HOME > Chowhound > San Francisco Bay Area >

Costco Mexican Coca Cola - - No!

Waterboy Nov 9, 2007 02:52 AM

Picked up a case of Mexican Coca Cola in glass bottles at Costco in Novato - yikes!

A fairly tasteless drink long on carbonation but short on syrup. Like many soft drinks producers, tastes like they cheaped out.

Won't be buying it again - disappointment's the word.


Good surgar cane cola available at Suppenk├╝che in San Francisco.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. h
    hi standards RE: Waterboy Nov 9, 2007 06:59 AM

    If anyone knows how to get Kosher coca-cola, I'd love to find out. Apparently Kosher coke is made with sugar, not corn syrup.

    23 Replies
    1. re: hi standards
      Ruth Lafler RE: hi standards Nov 9, 2007 08:05 AM

      Only coke that's kosher for Passover is made with sugar instead of corn syrup. You generally see it around in kosher food displays at that time of year (around Easter, for you goyim) and there are usually reports of sightings on this board for coke enthusiasts.

      1. re: Ruth Lafler
        lexdevil RE: Ruth Lafler Nov 9, 2007 08:35 AM

        I don't know why the Kosher Coke would be any more to the liking of the OP. Sounds like he's just not a fan of the Coca Cola brand.

        1. re: lexdevil
          Louise RE: lexdevil Nov 9, 2007 08:46 AM

          The sugar instead of more typical corn syrup gives it a different flavor supposedly.

          1. re: Louise
            PolarBear RE: Louise Nov 9, 2007 09:03 AM

            Add to that the nasty unhealthy nature of HFCS.

            1. re: PolarBear
              kimchee411 RE: PolarBear Jun 27, 2009 03:14 AM

              Are you aware that fructose is the sugar found in fruit? Of course HFCS is not just fructose, but it's the fructose component that is commonly demonized, which I find ridiculous. I know this discussion is probably leading down a bad road, but you opened the can, so to speak.

            2. re: Louise
              lexdevil RE: Louise Nov 9, 2007 09:07 AM

              Yes, sugar is better. But the Mexican Coke at Costco is made w/ sugar...so the OP's issue is more than just sugar v. HFCS. I'm simply saying that Kosher Coke w/ sugar will probably be just as "long on carbonation but short on syrup" as Mexican Coke w/ sugar.

            3. re: lexdevil
              Ruth Lafler RE: lexdevil Nov 9, 2007 09:11 AM

              I agree. However, I was responding the the query by the follow-up poster asking about kosher *for Passover* Coke.

              1. re: Ruth Lafler
                lexdevil RE: Ruth Lafler Nov 9, 2007 09:18 AM

                Understood. Didn't mean to sound critical of your answer, which was to a query about Kosher Coke. Was simply clarifying that it was unlikely to be substantially better (whatever that means) than Mexican Coke.

                My latest reply was to Louise. I do think that Coke (Kosher or Mexican) w/ sugar tastes better than Coke w/ HFCS. And I'm a committed Coke drinker. I hate it when fountain drinks have too much syrup, so I imagine the OP and I have very different taste on this issue (I absolutely detest the Boylan's cola product).

                1. re: Ruth Lafler
                  hi standards RE: Ruth Lafler Nov 9, 2007 09:18 AM

                  Yes, thanks, the coke for Passover. I've never been able to find it. If anyone ever sees it, I'd love to know where. My son actually likes the Mexican coke from Costco. I've only tasted Mexican coke when I've been in Mexico and I thought it was ok. Maybe Waterboy got a really bad batch or maybe they've watered it down to save costs.

                  1. re: hi standards
                    Janet RE: hi standards Nov 9, 2007 02:54 PM

                    We bought some of the coke in the last week. It is sooooo much better than American in a can coke. It is very close to what I drank growing up in the 50's.

                    1. re: Janet
                      Mission RE: Janet Nov 9, 2007 08:05 PM

                      Real Sugar Dr. Pepper

                      I buy their syrup and make my own 'Fountain soft drink " with ice cold sparking water.

                      Tastes fantastic!


                    2. re: hi standards
                      Waterboy RE: hi standards Nov 10, 2007 04:43 AM

                      My pet peeve: cheaped out drink. If I want a rippin' good coke, I go to a restaurant with a bar - usually avoid Costco soda, but the Mexican stuff looked too good to pass up.

