Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
Jun 14, 2007 05:34 AM


Has anyone ever found it kosher? and where?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. That's pretty rare even in the treyf world, but, fwiw, it's an inherently rennetless cheese.

    12 Replies
    1. re: DeisCane

      really? - i had no idea. but it's a hard cheese...

      1. re: LoveKosherEats

        Some would say it's not a true cheese at all. It's just whey, cream and milk, iirc.

          1. re: LoveKosherEats

            There are varying opinions, of course.

              1. re: hammerhead

                Cute. At a basic level, whey is made from cheese after the introduction of rennet. That rennet may not be acceptable if it's from a non-kosher slaughtered animal.

                1. re: DeisCane

                  I make my own cheese, and only use vegetable rennet, that is why I inquired about the kosher rule. The liquid veg rennet is very consistent and predictable.

                  1. re: hammerhead

                    Yes, it is, and that's one reason why many American cheesemakers are now using it. So, the next time you make cheese, take the leftover whey and make gjetost!

                        1. re: DeisCane

                          If it can be fermented or otherwise subjected to micororganisms and consumed, chances are I make it. I currently have beer, wine, mead, cheese, kraut, kimchi, kefir, and buttermilk that I've made myself. I'll make some kombucha this weekend.

                        2. re: hammerhead

                          What recipe did you follow? I tried it a couple of times, but it never came out as I expected.

        1. I think in the Machane Yehuda cheeses Market in Jerusalem!