HOME > Chowhound > Kosher >

Kosher Agave Syrup

jeterfan Mar 9, 2007 01:15 PM

I recently bought agave syrup (a sweetener made from the agave cactus) certified by the OU. I haven't used this pronduct yet, It is touted as being healthier than other sweeteners. Has anyone tried this product?

  1. Click to Upload a photo (10 MB limit)
  1. s
    ShlomoDovid RE: jeterfan Mar 18, 2007 04:46 PM

    What brand is it and where did you find it?

    1. s
      Syd8163 RE: jeterfan May 10, 2007 08:37 PM

      I have used agave and it is better for you then sugar because of the low glycemic index which makes it good for diabetics. I would suggest getting the dark agave because it has the best flavor and can be used for anything sugar is used for.

      3 Replies
      1. re: Syd8163
        jeterfan RE: Syd8163 May 13, 2007 06:41 PM

        Agave syrup would probably be a good substitute for corn syrup during Passover if it can be found as a kosher for Passover product.

        1. re: jeterfan
          koshergourmetmart RE: jeterfan Apr 13, 2008 03:44 PM

          Do not think it is kosher for passover-it is not that the ingredients are not kosher it is the facility

          1. re: jeterfan
            joshuaresnick RE: jeterfan Mar 4, 2009 01:10 PM

            It is not a suitable corn syrup subsitute. It is MUCH sweeter than corn syrup with a much runnier consistency.

        2. Joe Berger RE: jeterfan May 11, 2007 06:29 AM

          Davinci Gourmet makes awesome inexpensive sugar free
          with Splenda syrups with the Chof-K parve supervision.
          I use their Chocolate syrup daily to jazz up my coffee!


          1. o
            organicmama RE: jeterfan May 26, 2007 01:35 PM

            Yes, Agave can be used as you would a simple syrup, it is natural, organic usually, and most brands are kosher. You can use it in hot beverages or in baking even (with some adjustments). The lighter ones have less of a flavor so are undectable if using in coffee. It's an easy thing to get used to so enjoy!

            1. jeterfan RE: sandy4910 Feb 11, 2008 02:51 AM

              Trader Joe's store brand is kosher. It is good and cheaper than the name brands.

              I wonder if it is possible to get kosher for Passover agave syrup.

              2 Replies
              1. re: jeterfan
                mexicanjl RE: jeterfan Apr 10, 2008 02:51 PM

                I've found about 3 different brands at WholeFoods (all kosher) but have never seen it at Trader Joe's. What section did you find it ?

                1. re: mexicanjl
                  jeterfan RE: mexicanjl Apr 11, 2008 01:52 PM

                  Maple syrup, vinegar, etc. section

              Show Hidden Posts