HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >
Brewing beer, curing meat, or making cheese? Tell us about it
TELL US

KP Coke in cans - D.C./Balt/Philly

k
KOK Mar 21, 2007 11:13 AM

Has anyone seen KP Coke in cans anywhere in the Washington DC or Baltimore area or even Philly?

I've seen it in New York, Chicago and Pittsburgh, but only see the 2-litre bottles in DC (except for the six-packs of Dr Browns I've seen in DC).

Thank you,

Kevin

  1. k
    KosherLawNY Mar 21, 2007 02:43 PM

    There was a fantastic article in Monday's NYP regarding the general, i.e. non-kosher populace's keeping an eye on when the KP coke comes out. The article spoke about people who were obviously not jewish making inquiries about who was distributing real sugar coke. You can find it on their website.

    KLNY

    1. m
      MakingSense Mar 22, 2007 07:56 PM

      Why is regular Coke not Kosher? HFCS is nobody's favorite but what makes it non-kosher?
      I wish they would make Kosher Coke year round!

      3 Replies
      1. re: MakingSense
        weinstein5 Mar 23, 2007 03:29 AM

        Coke is kosher year round - the issue is during passover where the rules are stricter particulalry in regards to chametz (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chametz) - which HFCS is considered to chametz - so during this time of the year - coke reverts to cane sugar syrup recipse and Kosher for Passover Coca Cola, Pepsi Cola etc -

        1. re: weinstein5
          m
          MakingSense Mar 23, 2007 01:02 PM

          Thank you so much. I would never have figured out how to look that one up. Had to read it a couple of times to understand.

          1. re: MakingSense
            s
            sja Mar 25, 2007 06:52 AM

            Just to clarify a few points and to make Wikipedia a little easier to understand.
            HFCS is made from corn, corn is considered Kitniyot by the Ashkenazi population and thus prohibited on Pesach to them and therefore no national Kashrut organization would give them a general Hechsher and Coke etc. could not use a Hechsher that would say :"Kosher for Passover for Kitniyot eaters only"

            However there is one glaring mistake in Wikipedia. There is no permission by the Israeli Rabbinate for Ashkenazis to eat Kitniyout in order to promote brotherhood etc. I live in Israel and the Kitniyot issue and thus the division of the population and many families as more families have "mixed marriages" is as strong as ever. I hope that one day the Rabbis would agree on the issue but Mesiach would probably come first

      Show Hidden Posts