HOME > Chowhound > Chains >
What are you cooking today?

Are animal products used in refried beans/pinto beans by El Pollo Loco or Taco Bell?

JiyoHappy Nov 7, 2007 02:07 PM

Something caught my eye @ another board, but did not provide an answer. Hence I want your input. Is there lard /bacon/beef /animal product used in refried beans/pinto beans by El Pollo loco or Taco Bell? like many vegetarians, I opt for beans instead of meat. Is it safe to do so?

  1. chowser Nov 14, 2007 05:16 PM

    To make things easier in the future when you eat out:


    1 Reply
    1. re: chowser
      JiyoHappy Nov 14, 2007 06:18 PM

      Thanx. I did check this website, it is very comprehensive. Now I have even lesser choices.

    2. byrd Nov 7, 2007 02:41 PM

      as far as taco bell: http://www.yum.com/nutrition/document...

      17 Replies
      1. re: byrd
        JiyoHappy Nov 7, 2007 03:04 PM

        Thanks a million. Trying to convert back to vegetarianism feels a bit easier now.

        1. re: JiyoHappy
          punkin712 Nov 8, 2007 03:28 PM

          Taco Bell's sour cream contains gelatin. Not sure what your stance is on it, but just wanted to point that out in case you didn't notice.

          1. re: punkin712
            JiyoHappy Nov 8, 2007 05:34 PM

            OMG, I thought gelatin is made out of algae and sea-weed. i love their potato-bites . Now I have some more digging-up to do.
            Thanx for pointing that out friend

            1. re: JiyoHappy
              Humbucker Nov 9, 2007 09:36 AM

              FYI, Agar is the sea-weed based thickening agent. Gelatin is animal tissue based.

              1. re: Humbucker
                JiyoHappy Nov 9, 2007 07:33 PM

                You are so right, I really mistook gelatin for agar , based on their jelling properties . No more sourcream for me!
                Thanx for getting me on track. Will have to research some more on El Pollo loco

                1. re: JiyoHappy
                  pikawicca Nov 10, 2007 03:58 PM

                  Real sour cream does not have garbage ingredients to thicken it. Read the label.

                  1. re: pikawicca
                    JiyoHappy Nov 10, 2007 05:53 PM

                    I checked with my neighborhood Tacobell, they admitted that their sour cream does contain gelatin. It took them 2 days to confirm that to me.
                    I have been reading a lot of labels @ grocery-stores for the last few days and you are right, good organic sour cream is gelatin-free.

                    1. re: JiyoHappy
                      punkin712 Nov 13, 2007 11:41 AM

                      Also, many fast food restaurants (McDonalds, Chik-Fil-A, etc.) use beef fat as a flavoring in their french fries. I know you originally asked about beans, but the beef fat in fries is another one of those dirty little non-vegetarian tricks of the fast food industry.

                      1. re: punkin712
                        JiyoHappy Nov 13, 2007 01:11 PM

                        Mcdonalds did settle a case about beef extracts in their fries a few years ago. Now I only get salads there . Sometimes I order a "burger "with butter on the side, with no meat and no sauce. Its not that their fries cannot be made without the beef flavorings, they are doing so in India, and their fries taste just the same there. In India, they offer a burger using a fat potato-patty ( tastes like hashbrown with carrots and peas) instead of meat.

                        1. re: JiyoHappy
                          punkin712 Nov 14, 2007 07:34 AM

                          This is from McDonald's website:

                          French Fries:
                          Potatoes, vegetable oil (partially hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor (wheat and milk derivatives)*, citric acid (preservative), dextrose, sodium acid pyrophosphate (maintain color), dimethylpolysiloxane (antifoaming agent)), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil ((may contain one of the following: Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, partially hydrogenated corn oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness), dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent). *CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK (Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients.)

                          I guess they are still using beef flavor.

                          1. re: JiyoHappy
                            willownt Nov 22, 2007 04:34 PM

                            I just saw an ad in a french magazine that McDonald's is now offering vegetable ball things in its Happy Meals instead of fries in France. Made with carrots, corn, and something else (I forgot now). Think a croquette of mashed veges, not tempura.

                          2. re: punkin712
                            jlawrence01 Nov 13, 2007 08:14 PM

                            Chick-fil-a has always peanut oil for all the frying in its store, not to let facts get in the way of a good rant.

                            1. re: jlawrence01
                              punkin712 Nov 14, 2007 07:28 AM

                              If you reread my post, I only indicated that Chick-Fil-A uses beef fat as a flavoring in their fries - I didn't say they fry them in it. I always thought it was strange for Chick-Fil-A to use cows as their corporate mascot to encourage people to "eat more chicken", but they used beef fat as a flavoring in the fries.

                              I know they and other fast food companies came under fire for this practice, so hopefully they have since changed their formula.

                              1. re: punkin712
                                ccbweb Nov 14, 2007 10:42 AM

                                The website format over at chickfila.com doesn't allow for copy and paste of the text from the menu/nutrition data (not nefarious or anything, just flash based), but there's no apparent beef fat in the fries anymore and, indeed, they list fries in their list of vegetarian items.

                          3. re: JiyoHappy
                            ccbweb Nov 13, 2007 12:33 PM

                            The information for Taco Bell's (as is the case for many national chain restaurants) ingredients is on their website. Check the ingredient statement for lots and lots of details.

                            1. re: ccbweb
                              JiyoHappy Nov 13, 2007 01:21 PM

                              Yumbrands' website is detailed, but Elpolloloco is a different story. I usually get a salad there with no dressing, and use salsa instead.
                              But from now on, I will be reading the small (and the tiny) print.

                            2. re: JiyoHappy
                              ccbweb Nov 13, 2007 02:38 PM

                              There's a thread on sour cream that might be of interest

              Show Hidden Posts