                      Made lime soda at home yesterday, possibly more additive than stuff illegal....used real sugar, a highbrow thing.

                      1. re: Waterboy
                        Pollo RE: Waterboy Nov 10, 2007 06:02 AM

                        Kosher Coke is nothing more than a marketing ploy....cane sugar or HFCS are both available in "Kosher" certified versions....so there is no reason other than "creating" a marketing niche....

                        1. re: Pollo
                          Ruth Lafler RE: Pollo Nov 10, 2007 06:57 AM

                          Kosher *for Passover* is made with sugar only. Grain-based products, including corn-syrup, are not considered kosher during Passover except for specific Passover foods.

                          Believe it or not, some people actually find it important for their religious/spiritual lives to "keep Kosher" -- a practice that has been around for over 5,000 years. Food producers may be exploiting this "marketing niche" but they're not "creating" it.

                          1. re: Ruth Lafler
                            Pollo RE: Ruth Lafler Nov 10, 2007 08:23 AM

                            So it's OK to use corn-syrup for "some" Passover foods but not others....interesting?

                            1. re: Pollo
                              ccbweb RE: Pollo Nov 10, 2007 09:02 AM

                              It depends on the beliefs and traditions of the person in question. For many, wheat, rye, barley, spelt, and oats are the five grains prohibited during Passover (if they have come into contact with water for longer than 18 minutes during preparation, anyhow). For some, that list is expanded to include rice, legumes, and corn. Thus, anything with corn-syrup would not be permitted during Passover for people using the larger set.

                              1. re: ccbweb
                                Pollo RE: ccbweb Nov 10, 2007 09:07 AM

                                Even mor einteresting...thnak you. Any idea as to the 18 minute water contact rule?

                                1. re: Pollo
                                  ccbweb RE: Pollo Nov 10, 2007 11:24 AM

                                  I'm starting to get out of my depth on that question...I'm fairly certain it has to do with the line at which fermentation is determined to have begun which then gets into the definition of leavened and unleavened. I'm not sure why 18 minutes is the line.

                                  All of that is why Kosher Coke, specifically with only sugar, is so prominent during Passover as opposed to other times of year...I believe more people follow the more strict rules during Passover.

                              2. re: Pollo
                                Ruth Lafler RE: Pollo Nov 10, 2007 01:58 PM

                                No, I meant it's okay for some Passover foods to be made from grains -- matzoh being the most obvious example -- but they have to have been made under very strict guidelines and certified as specifically Kosher for Passover.

                                1. re: Ruth Lafler
                                  Pollo RE: Ruth Lafler Nov 10, 2007 03:08 PM

                                  Just out of curriosity is the Kosher Coke any more expensive than the "regular" Coke?

                                  1. re: Pollo
                                    USA1 RE: Pollo Nov 18, 2009 08:40 AM

                                    I wrote to both Coke and Pepsi about their "original" sodas containing real sugar. Coke emailed me a typical corporate reponse stating that all sugars are equal and that Coke is made with the cheapest available ingredient: HFCS,beet sugar, or real sugar. There are no plans to ever make the "real thing" again. I told Coke that I taste a difference and I prefer real sugar. Probably the Passover Coke is something other than sugar but who knows? Pepsi responded enthusiastically! They already have a real sugar cola but good luck in finding it! It is not in original Pepsi packaging and is sold under a different name which I can't remember. There is another batch of real sugar Pepsi due out soon in December? I would say from my dealings with the two companies to tell Rabbi to get his Passover cola from Pepsi or drink water if it is Kosher water. They are probably adding HFCS to water now!

                                    1. re: Pollo
                                      myelise RE: Pollo Nov 18, 2009 12:00 PM

                                      Kosher for passover coke is not any more or less expensive, the main way to tell which one is which at that time of year is to look at the lid, usually the use yellow for the kosher for passover cokes and white for the regular ones with HFCS.

                                  2. re: Pollo
                                    Nancy Berry RE: Pollo Nov 11, 2007 04:07 PM

                                    For Ashkenazi Jews, it's never okay to use corn syrup or any other corn product during Passover. The only grain product that's okay is matzoh and that's made with special wheat flour. For more info re this, you can go to the kosher area of Chowhound and ask questions or continue this discussion.

