
            (menu végétarien, sur réservation seulement)
            58, 11e rang
            Dudswell, QC
            (819) 828-0049

            Couldn't find a Web site. Love the name of the town. ;-)

            1. re: kpzoo
              lagatta RE: kpzoo Mar 21, 2008 08:43 AM

              I don't think they have a website - it is a very small cabane, really in the woods, in the Eastern Townships. The shack only accomodates (reasonably or not) 22 guests - it is really artisnal! http://www.haut-saint-francois.qc.ca/...

              Yes, the town name is great. Lots of Irish and Scottish settlers around there.

            2. re: lagatta
              Micry RE: lagatta Mar 29, 2008 10:11 AM

              The owners of "La Pause sylvestre" are vegetarians themselves. When they left Montréal to go live in Dudswell a bit more than ten years ago a vegetarian "cabane à sucre" was part of the project. They built every thing themselves and created the menu. I can highly recommend the place.

              1. re: Micry
                lagatta RE: Micry Mar 29, 2008 11:56 AM

                It looks like a very sweet little place. I assume they do other seasonal events as well?

            3. j
              JES000000 RE: JES000000 Mar 30, 2008 03:04 PM

              Many thanks to those who made the effort to offer helpful replies. We will check out some of the suggestions.

              1. kpzoo RE: JES000000 Mar 12, 2012 10:54 AM

                Discovered a cabane à sucre with a vegetarian meal option, for the record and in case anyone's looking.

                Val des Rosacées

                I may be trying it soon so I'll report back if I do.

                Show Hidden Posts