HOME > Chowhound > Los Angeles Area >

Discussion

tabachnik anyone?

anyone heard of this? can you get any or better yet a variety here in los angeles? just from the east coast.
thanks!

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. The Soup Company? They sell them at many local supermarkets in the Southbay.. Vons, Ralphs etc..

    1. Yep. I've also seen Mrs Tabachnik's at TJ's, Gelson's, Whole Foods and more.

      1. Tabatchnick's is (was?) a deli near where I grew up in New Jersey. They started marketing their soups. You can get the frozen soups at Gelson's.

        1. LOVE THEM, especially the matzoh ball which is a great substitute for when the real thing isn't possible. My youngest daughter, when coldish, demands it.

          I have gotten them at Von's and Ralph's on the Westside (specifically the Cheviot HIlls Vons and the Pico/Beverly Drive Ralph's in that shopping center/mini mall complex). My guess is that most supermarkets in communities with a decent sized Jewish population will carry them.

          For fresh matzoh ball soup I like Fromin's, though Brent's in Northridge gets substantial raves (I've never tried it).

          1. Although packaged in "boiling bags" for 1 or 2 servings only, these soups are pretty good. If I remember correctly, I think that they are vegetarian. I have seen them in every major grocery store in L.A. Many people do not notice them, however, because they are usually found in the same section with other Jewish/Kosher-style items such as frozen Challah dough, Empire products, etc.

            6 Replies
            1. re: Gingergirl

              Some are vegetarian but some are definitely not.

              1. re: Das Ubergeek

                Das Ubergeek - You have probably forgotten more about food and restaurants than I will ever learn, and I enjoy your posts. But I was curious enough to check the Tabachnick website and was surprised that they make over 30 soups -- and only three of them -- two chicken soups and one wild rice soup, all are vegetarian. The reason for my comment was that, years ago, I remember having their "seafood chowder" and noticed that the ingredients were veggie only.

                1. re: Gingergirl

                  Wow. I'm shocked... and happily surprised and corrected :)

                  1. re: Gingergirl

                    I just looked at their website -- the seafood chowder contains pollock, which is fish. Those three soups you listed are on the "meat" section, but some of the other soups are not vegetarian -- the seafood chowder contains pollock, which is fish, and there's smoked salmon stuff under pareve. Remember that Jewish people view fish and eggs as pareve -- neither meat nor dairy.

                    1. re: Das Ubergeek

                      D.U. -- Oy vey, what can I say? I stand (or slurp) corrected ;-)

                      1. re: Gingergirl

                        I'm glad I'm not a vegetarian!! I can enjoy all their soups -- though on their site you have to order them in cases of 12.