                                    As for Coca-Cola, during Passover they produce a version of Coke that doesn't have any corn syrup in it and that is sweetened with sugar (I don't know whether this version contains cane or beet sugar -- both would be kosher for Passover.) Some folks stock up on this version of Coke because they think that it tastes better than the Coke that's produced with corn syrup throughout the rest of the year, and that is also kosher, but not kosher for Passover.

                  2. ccbweb RE: Waterboy Nov 10, 2007 08:07 AM

                    Did you check the label to see if it is actually Mexican bottled Coke made with sugar? I think some Mexican bottled Coke is now turning up with HFCS.

                    Not that it would, necessarily, change anything; I'm not a fan of Coke made with sugar myself.

                    4 Replies
                    1. re: ccbweb
                      PolarBear RE: ccbweb Nov 10, 2007 10:12 AM

                      You're correct, you do need to check the label.

                      1. re: PolarBear
                        lexdevil RE: PolarBear Nov 11, 2007 12:31 PM

                        The Mexican Coke I bought at Costco recently is labeled "sugar."

                        1. re: lexdevil
                          Hollow Leg RE: lexdevil Nov 11, 2007 05:08 PM

                          Really? The last time I checked Mexican bottled Coke was labeled "sugar and/or HFCS". That's when I stopped buying it at taquerias. Does Costco get it from a different bottler?

                          1. re: Hollow Leg
                            lexdevil RE: Hollow Leg Nov 11, 2007 05:37 PM

                            Dunno. But the bottles I picked up had a white sticky label that reads "water, sugar, caramel color, phosphoric acid, natural flavors, caffeine." Bottler is: Compania Embotelladora de Culiacan, S.A. de C.V. Mexicali, B.C."

                    2. s
                      stacyscottcatering RE: Waterboy Apr 12, 2009 03:05 AM

                      Help me!!!

                      Where can I but Mexican Coke in San Francisco (or Marin?)

                      1 Reply
                      1. re: stacyscottcatering
                        ChowFun_derek RE: stacyscottcatering Apr 12, 2009 12:32 PM


                      2. c
                        conticreative RE: Waterboy Jun 27, 2009 01:44 AM

                        I disagree completely. The Costco Mexican coke is not simply an assembly of syrup and sugar. I love and buy it for it's power to take me back to childhood.
                        What with the shape of the bottle, the sweat forming on the glass when cold and the lack of the odious after taste of corn syrup.

                        I don;t like regular coke, especially the one sold in plastic jugs. But the small bottle made with cane sugar at Costco are a treat.
                        Naturally, if you are comparing it to microbottlers cola drinks, it is clearly not in the same league. But it's Coke the way it was when I was a kid and that's enough for me.
                        Sadly, Costco seems to have discontinued it for the time being.

                        6 Replies
                        1. re: conticreative
                          saeyedoc RE: conticreative Nov 18, 2009 10:18 AM

                          Not sure if this applies to the mexican coke, but apparently Costco will no longer carry Coca-cola products due to some pricing issues.

                          1. re: saeyedoc
                            npsingh RE: saeyedoc Dec 20, 2009 12:50 PM

                            I've seen the signs posted at costco stating the same. Has anyone found a replacement outlet for mexican coke? Looking for the same quantity/price preferably in the eastbay. Thanks for the assistance.

                            1. re: npsingh
                              PolarBear RE: npsingh Dec 20, 2009 12:59 PM

                              I've seen it at Target down here in the central Valley, not sure about price equivalance.

                              1. re: npsingh
                                celeryroot RE: npsingh Dec 20, 2009 01:47 PM

                                Coke is back again at Costco.....they resolved issue.

                                1. re: celeryroot
                                  npsingh RE: celeryroot Dec 23, 2009 06:27 PM

                                  Thank you! Went to the Costco in Danville and picked myself up a case today

                                  1. re: npsingh
                                    Mission RE: npsingh Jun 10, 2010 01:26 PM

                                    Trader Joe's has a few flavors of Hanson's "cane" sugar sodas.

                                    Root beer is quite nice.

                          Show Hidden Posts