HOME > Chowhound > Outer Boroughs >

Discussion

Vegetarian at the Red Hook Soccer Fields

So I've finally decided to make the trek out to Red Hook's soccer fields for the Latin feast. But I'm vegetarian (no seafood, dairy & eggs ok)--would it be worth the trip? And what shouldn't I miss there?

Thanks!

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
  1. Elote!! (Mexican roasted corn with mayo/cheese/lime/chili) So delicious!!

    2 Replies
    1. re: fudluvr

      RE: Elote. Nope - cheese. There's crema on half the stuff sold there. The rest is pork, beef, and more cheese. And ceviche.

      There ARE fabulous plantain chips! But if you can't eat food that's been in contact with meat, those are out too, perhaps being fried in the same oil as flautas, chicken, etc.

      1. re: noisejoke

        The poster is looking for vegetarian food, not vegan food.

    2. Wow. Tall order. I can't think of a thing that would suit you. What do you normally eat when you have Latin American food?

      The vendors down there are from Ecuador, Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Colombia. I might've left something out. There are fruit stands, and you might be able to enjoy some of the vendors' sides. But if you're not nearby would you trek for a nice atmosphere, mango on a stick, and some great Yuca?

      1. For vegetarians who eat dairy and don't mind the possibility that their food may have been cooked on the same grill as meat, there ARE many good things to eat. As fudluvr says below, the elote is not to be missed. You can have them prepare it without the cheese and mayo. I like the cheese pupusa with cortido (vinegared, shredded cabbage) with rice and beans (beans may have meat broth). The huaraches prepared near the entrance can be made with just beans and rice (also avocado, lettuce, etc.). Also not to be missed is the mango slices with lime juice, salt and chili.

        1. as mentioned by ardnaxela, there's plenty of eats, but the grill might be meat-juicy. you can get nopale quesadillas or huaraches from the place to the left of the entrance, and you can also get pupusas from the 2nd pupusa place (the one with the red cabbage slaw in a bucket behind the grill, mentioned also by ardnaxela) on the left (coming in) with a green lily bulb vegetable, not sure of the name, but quite tasty. there are also plantains available from what looks like the the dominican place, which also has yuca, both steamed and fried.

          and you can probably get anything with just beans + the works, or beens and cheese + the works.

          5 Replies
          1. re: bigjeff

            Based on the original post, I'd have to disagree with all of you and specifically warn Hungry. I'm an omnivore who has spent plenty of time with vegetarians and vegans. Such folk frequently have to ask a lot of questions. I honestly think the RHBF vendors are nothing to count on for those of that culinary orientation. The poster stated he/she doesn't eat seafood, dairy and eggs (and we assume, of course, animal flesh). Besides the fruit and sugar drinks it would be quite difficult to securely eat anything there. They'd have to continually inquire about every preparation of beans and repeatedly request no cheese. I'd hazard to guess most of the utensils, grills, pots, pans and hands have touched and handled meat, not to mention the deep fryers, which would even exlude the plantains, if the OP was sensitive to contact.

            1. re: noisejoke

              I parse the OP's "no seafood, dairy & eggs -- OK" to mean they don't eat seafood, but that they do eat dairy and eggs.

              If the OP has a don't-ask don't-tell policy on pots and utensils and what's been in the cooking oil, s/he will do okay. The fewer questions asked, especially about beans, the better.

              1. re: hatless

                oops, my bad, I thinks. didn't grok that "ok".

                I've had all sorts of vegetarian/vegan friends and cohorts. Everybody's got their own reasoning and take on it. I guess I'm being over-protective, but it seems like a minefield. You're right about the beans.

                1. re: noisejoke

                  Manteca or lard is also a big ingredient in making things with masa, so vegetarians might want to ask if there's any lard in the pupusas or huaraches, and such. Probably in the beans as well.

                  1. re: E Eto

                    Now you've done it, Eto. Here we are, trying to let the vegetarian street-food hounds continue to feed their passions in blissful ignorance and you go and point out that lard finds its way into the masa in pupusas.

                    And for pete's sake, ixnay on talking about the ab-cray in imchi-kay.