Psst... We're working on the next generation of Chowhound! View >
HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
May 20, 2007 05:31 PM

Blossom was Awesome

just ate at blossom in chelsea. it was so good and such a welcome addition to the kosher world.

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. I've never heard of this place. Can you please share some more details. Meat? Dairy? What type of food? ambience? upscale or not? etc., etc.
    Thanks very much!

    5 Replies
    1. re: Bzdhkap

      gourmet vegan (but maybe vegetarian) -- lots of tempeh, seitan and tofu ... but you couldn't tell! - ambience was romantic but not upscale... i would call it vegan fusion.

      1 entrees & 1 app per person = about 30.

      1. re: LoveKosherEats

        Cathy the Vegan says;
        "If you've yet to try it, this restaurant has great food.
        Some of the best vegan cheesecake and seitan I've had!"

        a Vegan restaurant by definition can not be Non Kosher
        simply because they use absolutely no animal by products.
        (they don't even use eggs, cheese, milk, butter, etc.)
        Workers are often Vegan's themselves, so they
        would not bring in any offending outside food stuffs.

        However, there are some key ingredients that may come from
        manufacturers suspected of using animal products to clean or
        lubricate their manufacturing equipment, or the same equipment
        is used for making other animal based products, therefore someone
        has to make sure the ingredients in question come from a reliable
        kosher source. so making a Vegan restaurant Kosher may not
        be disruptive to anyone at all accept perhaps the person doing
        the ingredient purchasing. Lucky for us, the Vegan/Vegetarian lobby
        is much stronger than the Kosher lobby, and they do not tolerate
        such misrepresentation to occur for long by ingredient makers.

        1. re: Joe Berger

          Even if all the ingredients are OK, there's still the matter of bishul akum. To make the place kosher the whole kitchen would have to be kashered, and anything that can't be kashered would have to be replaced. It would take at least a day, and probably longer. Which makes it strange that, as of a week ago, the staff didn't know the place was kosher. They'd surely have noticed something like that.

          Looking at the menu, I hope it turns out to be OK. It looks delicious. But I'm not rushing there until I find out more.

          1. re: zsero

            My husband and I stopped eating at a vegan place in L.A. that we LOVED. The mashgiach told us it was okay for the restaurant to use hot sauces (not Tabasco) without a hechsher. The restaurant also served ginger soda that wasn't under supervision. According to our understanding, charif ingredients must be certified kosher.

            1. re: ytvly

              So who was the hashgacha, and why did they allow it? Perhaps they had inside info on a particular brand of hot sauce. I often find ingredient-kosher food products not under hechsher. If the packaging line doesn't process nonkosher, and it's not a food for which bishul akum or pas akum rules apply, then the hechsher may have a valid position.

    2. Huh? As of a week ago, the staff knew nothing about it being kosher. Did it become kosher some time this week? Wouldn't it take some time to switch over (just to kasher the kitchenware and replace the china)?

      5 Replies
      1. re: zsero

        According to it is under the supervision of Rabbi Andre Malek -

        1. re: weinstein5

          So it does. Very strange. I called a week ago and the person who answered the phone knew nothing about it. Making a place kosher must surely involve enough disruption that the staff would need to know about it at least several days in advance.

          1. re: zsero

            Whether or not the staff knew about it, the teudah is dated April 11th (and just to preempt the question, valid til 4/11/08 & not kosher for passover)

            1. re: LoveKosherEats

              To all:

              Rabbi Zev Schwartz (Worked at OU and at Star K and teaches at Yeshivot) who does supervision at Blossom and Wild Ginger has explained:

              Bishul Akum issue (having a non jew cook) only applies when the food cannot be eaten raw) - ie it does NOT apply to most vegetables, because they can be eaten raw, as well as most food in the restaurant, because obviously there is no meat, eggs, or fish.
              -It may apply to rice and beans, which CAN'T be eaten raw, however the OU and Star K all allow canned beans and rice cakes, mostly because the food isn't "fit for a king's table" - the only people who still say Bishul Akum applies to rice and beans are very Chassidic people.

              -He said with Blossom, even though the owners are Jews, and it is open on Shabbat, there is a Shetar Mechira.

              -He repeatedly stressed to me that the wine used in cooking is ALL KOSHER, and despite the fact that they do serve unkosher wine at the table, they do not use it in any of their food (he explained it would be more expensive for them anyway)

              -He also repeatedly stressed that these places are MUCH more strict than your average kosher restaurant.

              Rabbi Schwartz seems to be credible, as he has taught at Yeshivot, has worked at the OU and at Star K.

              I'm going to eat there, you guys can judge and decide for yourselves!

              1. re: halpwr

                Folks, we really don't want to get into a debate of what's sufficiently kosher here -- it's not the purpose of this board. We've left up halpwr's post, since it reports the status of the supervision and some of the factors in it, but we're not going to allow debates about whether that's sufficiently kosher for everyone or not. Please use the information to decide for yourself or consult with your own religious authorities, rather than hashing it out here.