Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Austin >
Nov 21, 2007 10:09 AM

ISO dairy-free pie

I have developed a rather disgusting and extreme sensitivity to dairy, which saddens me in the season of pumpkin pie. Does anyone know where I can get a dairy-free (doesn't have to be vegan) pumpkin pie?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. I don't know for certain they have them, you could call and check, but you might try the Kosher Deli at HEB on Far West Blvd.

    Kashrut law forbids eating meat and dairy together, so Jews who keep kosher and plan to eat turkey, cannot eat desserts with dairy. They MAY do a dairy-free pumpkin pie there. They're certain to do other types of dairy-free desserts.

    1. Whole Foods usually has a vegan pumpkin pie (I saw it there last week) and Wheatsville also typically has a few vegan options. Good luck!

      1 Reply
      1. re: smilezok

        Thanks, y'all! I picked up a vegan pumpkin pie at Whole Foods this evening; the cashier said that she really likes it, and that it's almost better than "traditional" pumpkin pie. We shall see!