HOME > Chowhound > General Topics >

Discussion

polenta

  • 3
  • Share

this may be a stupid question but is polenta kosher for passover?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
Delete
Posting Guidelines | FAQs | Feedback
Cancel
  1. Not stupid at all, since the answer is yes AND no. My understanding is that if you're an Askenazi, corn is not permitted, which would rule out cornmeal, of course. However, if you're Sephardic, it's OK.

    1 Reply
    1. re: Striver

      thank you for your kind and informative response

    2. I asked a question on the Kosher board about why regular coke (with HFCS) wasn't acceptable for Passover and was kindly referred to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chametz. The answer is complicated but probably is the same as for polenta - it's corn and cooked with water.
      Maybe someone who knows more about Kosher rules can give a simpler explanation.