HOME > Chowhound > New Orleans >


Need gluten free choices in French Quarter

My wife and I ( from Columbia, SC ) will be spending 3 nights at the Maison Dupuy Hotel in September. My wife is gluten intolerant ( allergic to wheat/flour products ). I would assume any dishes made with a roux would be off limits for her. Does gumbo contain flour as a thickening agent? Are there restaurants in the Quarter that offer glutten free menus? Any restaurant suggestions and local dish recommendations within walking distance of the Quarter would be greatly appreciated.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. Gumbos have a roux, thus flour. I don't mean to be discouraging, but you're going to have a hard time with most restaurants in our town. I can't think of ANYONE offering a gluten-free menu (we don't even really have vegetarian menus these days), but with some creative efforts, you can probably do okay. Raw oysters are definitely gluten-free, and places like Rio Mar and GW Fins offer seafood preparations that go beyond the usual fried/flour coated/roux-based sauced creole style treatments. Brigtsen's does a non-fried seafood platter that might be close to gluten-free (can't remember if anything on it had a light flour coating or not). Cochon has some gluten-free items, too (wood-grilled fish, ham hocks & greens, a charcuterie plate, etc).

    1. well, you can't go wrong at a steakhouse.
      I also don't think that shrimp creole or crawfish etoufee would have flour, but you'd have to check with the chef. Red Bean and rice might be ok. I just know that my recipes for these dishes do not include flour.

      1 Reply
      1. re: Carrolltonsnob

        Both my crawfish etouffee and shrimp creole are made with a roux. Red beans , no roux.

      2. Many restaurants are serving up great summer salads these days, so that could be a good option. There is so much good seafood out there, so that is another way to go. I would go for something grilled, but I don't believe anything blackened will have gluten in it (check on this to be sure--don't take my word for it).

        You should also be careful to ask your waiters about gluten in the dishes on the menus; I'm sure they will be happy to offer suggestions or check with the chef to see if there is anything on the menu to suit your wife's taste. Hope you have a great trip!

        1. As others have stated, it will be a bit difficult, BUT, I'd pick my restaurants and, when making the reservations, express my concern, stating the problem. Most chefs are very accommodating, especially with a bit of advanced notice.

          My wife is intolerant of bi-valves (oysters, mussels, clams, etc.), which is odd of a young lady growing up in NOLA and eating oysters in nearly every dish in her youth. When dining in places where these are likely to be abundant on the menus, I call ahead and even with the "grand tasting menus" she has something else and it's usually wonderful. As I eat my scallops, she gets foie gras...

          If they know, in enough time, they'll likely find great dishes for her. Finding them, once seated is another matter entirely, especially in NO.

          If they blow you off, then cancel the reservation and look elsewhere. It's more easily done, than found.


          1. I k now this is after the fact, but since this comes up right away when I google, I wanted those still looking to know I had the best luck in general with small, locally owned places, not fast food. Everyone was helpful and friendly, and they have a nice farmer's market on Saturday mornings.

            2 Replies
            1. re: abueling

              I seem to remember a notice on Acme Oyster House's menu about gluten-free offerings, too. If something is cooked in cornmeal, is it gluten-free?

              1. re: midcity

                It depends on the cornmeal. Some is, some isn't depending on processing. See http://glutenfreegirl.blogspot.com/20...

            2. Chef McHugh at Luke, can accomodate wheat-free easily, so I would call about gluten-free. Bought Glutino crackers to serve with my rabbit rillette, reinvented Flammenkuche with a quinoa crust and creme fraiche, and said he could do my favorite oyster and lardon salad with only cornmeal. (I have attached photos.) Also had luck at the Palace Cafe once I could talk to a chef. In NOLA, people are willing to help if you call ahead and ask.

              1. As a note to anyone else who is gluten intolerant, both Rambla on Camp Street and Bayona were very accomodating to my sister in law who is gluten intolerant.

                1. My gf is gluten intolerant as well and when she came to visit, it was hard to find places where she could eat.

                  She had fried catfish and gator down in the french quarter. They use cornmeal and when we asked they said there was no flour in it. I forgot what the place was called but its right next to the cathedral and down the street from the gumbo shop.

                  Landry's Seafood on N. Peters has gluten free things too.

                  If you are willing to go to uptown, Naked pizza has gluten free pizza.

                  Cossemento's (no idea how to spell it) on magazine street everything but the gumbo is gluten free. They have fried seafood and great raw oysters. This place is cash only.

                  1. BTW: My brother tells me that all of Casamentos fried seafood is gluten free.

                    1. don't know if you already found this, but URBAN SPOON has a great list of GF New Orleans choices. good luck!


                      1. El Gato Negro near the French Market has a special gluten free menu. Just went there with my sister-in-law, who is gluten free, and they had lots of options.

                        It's not in the French Quarter but there is a new restaurant, Franklin, in the Marginy (the neighborhood next to the French Quarter), that was also accommodating. They don't have a special menu but about half the menu is gluten free.

                        Also Meals from the Heart, a food "stand" in the French Market has a limited menu but several items on the menu are gluten free.

                        You'll have to take a cab, but I'd also suggest The Rum House on Magazine St. They have an extensive gluten free menu.